We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staff are Overworked - and it shows” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express London - Greenwich

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express London - Greenwich to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express London - Greenwich
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Bugsbys Way | Greenwich, London SE10 0GD, England (Greenwich)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #446 of 1,066 Hotels in London
Edinburgh
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Staff are Overworked - and it shows”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

Arrived in Taxi from London City Airport - waited 30 mins+ to check in. There was a huge queue -and only one person working on check in. The other member of staff was working in the Bar (which joins reception- there was a huge queue in the Bar too!) Lots of apologies but alas thats not what I go to hotels for.
Room was small - furniture old - completely uninspiring.
The breakfast was at best adequate - the eggs (which I would not touch) seemed to be glowing a sort of green colour.
Can't think why I would ever return here

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony R, Manager at Holiday Inn Express London - Greenwich, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review based on your recent stay with us. I am extremely sorry for the inconveniences you were faced with during your stay with us. I have sent you a personal message to contact me directly, so that I can fully understand where we went wrong, investigate the raised concerns and look into how we can improve going forward.

Thank you again for the valuable feedback, and I look forward to hearing from you soon

Best Regards

Tony Revell
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

693 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    157
    287
    182
    43
    24
See reviews for
150
257
34
76
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bray on Thames, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Stayed one night for a family wedding. I was able to agree an early check in without a problem. The staff on arrival could not have been more helpful.Not cheap but given its position not surprising. Rooms small but well appointed. Breakfast, self service but very good.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paulina P, Manager at Holiday Inn Express London - Greenwich, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

May I thank you for staying with us at Holiday Inn Express Greenwich and for sharing your positive comments.

I am so glad to read that you enjoyed the politeness of our staff and that the early check in was arranged for you. It is also encouraging to hear that you enjoyed our rooms as well as the complimentary breakfast. We always want our guests to have a fantastic experience, and we do our best to achieve that goal!

I hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel soon for a return visit.

Kindest regards,

Paulina Poskrobko
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nr Oxford, England
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

This hotel is a gentle 15 minute walk from the O2 and it's underground station - North Greenwich. It is modern and clean and the staff are pleasant and welcoming. Having booked a double room, we were asked whether we preferred a high or low floor. (7 floors)
Access to the rooms is via a lift which operate by using your room card - this gives a feeling of security but there is a downside. There is an ice machine at Reception level - to go and get ice you can go DOWN in the lift without your card but you will not be able to get back. The lights in the room also need the room card so do make sure you get one each if there are two of you otherwise any separation(eg to get the ice?) would leave one of you in the dark! We did have to specifically ask for the second card.
Facilities in the room include tea and coffee, but unusually no safe. They do offer a safe deposit box in Reception but it is for passports/money/jewellery - too small for my iPad.
The rooms are air-conditioned with controls for the occupant. We prefer fresh air and the window opened about 6 inches/12cm. (no way to fall out!). Unfortunately the hotel is sandwiched between 2 very busy roads and the noise from about 5am meant that we had to shut the window. It did not entirely block it out either.
Otherwise the room was functional - bed was soft, a choice of hard and soft pillows available, smallish TV, double sofa bed, I suppose for conversion to a family room. One chair, writing desk, hairdryer, toiletries were the squeezy type fastened to the wall by the washbasin and the shower. Shower lovely and hot, not very powerful. No wardrobe, just a few hangers - ok for overnight, not so good for a longer stay.
Breakfast is included in the room rate - and it was plentiful and tasty, serve yourself style, scrambled eggs, sausages, cheese, bread rolls, croissants, jam, toast, fruit juices, tea, coffee, hot chocolate, yoghurt and fresh fruit.
All in all a value for money excellent stopping place for a visit to this area of London.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Thought all staff was great very helpful especially Paulina & the lady serving the food both really helpful
Food was great value for money
The hotel was very clean would recommend to any one hope to visit again great nights sleep

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express London - Greenwich, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Dear James S,

Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns. We are so glad you enjoyed your over-all stay with us. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to improve and continually provide the best experience possible. Thank you for staying and we all hope to have an opportunity to serve you again on your next future visit.

Sincerely,

Anthony M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, Wilts.
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
174 helpful votes 174 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

We booked this hotel, some time ago, on the internet for a very good price - this is why I have given it 3 stars. The hotel itself for facilities and service only warrants 2.

For some reason which was never explained we were allocated a disabled room - thankfully both my husband and I are fit and healthy. Anyway the room was basic to say the least, the carpet was badly stained, the bed was a very small double and the wardrobe had no doors (perhaps this is standard in an express hotel, we normally use the standard Holiday Inns). We were also surprised to find that there were no toiletries supplied - only a practically empty soap dispenser on the wall. The toilet failed to flush - the handle just flopped around uselessly. It was "repaired" twice after we reported it only to fail again as soon as it was used. We ended up using the public toilet downstairs! Thankfully we only stayed one night.

