We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic, but entirely ok for a short stay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of St George Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added St George Hotel to your Saves list
St George Hotel
46 Norfolk Square | Paddington, London W2 1RT, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #352 of 684 Specialty Lodging in London
Dongguan, China
Top Contributor
179 reviews 179 reviews
129 hotel reviews
Reviews in 87 cities Reviews in 87 cities
277 helpful votes 277 helpful votes
“Basic, but entirely ok for a short stay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

I normally stay 300 metres away at the Barry House Hotel - it's very good and I recommend it.This time I mistakenly thought they were fully booked, so I reserved a room for one night with The St George Hotel via Booking.com, for the princely sum of £39. As it turns out, the Barry House had a room available for £42, but that's by the by.

The St George is located at the far end of Norfolk Sq, and is about 500 metres from the Underground at Paddington. The building is pleasant and the downstairs has the air of a waiting room, but it's crowded and there is no breakfast room or anywhere to "sit out". I don't think there are lifts in the building. The proprietor is extremely friendly, but busy

I was in a fantastic double room with a balcony window overlooking the square; the facilities were clean and reasonably modern, the bed was large and soft, and the coffee making facilities, wifi and satellite TV entirely adequate. I liked the room. Breakfast is delivered to your door and consists of a bread roll, fruit, jam, orange juice etc and was all of a decent quality

If the Barry House Hotel did not exist (or was fully booked) I would stay here again. However, all in all, given the facilities and cooked breakfast available just down the road for a similar price, I still prefer the Barry House.

Stay in the St George for a day or two and you will be entirely satisfied - is a perfectly ok establishment

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    28
    50
    39
    39
See reviews for
32
47
21
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

First of all, the location is great. Close to Paddington station and a 10-15 minute walk to Oxford st.
I have stayed in quite a few of hotels of this type, so my expectations weren't too high. But the size of the single room was still a surprise. Basically, the front door couldn't be opened fully because the bed was already in the way. Not to mention, the staircase got so narrow towards the upper floors that it was a real struggle to get my baggage all the way up.
The room itself wasn't so bad for a few nights' sleep. A bit worn out and dusty, yes, but at least the bathroom was decent and it wasn't too noisy at night. Breakfast was delivered to the room every morning which was convenient, but I myself definitely couldn't tolerate food like that for more than 3 days in a row. Very basic - bread, jam and yoghurt, everything with an expiration date years from now.
On the positive side, the staff members were really nice. I talked to about 3 of them and they were all very willing to help out and solve any problems.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
COLCHESTER
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012 via mobile

Booked at last minute and got an ensuite room on a Wednesday night for £35 so in that respect a real bargain. First impressions not great - pretty shabby entrance and slightly neglected feel - pretty common for many lower priced hotels in London. Personable chap on reception. I was given a room on top floor which meant a long climb on a rickety staircase - was'nt a massive problem as far as I was concerned but clearly would not have been ideal for families or the elderly. First impressions of room were not too good - the double bed took up most of the room so I'm please I did'nt have too much luggage. Bedding nice and clean, plenty of clean towells and good supply of soaps and shampoo etc. Mattress not comfortable and probably should have been put in the skip in 2005. Room clean but in need of some tlc - shower cradle was broken so had to hold shower head whilst showering. Bolts on sliding glass shower door rusted and not easy to open. Plug in sink was all rusty and looked terrible. No breakfast room in hotel - however a continental breakfast tray was delivered to my door at 8am - a roll, butter, jam, cartons of orange juice, yoghurt, biscuits etc - tasted fresh and all pretty good really. Overall, for £35 I felt I had got a bit of a bargain. Whether I would have thought the same way if I had paid say £70 or £80 is a different matter. In summary - would look to stay again provided the price was right.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

I stayed for one night and expected a basic hotel as all we wanted was a place to sleep. We were given a room on the ground floor with a view into what seemed to be the utility closet. Tube could be felt and heard quite loudly at night and in turn will keep you awake. Breakfast was a tray consisting of a carton of orange juice a stale breadroll and a packaged danish which was handed in the door in the morning (the door knob could be reached from the bed as the room was so small). You are paying for location and nothing else.

Room Tip: ground floor rooms to be avoided
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

Great location but that is it.
All you have access to is a small really old fashioned bedroom. Nothing else, even your breakfast ( Bread rolls, jam, a cake and carton of orange juice) is bought to your room as there is no where else in the house that you can access. Its bascially what i would call a Back Packers place, nothing wrong with that if thats what you want, however, please dont expect anything else. The staff were pleasant enough and as we were only there for 1 night no big deal. Just letting you know what to expect!

Room Tip: Floor floors NO lift... long old walk lol
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

We wanted somewhere to stay during the Olympics that was good value. If all you need is a place to sleep and have a shower then this is ideal. The location is very good (2 mins to Paddington, 10 mins walk to Hyde Park) and there are plenty supermarkets, pubs, take aways and restaurants in the vicinity. We stayed in room 8 (first floor overlooking Norfolk Square) and it did the job. It was fairly clean, had a small table and chairs, little tv, big mirror, hairdyer, tea and coffee making facilities and a fridge! The bathroom was tiny but it didn't matter for one night. We were able to leave our luggage there before we checked in and after we checked out. The staff were friendly. This is certainly a budget option but if you just need a bed for the night then this place is good.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

We were 3 people, who stayed at the hotel for 3 nights. We had reserved at 3-person room, but got a 4-person room (room 21) at the top of the building, so we had good space, but it's a hard way up many stairs. Very ok for healthy adults, but I wouldn't reccomend it to elderly people. Neihter to families with small children, hence the room is very hot and the windows open from below, with the right under the window. The room has ok bath(toilet and a small fridge.
Nice to get your own keys which goes both to the room and the outdoor. Very nice people in the reception.No need to use the safe in the room, hence the cleaner also is one of the owners. Bus no.23 or 159 stops few meters from the hotel-entrance, bus-stop is St.Marys hospital, next to Paddington.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to St George Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St George Hotel

Address: 46 Norfolk Square | Paddington, London W2 1RT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Hotel Style:
Ranked #352 of 684 Specialty Lodging in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, LateRooms, Budget Places, Odigeo and HostelWorld so you can book your St George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St George Hotel London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage St George Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.