We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Feeling of Betrayal” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Knaresborough Place Short Stay Apartments

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Knaresborough Place Short Stay Apartments to your Saves list
Knaresborough Place Short Stay Apartments
4 Knaresborough Place | Kensington, London SW5 0TG, England (Earls Court)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #924 of 1,066 Hotels in London
Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Feeling of Betrayal”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2011

When we got to the hotel, we were hungry and tired. But there was no time for rest. They ended up taking us to their 'sister' hotel since they were booked and something was wrong with the pipes as they say. When we told them this 'sister' hotel told us it wasn't their sister hotel, it was not what we paid for, which ended up being a one star hotel and very dirty. We told them we wanted a refund. They gave us a option to the room we originally wanted or we have to pay a cancellation fee. We didn't understand why they made us go through all this trouble. Should a hotel book you a reservation at a different hotel under their credit card? This is what we found out. We felt so unsafe to think they wasted our first day in London, a trip we were looking forward to. If you want to lose your money and end up having to find a safe place to stay, do not stay here.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    11
    6
    4
    24
See reviews for
10
5
4
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2010

We arrived at the apartment quite early although, the check-in time was 14:00. We got greeted by the owner who was kind and polite. Filled in all the details he required and then gave us the keys. Inspite of my husband calling up and telling the owner that we have a 6 year old daughter with us, he said at first he will charge us £15 but we ultimately settled for £10 for a bed. Gave us a nice single comfy bed (Ikea) which easily fitted in the Studio Apartment after doing some adjustment.

The room had a nice little pantry kitchen, fridge, microwave & kettle. There was hardly any plates or mugs. They had kept 2 plates, 2 bowls and 2 Mugs. There were a lot of spoons, no forks and no Knifes at all. Also, the salt & pepper were almost empty...

The Serviced apartment was in a walk able distance from all the amenities such as Waitrose, Nandos, Sainsbury, Wagamama's and many more...you spoilt for choice of food.

The apartment is close to the main road, but when you have been out since morning and come back to the room in the evening you are so tired that you dont notice the vehicle noise at all....you just drop dead on the nice comfy bed.

We choose this serviced apartment which was close to 3 Museums...over all the stay was good...and for that money its not too bad!!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2010

I booked these apartments for my daughter and her two friends. When they arrived at 9pm at night the apartments were locked. They waited for 30 mins with still no signs of anyone arriving to let them in. They went to the hotel next door and asked if they knew a contact number etc. They were advised that they were the third group of guests that day that had been waiting for someone to arrive to let them in. I tried ringing form Australia to no avail and then the booking agent also tried unsuccessfully. As it was late the girls went to a hotel down the road. The knaresbourough debited the credit card for the full amount and are refusing to give a refund. After being contacted by the booking agent they said they would give a 50% refund however this has never happened. It is too risky to book these apartments as you could be left on the stree and still charged for the stay.t.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
titi71, Manager at Knaresborough Place Short Stay Apartments, responded to this review, February 14, 2011
I dont think that was a fare review. The guest did not notify us that they will be checking late after the checking time. We have a big sign for the office bell at the entrance and we have the contact number which is 24 hours on the booking with the guest. We did not receive any calls from the guest. We charged the credit card because it was considered as a no show and we deducted ONLY the 1st day's charge in accordance with the cancellation policy. When at a later stage the agent explained to us the situation , as a good gesture we offered to refund 50% of the charge . I think think this is very unfair review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2010

We needed somewhere to stay near Earls Court during the tube strike. This fitted the bill. Our apartment had a large and well furnished bedroom, plus a small and rather austere and oddly furnished lounge/kitchen. It was clean, and the bed large and comfortable, but the place needed a bit of maintenance and a few more "essentials". We paid £95, which seemed reasonable for London, and hopefully the rail unions will agree when we send them the bill.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2005

I've stayed three times and this great place in London. It's located between the Gloucester and Earls Court tube stations and right next door to the Kensington Marriott. Nicely decorated, perfectly clean bathrooms. So nice to have more space with a kitchen too - and it's cheaper than most hotel rooms. Free internet in the lobby and there's a laundry room downstairs. The owner, Robert Arnold, is very proud of his place and easy to work with. Two large grocery stores nearby, good pubs, bakeries and shops.

  • Stayed April 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2005

Having been to London several times and staying at B&B's (studiously avoiding hotels) we decided to stay at a short term self-catering apartment. The owner has two locations a few blocks apart. We stayed at Emperors gate in Jan. 2004 and this one, 2005. Both were wonderful choices.

The places were perfectly clean, management was as helpful as we could have wanted. Dropped our bags off early upon arrival and we were off. Supermarket 2 blocks away had all we needed for breakfasts and snacks.

The location, in quiet and lovely Kensington, was a short 2 blocks to three tube lines and on the line coming in from Heathrow, making arrival with luggage simple and inexpensive.

A wonderful, low key and convenient way to visit London. Heading back there for our third stay next month.

  • Stayed January 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Knaresborough Place Short Stay Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knaresborough Place Short Stay Apartments

Address: 4 Knaresborough Place | Kensington, London SW5 0TG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Earls Court
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #924 of 1,066 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Are you visiting London for a short trip or an extended stay and are looking for a comfortable vacation rental or temporary accommodation? Then book one of our Central London Aparthotels and you will have a spacious apartment to relax in, a warm comfortable space to work and if your mood takes you, why not prepare a meal? We offer a selection of contemporary and affordable apartments in Central London. Hotels are great but serviced apartments offer you that 'home away from home' feeling. We offer a lot more space and convenience than you would get in a hotel room at a cheaper price, but with all the same great services as well. We offer concierge services such as theatre tickets, guided tours and information and help with all the top tourist attractions and dinner reservations and can also arrange airport transfers as well as transport around the capital. Complimentary High Speed Fibre Optic Wi-Fi comes as standard with each room as well as large flat screen TV's and digital channels. Our dedication to offering these extra services will help make your stay as relaxing and enjoyable as possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Knaresborough Place Short Stay Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Knaresborough Place Short Stay Apartments Hotel London
Knaresborough Place Short Stay Apartments London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Knaresborough Place Short Stay Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.