We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, crappy accommodation.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of European Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added European Hotel to your Saves list
European Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   11-15 Argyle Square, London WC1H 8AS, England (Bloomsbury)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #784 of 1,052 Hotels in London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great location, crappy accommodation.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

£160 for two nights was good for the location but terrible for the actual hotel. There was an issue with the booking when we arrived as I was told the first night was already paid and that we would only have to pay on arrival. This was not the case and the full price had to be paid on arrival and there was barely an apology from staff. We were early so our room wasn't cleaned as expected so we just dropped off our bags. When we arrived back later the room was cleaned but overall it was very grubby. Cigarette and strange stains on the furniture, the toilet did not flush properly, the room was very very hot even with the window open and just overall it wasn't very pleasant. There was free breakfast but we didn't avail of it. If you're looking for somewhere in great location to the tube and kings cross this is ideal, but it's not very nice to be honest.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

455 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    81
    158
    94
    101
See reviews for
78
156
58
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Holly Springs, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

Look, to all of the Americans that aren't familiar with the DISTINCT difference between European budget hotels and American budget hotels, of course you're going to complain about the lack of elevators, small room and small bathrooms. This is completely typical and expected of a budget hotel like this. I don't thin you can expect white marble bathrooms that are immaculately clean for this price. Sure, it could be a bit cleaner even though it was relatively clean and definitely acceptable...but you could also spend another $300 per night and get a hotel that is what you want. DO NOT RESERVE AT A BUDGET HOTEL AND THEN BE MAD IT ISN'T A MARRIOTT.

To anyone looking to book this hotel, I will say it is exactly what it advertises to be - a budget hotel in London. The rooms are small and the bathrooms and showers are small, but compare that with any other hotel this price in the area and you don't even get a private bathroom. Everything was acceptable, and they even accommodated my request for a quiet room on the ground floor. And don't worry about the noise at night. It isn't really noticeable. Just remember, you're in London and you didn't pay for a soundproofed suite at the Ritz.

The breakfast was everything you can expect... decent food and it's all-you-can-eat. They have orange juice (more like powder-made Sunny D) and water and tea and coffee. Eggs over easy, scrambled eggs, bacon, sausage, toast, and beans. I found it very pleasing for a free breakfast at a budget hotel. Bottom line: book it if you want a budget hotel at a great location in London with a private bathroom and free breakfast. But don't go there and expect the Hilton and then give them bad reviews because of your ignorance. And by the way, they had two towels and two hand towels waiting on the bed when we arrived, so that shows that they do give more than one small hand towel...as if that's a huge issue in the first place.

The wi-fi could have been better, but once again --- budget hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallinn, Estonia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

I stayed there with my boyfriend for 3 nights in May and honestly, we were pleased. Location was super, breakfast was good, people at reception were friendly, room was clean. price was good (considering the location, the price was actually VERY good), So the room was a little small, but it wasn't a problem at all, cause we only went there for sleeping and we didn't have a plan to move in :p There was one thing we didn't like though. There was no mat in bathroom and the floor was quite cold. But as I said, we were pleased with the hotel and we'd definitely go there again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

One small towel, to be used as hand towel, shower towel AND mat. Awful awful awful. It is noisy outside and the internet does not work. No ironing facility or even a hair dryer. I am not impressed and would not recommend this. Unfortunately this place was booked for me by an employer (who I will not work for again). It is a box sized room. Probably on par with a hostel.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

Excellent for Kings Cross/ St Pancras but wouldn't choose to stay here again. OK, it's cheapish price wise, but room cupboard size. One med. size towel each, no hand towel or bath mat. Tiniest of wardrobes. Staff not overly friendly or welcoming. Breakfast OK ish. I guess you get what you pay for but we've had better for the price.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

We paid £80 for a room for the two of us for a night and so were realistic about what we would get.

The welcome was excellent and the room acceptable - we were on the ground floor and, as it was a warm day, we were a bit concerned about how hot it would be but the outside was a courtyard so we were able to open the window.

The location is superb for St Pancras - we were booked on the 7am Eurostar so we did not get to try breakfast. I really could not recommend this for more than the purpose for which we used it but it served our purpose perfectly and I would recommend it from that point of view

You need to remember how cheap it is - especially compared to the chains in this area. Yes, it does need some TLC and money spent on it but we would use it again and we are old!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

My 19yr daughter stayed there in may x great value for money. Central to main transport. Great service. Bed was ok. Breakfast was filling. Staff were helpful. you get what you pay for. Me and hubby are going to visit this hotel in September.

Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Howard Winchester Hotel
Howard Winchester Hotel
#679 of 1,052 in London
3.0 of 5 stars 391 reviews
Bloomsbury
Wardonia Hotel
Wardonia Hotel
#553 of 1,052 in London
3.5 of 5 stars 692 reviews
Bloomsbury
Crestfield Hotel
Crestfield Hotel
#598 of 1,052 in London
3.5 of 5 stars 683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Hotel Montana
Hotel Montana
#710 of 1,052 in London
3.0 of 5 stars 385 reviews
Bloomsbury
Jesmond Dene Hotel
Jesmond Dene Hotel
#258 of 1,052 in London
4.5 of 5 stars 1,488 reviews
Bloomsbury
Alhambra Hotel
Alhambra Hotel
#247 of 1,052 in London
4.0 of 5 stars 1,495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to European Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about European Hotel

Address: 11-15 Argyle Square, London WC1H 8AS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury , Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #784 of 1,052 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — European Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a bed and breakfast hotel located in a central location in London. Located on a quiet and peaceful square tucked away from the hustle and bustle of London but within 2 minutes walking distance to Kings Cross St Pancras station. We have a fantastic free wifi connection in all rooms. A Full English buffet breakfast is served every morning. All rooms have tea/coffee making facilities and flat screen tv's with all the freeview channels. We re open 24 hours and have a luggage room for those checking in early or those who want to explore London upon checking out.There is easy access to all of Londons Airports from Kings Cross and all the tourist attractions such as Leicester Square, Picadilly Circus and Covent Garden are all within easy reach from Kings Cross Station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your European Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
European Hotel London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage European Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.