We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Novotel London Greenwich

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Novotel London Greenwich to your Saves list
Novotel London Greenwich
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   173 - 185 Greenwich High Road, London SE108JA , England (Greenwich)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
SAVE UP TO 30% OFF
Ranked #276 of 1,049 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersBronze level
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Stayed here for one night on May 25th as we going to the Froch V Kessler fight at the O2 arena. Lovely room, spotlessly clean and in an excellent location in Greenwich. Decent breakfast in the morning, although the staff weren't too quick to replenish items that had already gone by the time we came down to eat. Only downside was lack of free wi-fi - they had two terminals in the lobby which were free for guests to use - if you could get on them! Apart from that, it was good value for money.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cyril V, General Manager at Novotel London Greenwich, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Thank you for your review of your recent experience of the Novotel London Greenwich.
I would like to thank you for sharing this with us as guest feedback is invaluable to our efforts to continually improve the quality of our services.

I hope to welcome you again soon,
Kind regards
Cyril VOURC'H-PAPON
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,283 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    531
    562
    143
    31
    16
See reviews for
536
338
76
183
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide
Top Contributor
146 reviews 146 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Stayed at this hotel with a work colleague for 9 nights for business + a little sight seeing. This hotel is located right next to the train station at Greenwich and on occasions I could just hear the trains but not enough to disturb sleep. The train is only 2 stops from London Bridge which connects you to the underground so you can get anywhere in London relatively quickly. Within walking distance to Greenwich markets, Naval College, Greenwich park, Observatory and many more attractions. ATM and mini mart on the next corner (open until midnight) and many cafe's and conveniences (hairdressers, post office) of an established village just 5 minutes walk away. The hotel was clean and the beds comfortable. The toilet is separate to the bathroom but with no hand washing facilities so it defeats the purpose a bit as you still need to access the bathroom, however the bathroom has a separate bath and shower for those who dislike climbing into the bath to shower. The TV set up was slow and the system 'froze' a couple of times but was quickly rectified, we had issues with our room key card on numerous occasions. The only irritation was the absence of wifi, (the 15 pound a day hard wire alternative was not a good solution) especially as we had enjoyed the convenience of free wifi in our other lesser rated hotels along the way. The solution of 2 computers with wifi in the lobby was inadequate, often children were on them as their parents had a drink in the bar. Apparently this will change next month with the upgrade of systems. Didn't eat in - lots of other alternatives - or have time to use the gym. Late checkout an option is the hotel is not busy and we were very grateful for this service - Thanks

Room Tip: A room at the front is further from the trains but noise really wasn't an issue
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cyril V, General Manager at Novotel London Greenwich, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments and we are glad you had a comfortable long stay and it was an convenient location for you.
I well noted your remarks and regarding the wifi I confirm we will offer a free solution by next month.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards.
Cyril VOURC'H-PAPON
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for a couple of nights at the weekend primarily to attend a concert at the O2
Overall the stay was very good but nothing special - could be best described as functional , we had a executive room which was a good size and spotlessly clean but lacked any character .
Location of the hotel was very good for the O2 , central London and Greenwich itself .
Top three plus points 1) location 2) cleanliness 3) value for money
Top three minus points 1) poor quality bed 2) wifi had to be paid for 3) chaotic breakfast times items running out and tables not cleared promptly

But all in all an ok experience

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cyril V, General Manager at Novotel London Greenwich, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Thank you for your invaluable feedback following your recent stay with us.
I have noted your comment about breakfast service issues and I do apologise for the inconvenienced caused to you. We faced a higher demand for breakfast as a result of Half Term holidays and had difficulties to consistently deliver a high level of service.

We hope you will stay again with us when you next visit London and I would recommend you visit the Novotel website to benefit from the best rate guarantee.

