We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit of a disappointment” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express London - Greenwich

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express London - Greenwich to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express London - Greenwich
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Bugsbys Way | Greenwich, London SE10 0GD, England (Greenwich)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #418 of 1,075 hotels in London
Salisbury, Wilts.
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
168 helpful votes 168 helpful votes
“A bit of a disappointment”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

We booked this hotel, some time ago, on the internet for a very good price - this is why I have given it 3 stars. The hotel itself for facilities and service only warrants 2.

For some reason which was never explained we were allocated a disabled room - thankfully both my husband and I are fit and healthy. Anyway the room was basic to say the least, the carpet was badly stained, the bed was a very small double and the wardrobe had no doors (perhaps this is standard in an express hotel, we normally use the standard Holiday Inns). We were also surprised to find that there were no toiletries supplied - only a practically empty soap dispenser on the wall. The toilet failed to flush - the handle just flopped around uselessly. It was "repaired" twice after we reported it only to fail again as soon as it was used. We ended up using the public toilet downstairs! Thankfully we only stayed one night.

Breakfast was also nothing special - the only hot food available was scrambled egg, sausages and baked beans. There was also very little fruit - only bananas. Having said that, the food was well cooked and hot and quite acceptable, just unimaginative.

We are Priority Club members and use Holiday Inns regularly. It is usual to receive a free newspaper delivered to the room everywhere else - it didn't happen here.

All in all we were unimpressed with this hotel and would not use it again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paulina P, Manager at Holiday Inn Express London - Greenwich, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns about your recent stay at our hotel.
With regards to the room type, we presume that you booked a standard room, which was to be allocated on arrival, depending on availability. Unfortunately, we were fully booked on that day and we only had accessible rooms left. I apologize that it was not explained to you properly upon the arrival.
It is regrettable that you were not satisfied with the overall condition of the room. The issues that you highlighted have been already discussed with the maintenance team and correct actions taken. I apologize for the inconvenience that it caused you.
Please let me clarify that Holiday Inn Express represents different standards than the full service Holiday Inn. Therefore we do not deliver newspapers to the room but our guests are more than welcome to collect complimentary newspapers from reception. With regards to breakfast, we offer only three choices of hot food as per standards set to our brand.
Once again, thank you for your comments and I hope this experience will not deter you from staying with us in the future.

Sincere Regards,

Paulina Poskrobko
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

612 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    138
    256
    156
    40
    22
See reviews for
130
222
25
61
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

My partner booked online via the Hotel-deals website Expedia or something very similar. He paid in full for a double room. Upon arrival they had not checked their online systems and did not have our booking, consequently having no rooms for us. They caused us a lot of trouble at the reception and I got very angry at the atrocious service we were receiving. They said they only had a room with two singles and didn't even care that they had caused us such inconvenience.

I complained quite a bit and reluctantly they agreed to give us free parking for the day and a free bottle of wine from the bar. Yet, we still had the twin room because there were no double rooms.

Overall stay at the hotel was average, nothing special but what do you expect from a Holiday Inn Express that do not even check their online bookings? Bluntly speaking, it put a damp on our weekend.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony R, Manager at Holiday Inn Express London - Greenwich, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments relating to your recent stay at our hotel.

I am very disappointed to read about the problems you faced at the point of your arrival to our hotel.

It is difficult for me to comment in detail on the problem you faced, as there is not enough information listed for me to investigate the matter further. But I have every faith that the staff on duty acted as swiftly and professionally as they possibly could to understand and resolve the issue you faced with your booking made.

I would just like to mention that in such cases where the booking has been made through a third party agent such as Expedia (for example) there can also be cases where their systems encounter errors and the booking may be delayed in reaching our system.

I hope we get the opportunity to welcome you back to our hotel again soon

Best Regards

Tony Revell
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairn, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

I stayed here recently during a trip to London with my wife. I have to say that absolutely everything from the greeting, to the service provided by everyone including the house-keepers was 100% first class! The duty manageress even managed to help me out with printing off information on Madame Tussauds that we were planning to visit...
The room was very comfortable as was the bed and although the air conditioning was pretty loud at night, it did a really great job on keeping us cool on what was extremely hot temperatures (+35deg C) on one of the days. Even the breakfast was not to be sneezed at...
I would definitely recommend this hotel and I would love to stay here again sometime.
Thanks to everyone for making our stay so good!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013 via mobile

Our family, totalling 11 stayed in 3 family rooms for 2 nights. We chose Greenwich as there was plenty of parking spaces at a reasonable rate. We also used the River Cruise from Greenwich to the London Eye to save using the tube. On arrival a cot was missing from one of the rooms but Paulina on reception soon had this delivered to the room. The rooms on the 7th floor were very clean with freshly laundered towels and bedding.
The choice at breakfast was plentiful. Cereals, Croissants, Bread Rolls and Cheeses, Mini Muffins, Scrambled Egg, Sausages and Baked Beans. Toast and Marmalade/Jams, Fresh Fruit and Yogurt. Hot Beverages and Fruit Juices. I do wonder when other reviews complained that there was not much for breakfast, what they were expecting!
We stayed on the hottest day of the year and after an exhausting day sightseeing it was lovely to walk into a cool air conditioned lobby!
So as you can see we were well looked after and would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony R, Manager at Holiday Inn Express London - Greenwich, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your kind comments, based on your recent stay with us.