Breakfast was also nothing special - the only hot food available was scrambled egg, sausages and baked beans. There was also very little fruit - only bananas. Having said that, the food was well cooked and hot and quite acceptable, just unimaginative.

We are Priority Club members and use Holiday Inns regularly. It is usual to receive a free newspaper delivered to the room everywhere else - it didn't happen here.

All in all we were unimpressed with this hotel and would not use it again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paulina P, Manager at Holiday Inn Express London - Greenwich, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns about your recent stay at our hotel.
With regards to the room type, we presume that you booked a standard room, which was to be allocated on arrival, depending on availability. Unfortunately, we were fully booked on that day and we only had accessible rooms left. I apologize that it was not explained to you properly upon the arrival.
It is regrettable that you were not satisfied with the overall condition of the room. The issues that you highlighted have been already discussed with the maintenance team and correct actions taken. I apologize for the inconvenience that it caused you.
Please let me clarify that Holiday Inn Express represents different standards than the full service Holiday Inn. Therefore we do not deliver newspapers to the room but our guests are more than welcome to collect complimentary newspapers from reception. With regards to breakfast, we offer only three choices of hot food as per standards set to our brand.
Once again, thank you for your comments and I hope this experience will not deter you from staying with us in the future.

Sincere Regards,

Paulina Poskrobko
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

My partner booked online via the Hotel-deals website Expedia or something very similar. He paid in full for a double room. Upon arrival they had not checked their online systems and did not have our booking, consequently having no rooms for us. They caused us a lot of trouble at the reception and I got very angry at the atrocious service we were receiving. They said they only had a room with two singles and didn't even care that they had caused us such inconvenience.

I complained quite a bit and reluctantly they agreed to give us free parking for the day and a free bottle of wine from the bar. Yet, we still had the twin room because there were no double rooms.

Overall stay at the hotel was average, nothing special but what do you expect from a Holiday Inn Express that do not even check their online bookings? Bluntly speaking, it put a damp on our weekend.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony R, Manager at Holiday Inn Express London - Greenwich, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments relating to your recent stay at our hotel.

I am very disappointed to read about the problems you faced at the point of your arrival to our hotel.

It is difficult for me to comment in detail on the problem you faced, as there is not enough information listed for me to investigate the matter further. But I have every faith that the staff on duty acted as swiftly and professionally as they possibly could to understand and resolve the issue you faced with your booking made.

I would just like to mention that in such cases where the booking has been made through a third party agent such as Expedia (for example) there can also be cases where their systems encounter errors and the booking may be delayed in reaching our system.

I hope we get the opportunity to welcome you back to our hotel again soon

Best Regards

Tony Revell
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairn, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

I stayed here recently during a trip to London with my wife. I have to say that absolutely everything from the greeting, to the service provided by everyone including the house-keepers was 100% first class! The duty manageress even managed to help me out with printing off information on Madame Tussauds that we were planning to visit...
The room was very comfortable as was the bed and although the air conditioning was pretty loud at night, it did a really great job on keeping us cool on what was extremely hot temperatures (+35deg C) on one of the days. Even the breakfast was not to be sneezed at...
I would definitely recommend this hotel and I would love to stay here again sometime.
Thanks to everyone for making our stay so good!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express London - Greenwich? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express London - Greenwich

Address: Bugsbys Way | Greenwich, London SE10 0GD, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Greenwich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#317 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Express London - Greenwich 3.5*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Choose Holiday Inn Express London-Greenwich, the closest hotel to the O2 Arena. You can see the O2 Arena and the sparkling lights of Canary Wharf's high-rise offices reflected on the River Thames from our modern hotel. Holiday Inn Express London-Greenwich is conveniently located just off the A102 and 15 minutes by car from London City Airport. Stroll to the nearby O2 Arena for sports events and big-name concerts or catch an Underground train into central London from North Greenwich station, 10 minutes' walk away. Holiday Inn Express London-Greenwich is a handy base for business, 15 minutes' drive from exhibitions and conferences at ExCeL. We have plenty of parking space and a self-service Business Centre open 24 hours. Host a workshop for up to 35 people in one of our 2 modern meeting rooms. Underground trains from North Greenwich station speed you to central London sights like majestic Buckingham Palace. Stay local to set your watch at Greenwich's hill-top Royal Observatory. Children under 18 stay free in our family rooms, making us a good-value choice. Help yourself at the complimentary hot breakfast buffet in Holiday Inn Express London-Greenwich's bright Great Room. Choose from our range of bar meals and mingle over drinks in the Lobby bar. Free Wi-Fi available throughout. Wi-Fi is free for guests who book directly with the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express London - Greenwich reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express London - Greenwich Hotel London
Holiday Inn Express London - Greenwich England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express London - Greenwich, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.