We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and quaint feel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Clarendon Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added The Clarendon Hotel to your Saves list
The Clarendon Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   34-37 Bedford Place | Bloomsbury, London WC1B 5JR, England (Bloomsbury / Holborn)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #449 of 1,066 Hotels in London
Cheltenham
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Great location and quaint feel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

The hotel is in a great location, 200 metres from the British Museum. I had an Executive room which was at the front of the building, with a high ceiling, plenty of windows and a view of the street. It's London so don't expect tranquility but I thought it was very acceptable. Hotel itself is quiet.
Breakfast which seems to be included if you book direct was plentiful and reasonable quality.
King size bed and plenty of space. Building only has three floors so if you like low rise it's a great choice.
Only downsides: bathroom lighting wholly inadequate, windows in need of repair and some minor things like the phone just looked grim. However, very clean and seemed like fair value for price paid. Would stay again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    140
    64
    27
    20
See reviews for
32
141
18
78
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

Overall little to fault.
The Tv system is awful and you have to go back into the basic GUI just to change channel bizarre!
The room was of a very high standard and they upgraded me!
My breakfast was the best cooked I've had in a hotel
Tip- ask for a room high up overlooking the garden as said in other reviews

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

After defending the Clarendon's sister (The Lancaster) I feel a little cheated. Following our stay at the Lancaster in Feb 2009 I was very impressed and felt the need to defend it against what I thought were unfair reviews about the size of the rooms, breakfast etc.

So when we returned to London we booked within the same chain with what we thought was an equivalent hotel. Sadly the room was tiny, the breakfast bog-standard and unimaginative and one of the receptionists seemed to be consistently rude to us. The room was comfortable and we had an ensuite which was an upgrade from the Lancaster however if I wanted a neutral box I would have gone to a travel lodge, the bedrooms at the Lancaster were much more thoughtfully decorated, the room was larger, the breakfast nicer and it generally felt more like a boutique hotel should be. The lack of bathroom at the Lancaster wasn't an issue as it was right next to our room and huge!!

Finally the worst thing- having paid for a 'Standard Room' I expected standard. Instead we got a basement room with large windows that opened wide enough so that if someone got down from the street to the space outside then they could have got in. When we went to bed we heard a rumbling every 5 mins. We finally worked out that it was the Piccadilly Line underneath us. Finally got to sleep at around 2pm, I imagine this would be a problem participially if we had an extendead stay.

Room Tip: Check to make sure you aren't getting a basement room, also go to the Lancaster instead....you l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
München
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Spent two nights at the Clarendon during my London trip. Nice little hotel with typical English furniture. Situated in a small quiet street but only a 5 minutes walk from tube station Russel Square. Rooms heading to a garden so you can be sure to get your sleep.
I don't need a late night beer at the hotel bar so I didn`t mind that the bar in the Clarendon is not really a place to party. Overall a good choice to stay.

Room Tip: Rooms heading to the garden site are the best choice
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

This is a really beautiful hotel, the rooms are huge, clean and bright. really enjoyed my stay here over the weekend and feel it deserves a good review, got this hotel ata reasonable price considering London prices and it really was value for money, the area is stunning and its close to everything, really cannot reccomemend this hotel enough it help made a really fantastic weekend,

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newmarket, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

My daughter and I stayed at this charming hotel recently for a Theatre/ shopping weekend. The Clarendon is perfectly situated in an ideal location for all things "London" with short walks to Covent Garden, British museum, Brunswick Centre or quick taxi ride to Regent St, Oxford Street and Kings Cross.
Check in was smooth and the lovely receptionist gave us an upgrade which was a welcome surpise. Our room on the second floor to the rear of the hotel, was large, clean and had everything we needed for a pleasant stay. The en-suite was a good size, clean with fluffy, white towels.
The concierge service was outstanding and nothing was too much trouble.
We didn't eat in the hotel, preferring to take breakfast in Patisserie Valerie near Covent Garden.
No complaints and would stay here again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Charged far too much for what was on offer, customer service wasn't great. Considering how much I paid I would of expected breakfast with the room. I wouldn't recommend or stay there again.
It didn't help that I had problems getting there due to snow, no one on the other side of the phone could even be bothered to help and kept trying to forward me on to someone else.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Clarendon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Clarendon Hotel

Address: 34-37 Bedford Place | Bloomsbury, London WC1B 5JR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury / Holborn , Camden / Primrose Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#277 Luxury Hotel in London
#358 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Clarendon Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Clarendon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarendon Hotel London
The Clarendon Hotel London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Clarendon Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.