I am sorry we did not manage to have a cot ready in one of the booked rooms, but I am very pleased that my colleague Paulina acted quickly to get the cot added to your room.

It is also very pleasing to read that you found the breakfast items on offer to be plentiful, and that you enjoyed it.

Thank you again for your comments, and we look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel again soon

Best Regards

Tony Revell
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

I stayed here recently for three nights, while I was working in the area. The hotel is fairly standard for the Holiday Inn chain of hotels, but this one seemed better, the decor was great, and the staff went that extra mile. The rooms are very comfortable, all mod cons, Air Con, Flat Screen TV, Tea and Coffee, free WIFI, great. Reception staff were brilliant when i needed to extend my stay at the last minute. O2 Arena is a good 10 or 15 mins walk. catch the underground there or take the boat into London. Overall i enjoyed my stay - pity i was working - HaHa!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013 via mobile

This was our first stay at the holiday inn. We wanted to be nearby the o2 after the concert, to help avoid any travel chaos. We came via o2's underground north greenwich station as we wanted to get our bearings. In deed if you walk south east on millenium way this will take you to the hotel (Aprox 15 minutes) Avoid going on the south side of the road as you end up crossing about 10 traffic lights and then you end up at the rear of the hotel. Hotel looks a lot nicer than the photographs both outside and in. When we booked we asked for a fridge(if possible), but no fridge on arrival, no explanation given and we didn't pursue as there was a handy ice machine all be it on the first floor(reception). Room was clean and tidy and staff seemed helpful and froendly enough. Wifi is free, but if you want to stream eg now tv etc then you will need to pay for more exclusive wifi. Breakfast buffet was nice with a good selection of hot and cold food, but my personal favourite: bacon is excluded from the menu. They have a good traffic light sign at reception and in lift which helps you to avoid any queues. To top off a great stay, my wife had a bottle of her favourite Vendange Rose, as they don't sell by the glass. Overall Well worth the extra money. Will return again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beccles, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

Ideal hotel for visiting the 02. Very clean with great eating facilities nearby. We arrived shortly after 2pm and though we were lucky to receive a room straight away we were promptly told off by the woman receptionist "next time you must arrive at 3pm!" The check in time of 3pm is far to late to be able to make the most of day especially as i had an appointment at that time at the 02 Arena!

Room was very clean, spacious with air conditioning. Shower gel and towels provided. Car parking is very reasonable but cannot be pre booked.

Breakfast is a buffet help yourself style which was fair. Cereals, continental with the only cooked items being scrambled egg, Sausages and baked beans! A toaster is also provided.

On a whole this is an excellent hotel with a 15 min walk to the 02 arena.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Express London - Greenwich? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express London - Greenwich

Address: Bugsbys Way | Greenwich, London SE10 0GD, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Greenwich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#269 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express London - Greenwich 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Choose Holiday Inn Express London-Greenwich, the closest hotel to the O2 Arena. You can see the O2 Arena and the sparkling lights of Canary Wharf's high-rise offices reflected on the River Thames from our modern hotel. Holiday Inn Express London-Greenwich is conveniently located just off the A102 and 15 minutes by car from London City Airport. Stroll to the nearby O2 Arena for sports events and big-name concerts or catch an Underground train into central London from North Greenwich station, 10 minutes' walk away. Holiday Inn Express London-Greenwich is a handy base for business, 15 minutes' drive from exhibitions and conferences at ExCeL. We have plenty of parking space and a self-service Business Centre open 24 hours. Host a workshop for up to 35 people in one of our 2 modern meeting rooms. Underground trains from North Greenwich station speed you to central London sights like majestic Buckingham Palace. Stay local to set your watch at Greenwich's hill-top Royal Observatory. Children under 18 stay free in our family rooms, making us a good-value choice. Help yourself at the complimentary hot breakfast buffet in Holiday Inn Express London-Greenwich's bright Great Room. Choose from our range of bar meals and mingle over drinks in the Lobby bar. Free Wi-Fi available throughout. Wi-Fi is free for guests who book directly with the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, IHG, Orbitz, Agoda, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline, Expedia, Otel and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn Express London - Greenwich reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express London - Greenwich Hotel London
Holiday Inn Express London - Greenwich England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express London - Greenwich, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.