Kind regards
Cyril VOURC'H-PAPON
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

We had a great stay we did a 2 night break with breakfast too when we checked in to our surprise the hotel upgraded our room to a suite which was lovely as it was also a wedding anniversary too so that made it in more of a lovely stay. The staff were just as lovely and nothing was to much trouble would stay there again also the bar and breakfast was really nice as well and also great travel links to the west end with the docklands and national rail on the hotel doorstep....100% happy!!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cyril V, General Manager at Novotel London Greenwich, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
I was really happy to read your feedback following your recent stay with us. I was so delighted that you enjoyed such a special occasion with us and that you had a wonderful stay with us. I was so happy to read that you liked all the little touches we provide for our guests and I have passed on your very kind words to my great team here.
Happy birthday to you again!
I hope to welcome you again soon.
Kind Regards.
Cyril VOURC'H-PAPON
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sicily, Italy
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

Was in London for a business meeting, I checked out a few hotels in the Greenwich area. But Novotel receptionist Maddie made the best first impression, friendly, helpful, approachable and very professional. I felt welcomed and she told me what made Novotel the best place to stay whenever i'm in London. I must say I wasn't disappointed, restaurant was great, clean rooms, helpful staff and great location right next to the station. Will highly recommend Novotel Greenwich

Room Tip: Executive room in the middle nice view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cyril V, General Manager at Novotel London Greenwich, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
It is a great pleasure to read such a positive review. Many thanks for your comments which are a great testimonial of the efforts made by the team to deliver good service to all our clients.
I look forward to your next stay.
Kind regards.
Cyril VOURC'H-PAPON
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

Value for money ? well ,the location was fine, price ok @ £130 / room (.inc a cooked breakfast) Just the fine detail, no butter at breakfast , watered orange juice, cold& tea coffee, & some of the food was cold .The twin beds clearly make a double/ king , but ridge in the middle was uncomfortable overnight & should have had at least a mattress pad on it . Staff however were polite , efficient & competent.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cyril V, General Manager at Novotel London Greenwich, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Many thanks for posting this review about the hotel and for praising the team.Whilst I was pleased to note that you appreciated our team and their training, I am sorry to learn that you experienced few issues at breakfast time and I do apologise for this. Please be assured the team has been reminded to provide a high level of service at all times.

We hope you will stay again with us when you next visit London and I would recommend you visit the Novotel website to benefit from the best rate guarantee.

Kind regards
Cyril VOURC'H-PAPON
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Midlands
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

Chose this hotel for a trip to the O2 and so glad that we did. Right next to Greenwich station it is easy to get around from here, although we arrived by boat from central London and walked up from Cutty Sark/Greenwich pier (approx 5/6 mins), we left from the station on our return journey.

£115 twin room B&B rate excellent. June 3rd 2013

All the staff we encountered were friendly and professional, the young lady that checked us in had a 'in training' tag on her badge but you would never have known otherwise. She was polite friendly and very efficient and something that seems very rare these days, she did it with a genuine smile. Well done Anja!!!!!!!

The room was great 251 overlooking the front of the hotel nice and quiet, also very clean. The beds were both Queen sized with clean fresh linen and very comfortable,I slept really well. The shower was very hot and powerful. We couldn't have asked for anything more than we got and it was well worth the money. Everything worked just the way it should.

Breakfast was very good with a good choice of continental and cooked items with good tea and coffee, again the staff were all good and are a credit to the hotel.

I would definately reccomend this hotel and would definately stay again.

Well done to everyone there you made our trip even better than we thought it would be.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cyril V, General Manager at Novotel London Greenwich, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
I am truly happy to hear that you had a wonderful time with us. I have shared your warm words with my whole team regarding their high standard of services. As a matter of fact, positive feedback is always encouraging and rewarding.
I look forward to your next stay.
Kind Regards.
Cyril VOURC'H-PAPON
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Novotel London Greenwich? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel London Greenwich

Address: 173 - 185 Greenwich High Road, London SE108JA , England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Greenwich , East End / East London
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Green Hotel in London
#99 Best Value Hotel in London
#182 Family Hotel in London
#202 Luxury Hotel in London
#270 Romantic Hotel in London
#282 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel London Greenwich 4*
Number of rooms: 151
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel London Greenwich is a 4 star hotel in the heart of historic Greenwich, southeast London. Holiday makers are just 5 min walk from the National Maritime Museum and Royal Observatory and can explore the city with train and DLR station opposite the hotel. Business guests are just 12 min from the Canary Wharf financial district and enjoy the convenience of WiFi . Relax in our Elements Restaurant, L'attitude Bar and leisure suite. Limited pay parking on site operating on a first come first parked basis. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, EasyToBook, ACCOR, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Novotel London Greenwich reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel London Greenwich Hotel London
Accor London Greenwich
London Novotel
Novotel Greenwich
Novotel London Greenwich England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Novotel London Greenwich, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.