We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“crap” 2 of 5 stars
Review of European Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added European Hotel to your Saves list
European Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   11-15 Argyle Square, London WC1H 8AS, England (Camden / Primrose Hill)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #804 of 1,066 Hotels in London
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“crap”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012 via mobile

Service, does'nt exsist, felt as though we were in the way at breakfast which was COLD on both mornings. Rooms, not enough room to swing a cat especially shower (of which pipe was loose). Location good, only 3 min walk from KingsX. Thats the + about this so called hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

412 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    73
    139
    85
    98
See reviews for
69
142
55
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for five day apart from when they misplaced my booking on arrival everything else was brill. The room was vert clean and cleaned daily breackfast was replenished fast (although closed to early for me and I was not told the closing time). Staff were very friendly and always willing to help and very close to kings cros. Would recommend people.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelier19, Manager at European Hotel, responded to this review, September 14, 2012
Hello

Thank you for your feedback.

Im glad you enjoyed your stay with us. It is always a pleasure to hear when our guests are satisfied. We look forward to seeing you again.

Warm Regards

Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

Stayed at this hotel for the second time and have to say the cleanliness and general room standards were poor. in room 40 wallpaper was hanging off and looked very dated.as for my room much of the same lamps that did not work the lid was missing off the cistern and a fan covered in dust.the plug socket was not. Very secure.as before. Breakfast was ok and location near kings cross was ace wont stay here again you can have dated but unclean is not acceptable

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelier19, Manager at European Hotel, responded to this review, September 14, 2012
Hello

Thank you for your feedback.

We went to check these rooms and the dust that you mentioned on the fan does not exist. We did not find any dust there and the rooms were clean. We clean all rooms on a daily basis.

Regards

Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

Although the room was not as we expected it to be, the hotel is clean but rather small. The housekeeper did a good job cleaning our rooms every single day. Not the kind of hotel you expect it was more of motel. It could be very noisy at night and breakfast was horrible because they serve the same food every single day and was not really tasty. However location was near the King Cross Station which you could go almost anywhere in London. Halal food are also available near the hotel which is easy for Muslim people.

Room Tip: Don't choose a room that is on the ground floor (avoid noise at night)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelier19, Manager at European Hotel, responded to this review, August 24, 2012
Thank you for your feedback.

We are not a motel we are a budget bed and breakfast hotel. We advertise a full english breakfast which is bacon, sausages, eggs, beans, tomatoes, cornflakes, toast, tea, coffee and orange juice. We do not change the breakfast everyday as we advertise a full English breakfast only. We have many guests who are satisfied with our breakfasts but it is usually the satisfied guests who do not feel the need to write a review.

Regards

Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

Don't believe what you see on the website - it is totally misrepresented.

The good aspects: location (3 mins from Kings Cross Station, 13 minutes from Euston), the bedding and towels were clean. Decent folk on the front desk. The breakfast was plentiful, if not especially well made. That's it.
The issues: legion.
(1) Rooms are claustrophobically small and those at the back and lower levels of the building have little natural light. My husband had to leave the room because he felt sick, and he is not usually claustrophobic.
(2) Smoky non-smoking rooms. We were moved to another room and traded smoky and mouldy for just mouldy. There were actual mouldy stains on the walls and ceiling and the tiny bathroom was a mould motel. Ugh.
(3) Beds fit for tiny people, both in girth and height. The double bed was a large single (and I am speaking as an average-sized Irish person) and the single was about 3/4 of a normal one. Both were pretty short. The cramped conditions just made it all so much worse.
(4) No lifts - but lots of narrow stairs and corridors. It is basically four nice houses knocked together and every bit of space used to make 81 rooms of dubious quality. It would be a nighmare in a fire.
(5) We also had a single room for one of our sons and his bathroom was behind the wardrobe. The single room was about half the width of a prison cell.
(6) The TV in the single room did not work (though staff did come and fix it the next day).
(7) Don't turn on the bathroom fans - they blow mouldy, smoky air.
(8) Don't use the plumbing if you want anyone to sleep - flushing the toilet sounded like a train running past the window and went on for several minutes, just to empty one cistern.

All in all - a nightmare. I dreaded going back on the second night, staying out really late to avoid the smelly, tiny room.

If the website had been more honest, we would not have been so shocked, and most likely, would never have booked the rooms. Any hostel in London (and we had stayed in several) gave better conditions for considerably less money). I wrote the same review for Bookings.com when asked about my stay - that was three days ago and it still has not appeared on the Bookings.com website (so perhaps we should not trust them).

Room Tip: Stay anywhere else, where possible. If not, then only stay if you have a room at the front of the b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelier19, Manager at European Hotel, responded to this review, August 13, 2012
Dear Brenda

Firstly I would like to mention that we do not misrepresent information we have on our website. We do not claim to be a star rated hotel and everything we advertise is what we provide, eg, full english breakfast, free fantastic wifi in all rooms and tea/coffee making facilities in the rooms. We are a budget bed and breakfast hotel located in a fantastic location in London within walking distance to the Eurostar St Pancras station. Yes our rooms are not large but in Central London space is limited and all the bed and breakfast hotels on Argyle Square are the same size. Our hotel is an excellent base for those who are looking for budget accommodation at a budget price with a full english breakfast to start them off for the day. Im not too sure what exactly you did not feel was honest about our website. We have not put any false information or false photos on the website.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012 via mobile

This is the worst budget accommodation I've stayed in and I've stayed in a few all around the world. I would have been better off staying in a backpackers, at least you'd have a better chance of the bathrooms being clean and the toilets being clean. As already said the only good point is the close proximity to kings cross station but the public transport system in London is good enough for that to not be a major advantage. Unless you are desperate, I wouldn't bother.

Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to European Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about European Hotel

Address: 11-15 Argyle Square, London WC1H 8AS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Camden / Primrose Hill , Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #804 of 1,066 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — European Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a bed and breakfast hotel located in a central location in London. Located on a quiet and peaceful square tucked away from the hustle and bustle of London but within 2 minutes walking distance to Kings Cross St Pancras station. We have a fantastic free wifi connection in all rooms. A Full English buffet breakfast is served every morning. All rooms have tea/coffee making facilities and flat screen tv's with all the freeview channels. We re open 24 hours and have a luggage room for those checking in early or those who want to explore London upon checking out.There is easy access to all of Londons Airports from Kings Cross and all the tourist attractions such as Leicester Square, Picadilly Circus and Covent Garden are all within easy reach from Kings Cross Station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your European Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
European Hotel London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage European Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.