We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Value in London” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express London-Swiss Cottage

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express London-Swiss Cottage to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express London-Swiss Cottage
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   152-156 Finchley Road, London NW3 5HS, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #243 of 1,049 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence 2014
LOS ANGELES
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Best Value in London”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Back again for the 3rd, 4th (?) time.. You just can't find a better deal in London with breakfast included. I booked the double room with the sofa and was delighted when i opened the door to see a King (bigger than a true King or Cal King)! It was very hot in July for London and thankful for the hotel's excellent A/C system, they had pitchers of fresh, ice-cold lemonade at the front desk, poured with big smiles! Staff were lovely, acknowledged me every time I passed by, and as I requested no maid service, was never bothered by knocking- When i did see the Housekeeping girls, they always asked if I needed ANYthing!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

770 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    261
    397
    73
    29
    10
See reviews for
288
189
64
112
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dorset
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

We stayed with friends for a 1 night break and chose the Swiss Cottage HIE as it had got good reviews and was a decent price. Hotel easy to find, take the Jubilee Line (or Metropolitan) to Finchley Road and turn left from the station exit. Cross the road using the underpass and then turn left, hotel is about 100 yds on right. Very welcoming staff with a quick and efficient check in. Rooms were standard HEI size but perfect for a night or two. Comfy bed with a choice of pillows, decent shower with shower gel and/or shampoo provided.
This hotel is on a busy road so we had asked for a quiet room at the back. We were handed key cards for our two rooms (I think they may have been 605 & 607) so we expected to be next door to our friends but the room numbering seems to go up one side of the corridor and back down the other. We just picked up the key cards by random but we ended up at the back of the hotel overlooking an over grown shrubby bank, so quiet, where as our friends ended up at the front of the hotel which they did find noisy, they did try shutting the window but found the a/c was more of a disturbance. Certainly worth trying to definitely get a room at the back.
Breakfast was adequate, not a full cooked breakfast, sausages, scrambled eggs and beans but there was a good choice of fruit etc.
Would definitely stay there again, especially if we could get it for £68 again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back but note if more than 2 rooms being booked check room numbering if you wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013 via mobile

Excellent service and friendly staff. Outside london centre but in wealthy area (swiss cottage, hampstead, and st john) and right next to main underground tube - Jubilee line (gray). New small mall opposite road - big supermarket and restaurants and movie houses.
Breakfast at hotel is superb! Highly recommend

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

Stayed at this property with my family on our recent vacation to London. If you are familiar with London, and all you want to do, this would be a great value choice. If you are new to London, would suggest something a bit closer to Kensington and all the attractions you want to see. Although the hotel is very close to a tube station, the ability to walk out of your hotel into the hustle of London doesn't exist here. This isn't mentioned as a + or a -, simply for people visiting London for the first time versus someone that goes there regularly.

The staff, starting with Raquel, were excellent. Raquel seemed to training one or two new people every day, they all defer to her for assistance. Never saw the manager (although name was posted on a board each day), but Raquel represented the hotel very well. Ana also did a nice job for us.

Rooms on the lower floors hear a bit of the street, but there is double paned glass to cut it down, request higher floor. Breakfast options were on par with other Holiday Inn Express chain properties we stayed out throughout England, guestroom design and layout is the same as well.

Other reviewers have mentioned the mall across the street, good restaurants there as well as the Oriental Star a few doors down. Interesting neighborhood, but not something that would be your fist choice.

If you are looking to save a bit of money in London, recommend this place as a wonderful hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Please remember if you take the tube, this hotel is at Finchley Road station, not to be confused with Swiss Cottage! The rooms were very clean and pristine - water heater included. The breakfast had a large selection for you. Across from the hotel, is a local shopping mall with a big supermarket. Only a few minutes from the tube! This is in a local area, so there will be no shortages of choices to eat around you.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem, Israel
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

True to the Holiday Inn Express chain - this is a very functional hotel.
Smallish but comfortable rooms, very clean and well looked after, very good and helpful front desk and a good breakfast.
The location is great for public transport and there is even a small shopping center and supermarket right across the road.
Be sure to get a priority club membership and enjoy very good free wifi

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

As per above easy to find fairly good location busy road but didn't bother us much lovely and cool on britains hottest day the bed two singles pushed together to make a huge double seen this in other hotels and it works great shower room breakfast was adequate not amazing but not the worst weve had but oh my god my biggest complaint by fair was the pillows a log from the nearest wood or curbstone would have given more comfort! Asked house keeping they only had one soft pillow asked reception they didn't have any it was impossible to get any sleep both had such a stiff neck in the morning I complained to HI customer service after all if housekeeping and reception couldn't help who could and customer service acknowledged the complaint but we've had no further response this pillows really did ruin our stay! Everything else was either as expected or above seriously take your own pillows unless you want a cricked neck! Lucky I'm but sueing it was crook for days!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express London-Swiss Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express London-Swiss Cottage

Address: 152-156 Finchley Road, London NW3 5HS, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#129 Family Hotel in London
#235 Business Hotel in London
#263 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express London-Swiss Cottage 3*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the enjoyment of a warm welcome & benefit from convenient location at the Holiday Inn Express London-Swiss Cottage – 7 minutes from central London.This newly renovated, contemporary hotel, has excellent transport links being adjacent to Finchley Road Tube station. Finchley Road & Frognal overground station is also only 3 mins walk from the Holiday Inn Express London-Swiss Cottage. National Express coaches serving Stansted & Luton stop directly outside the hotel. Enjoy sightseeing & the culture London has to offer by hopping on an 82, 113 or 13 Routemaster bus.Attentive, friendly & multi-lingual staff are waiting to welcome you 24 hours a day to make you feel comfortable and at home by providing you with information about the local area & beyond.Begin & end your day in friendly, sociable surroundings - Start your day with our compliments with free Continental Breakfast & a selection of hot items from the buffet.Relax & unwind after a day’s business or sightseeing in our Cocktail Lounge by enjoying a leisurely drink or one of our speciality hot beverages.42" plasma screens keep you up to date with current affairs and sporting events.Holiday Inn Express London-Swiss Cottage has one naturally lit, fully air-conditioned meeting perfect for business meetings for up to 25 people. Our lobby area with wireless internet serves as a break out area for lunches and offers secluded areas suitable for private meetings.The Holiday Inn Express London-Swiss Cottage is two train stops from Lord’s Cricket Ground, 4 stops from the West End, Theatreland & central London. It is one train stop from Wembley and with excellent transport links, Westfield (White City & Stratford), Earls Court, Heathrow Airport, Hampstead, Camden Market, Kings Cross St Pancras (Eurostar) and Euston are all in easy reach.When travelling by car, the Holiday Inn Express London-Swiss Cottage is conveniently located outside the congestion zone. Our hotel has limited on site parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, IHG, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, HotelTravel.com and Priceline so you can book your Holiday Inn Express London-Swiss Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express London-Swiss Cottage Hotel London
Holiday Inn London
Holiday Inn Express London-Swiss Cottage England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express London-Swiss Cottage, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.