We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pleasant stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express London-Swiss Cottage

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express London-Swiss Cottage to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express London-Swiss Cottage
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   152-156 Finchley Road, London NW3 5HS, England (Camden / Primrose Hill)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #269 of 1,066 Hotels in London
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Very pleasant stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel at the start and end of our UK holiday. I had read the reviews posted onTripAdvisor and asked for a quiet room at the back of the hotel. Both times our requests were met. The rooms were small but nicely decorated, clean and quiet. The staff was extremely efficient and very pleasant. Breakfast was included. Underground station across the street and an easy bus ride to Oxford Street.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

691 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    222
    360
    72
    27
    10
See reviews for
261
175
59
93
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

I wouldn't want to pay much more than £100 per night for this place but it's a clean and pleasant hotel.

If you're a light sleeper then you may struggle - a lot of the rooms face out onto the busy Finchley Road.

You're not in tourist central here - indeed it's more a residential area but there are fast bus and subway links to the West End (10 mins by tube). It's ideal for access to Hampstead and Primrose Hill.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, New York
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

These hotels give you reasonable rates with no loss of comfort in the rooms. Staff was fully engaged in any questions re travel, problems, messaging. We even had occasion to move to another of Hoiiday Express in the area which was equally forthcoming with extra services and ingratiating staff

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wales
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

This hotel is clean & modern. Two minute walk from Finchly Rd Tube. The staff were friendly & helpful. The air con worked well and kept us cool on what was a baking hot weekend in London. We had a room at the back and didn't hear a thing. Would recommend and use again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, Pennsylvania, United States
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013 via mobile

We had an unpleasant experience at this hotel. We paid for a room with 2 double beds and ended up with 1 double bed and some sort of pull out bed that was on the floor. Very uncomfortable and when we complained they said they didn't have anything better. Also very small for 3 adults and a child. The desk staff was otherwise helpful. The included breakfast was pretty good. Location was convenient to tube and buses.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express London-Swiss Cottage, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear jgipe69,

Thank you for your recent stay with us and reviewing our property. It is regrettable you were not satisfied with the service you received. I would like to address this with you further. I have sent you a private message to obtain more information about your stay. I look forward to hearing from you and being of further assistance.

Sincerely,

Karen C
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Italy
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

We booked a room for 4 people. The secondary couch/bed was terrible. They put a mattress on it and it was still awful. The room was clean, but tiny. The staff was not friendly when we asked about the second bed. Not a good experience. It was very close to a tube station, which was about its only selling point.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express London-Swiss Cottage, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear Melissa C,

Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns. We are glad you liked the cleanliness of your room. However, we would like to apologize for the experience you had with your secondary bed that did not live up to your expectations and the service you received that was less than satisfactory. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. Thank you for staying and we hope you give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Anthony M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

We'd booked this for a mid-week concert break (Robbie Williams - Excellent!) at Wembley Stadium and it's just one stop away on the tube, so well located if going there and not really far from anywhere back into the City.

Fantastic service, clean room and reasonable value for the location. Loads of places to eat nearby and just a few hundred yards from the underground (Finchley Road). Great little shop (Tiger) is worth a visit and for a late night (post concert/game) snack or quick eat, the low priced chicken place is actually not bad if all you want is chicken in a bun/chips etc.

Inclusive breakfast was good with a decent range - had better, but more than enough hot & cold to fill you up for a day in town.

The downside of the hotel is the noise from the main road at the front (according to other reviews), but we had a very quiet room overlooking the car-park at the back and up on the top (6th) floor and slept like logs - so it's worth asking for a room without a view when you book!

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back away from the main road and/or up on the 6th Floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express London-Swiss Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express London-Swiss Cottage

Address: 152-156 Finchley Road, London NW3 5HS, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Camden / Primrose Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#157 Family Hotel in London
#276 Romantic Hotel in London
#327 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express London-Swiss Cottage 3*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the enjoyment of a warm welcome & benefit from convenient location at the Holiday Inn Express London-Swiss Cottage – 7 minutes from central London.This newly renovated, contemporary hotel, has excellent transport links being adjacent to Finchley Road Tube station. Finchley Road & Frognal overground station is also only 3 mins walk from the Holiday Inn Express London-Swiss Cottage. National Express coaches serving Stansted & Luton stop directly outside the hotel. Enjoy sightseeing & the culture London has to offer by hopping on an 82, 113 or 13 Routemaster bus.Attentive, friendly & multi-lingual staff are waiting to welcome you 24 hours a day to make you feel comfortable and at home by providing you with information about the local area & beyond.Begin & end your day in friendly, sociable surroundings - Start your day with our compliments with free Continental Breakfast & a selection of hot items from the buffet.Relax & unwind after a day’s business or sightseeing in our Cocktail Lounge by enjoying a leisurely drink or one of our speciality hot beverages.42" plasma screens keep you up to date with current affairs and sporting events.Holiday Inn Express London-Swiss Cottage has one naturally lit, fully air-conditioned meeting perfect for business meetings for up to 25 people. Our lobby area with wireless internet serves as a break out area for lunches and offers secluded areas suitable for private meetings.The Holiday Inn Express London-Swiss Cottage is two train stops from Lord’s Cricket Ground, 4 stops from the West End, Theatreland & central London. It is one train stop from Wembley and with excellent transport links, Westfield (White City & Stratford), Earls Court, Heathrow Airport, Hampstead, Camden Market, Kings Cross St Pancras (Eurostar) and Euston are all in easy reach.When travelling by car, the Holiday Inn Express London-Swiss Cottage is conveniently located outside the congestion zone. Our hotel has limited on site parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express London-Swiss Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express London-Swiss Cottage Hotel London
Holiday Inn London
Holiday Inn Express London-Swiss Cottage England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express London-Swiss Cottage, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.