We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad staff can spoil a business” 1 of 5 stars
Review of The George

The George
77 Borough High St., SE1, London SE1 1NH, England (Southwark)
020 74072056
Improve this listing
Ranked #612 of 2,327 things to do in London
Attraction details
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Bad staff can spoil a business”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2012

Beautiful building and general feel. Shame about the arrogant, rude and dismissive barman last night, who managed to completely ruin the experience for me. Will not be visiting again.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    40
    9
    7
    11
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Bedford
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Excellent historical inn with good food to boot!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012

3 generations of us went seeking this Inn as we were in the area and had heard it was owned by the NT. We had only intended on having a drink, but after seeing the menu and how cheery the place was we decided to eat. Lovely food, very well presented, ample potions and good value for money. Would go back if in the area again.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Sitting with a drink in the courtyard now bustling with people you can sense the London Dickens and Shakespeare knew”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2012

A very evocative setting - a genuine old coaching inn just south of the then only bridge over the Thames. Borough High Street was the Heathrow of its age with travellers leaving London to go to the South Coast , the Continent and beyond. Borough High Street wasa packed with coaching inns but The George still survives - anyone interested in history will love it.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“DO NOT GO THERE UNDER ANY CIRCUMSTANCES UNLESS YOU WANT TO BE TREATED LIKE DIRT”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2012

As a local, it is a real shame that this pub is run the way it is.

Granted, it is a fantastic building steeped in history and is actually owned by the National Trust I believe. However, the staff are beyond rude and ignorant.

A group of 5 friends including myself had had a catch up drink and meal in Borough Market nearby which was lovely. We were having a really nice evening when we decided that we would have one final drink somewhere else nearby before heading our separate ways. Unfortunately we chose The George.

It was approx 10:30pm and so we knew there would be plenty of time for the one drink we all wanted before last orders were called. However, shortly after ordering at the bar inside, it became clear that one of the bar staff in particular was cruising for an argument with customers. He proclaimed at the top of his voice "Do not buy any drinks that you are not capable of drinking because we have a ruthless drinking up policy here at The George". Little did we know that were about to find out that "ruthless" didn't even go anywhere near far enough to describe the actions this person was will willing to take.

We moved to the large outside seated area and enjoyed chatting and drinking for what must of been about ten to fifteen minutes or so. At around 11:00pm, burly security men began wandering around the courtyard and informing customers that they needed to "drink up and begin to make their way to the front". This is usually standard practice across pubs in England. People do need to be asked to drink up and start making a move otherwise they would be there all night. However, it is not something that usually happens before drinking up time has passed.

The original member of staff who had been shouting the odds at customers at the bar earlier then began to do the same to people outside. He approached our group and began speaking to us all extremely rudely and abusively. When challenged he simply became ruder. Another customer on a table separate to us commented that she had never been treated this way in all her life. This "barman" then even became physical with a member of our group. He actually took hold of a female friend's arm which was clutching a glass or red wine and twisted it so that the contents poured all over the floor.

There were scenes of outrage as everyone was shoved out of the courtyard and onto the street before the gates were slammed shut. There were many customers who were angry and voicing their disgust at the way they had been treated.

DO NOT GO HERE TO DRINK OR EAT UNLESS YOU WANT TO BE TREATED LIKE DIRT WITH THE DISTINCT POSSIBILITY OF BEING PHYSICALLY AND VERBALLY ABUSED. CERTAINLY DO NOT TAKE CHILDREN TO THIS PUB. AS A LOCAL, I WOULD RATHER WALK FURTHER TO GO ELSEWHERE OR SIMPLY GO HOME WITHOUT A DRINK. SHOCKING.

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sewell, New Jersey
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Good beer”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2011

Tucked back off the main road, clean and friendly staff. Pretty good beers on tap.

Visited September 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The George also viewed

 
London, England
 

Been to The George? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The George, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.