We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant experience in a lovely theatre” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Theatre Royal Drury Lane

Theatre Royal Drury Lane
Catherine Street | Covent Garden, London WC2B 5JF, England (Charing Cross / Trafalgar Square)
0844 412 4660
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
$107*
and up
Ranked #205 of 853 Attractions in London
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Since 1663 the Theatre Royal Drury Lane has provided entertainment for the masses and has been visited by every monarch since the Restoration.The theatre has not one, but two, royal boxes and it was here that the public first heard both the National Anthem and Rule Britannia. Previous buildings were managed by the great actor David Garrick and the famous playwright Richard Brinsley Sheridan and he current, fourth, building was opened in 1812.The theatre was renowned for its spectacular Victorian melodramas and pantomimes but since the 1920s its history has mirrored the development of the modern musical. From the original London productions of American musicals Rose Marie, The Desert Song and Show Boat, through Ivor Novello’s romantic operettas and Rodgers and Hammerstein’s groundbreaking post-war shows to The Producers and The Lord of the Rings. My Fair Lady held the record as the theatres longest run for many years but Cameron Mackintosh’s record breaking production of Miss Saigon, at ten years, is the current record holder.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Pleasant experience in a lovely theatre”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2014 NEW

Visited family in London again and the theatre has become one of the highlights of my visit. On this occasion it was the Theatre Royal, Drury Lane and the auditorium is very pleasant. The staff were both helpful and courteous, noticeably so as on occasion this has not been the case at other venues.

The production was enjoyable, although something of an acquired taste as it was billed as a comedy but was quite openly making a point; this did not detract from the experience though, and this theatre has all the ambience that it's rich history would suggest.

It was not difficult to book tickets, which we collected at the box office. We were guided politely to our seats, the programme was not expensive, so all in all a most enjoyable visit to an attraction that should be on the list of every visitor to the capital.

Visited December 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    169
    75
    30
    11
    8
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Earlestown
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Overcrowded box”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2014 NEW

Went here to see the Charlie and the Chocolate Factory musical, and while the musical itself was outstanding, the venue and its facilities were poor.

The foyer is way too small for such a large theatre and the prices of the drinks and snacks was ridiculous. Due to it being a special occasion we had booked the Royal Box, the box itself was a little tatty and when I saw the 6 chairs (like padded dining room type chairs) I knew we were in trouble. Even without anyone in them they looked cramped, but when there were 6 adults in them it became impossible for everyone to sit comfortably AND have a good view of the show. These particular boxes really aren't suitable ffor more than 4 persons.

Visited December 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swadlincote, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Ralph Mctell's 70th Birthday”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2014

Attended the Ralph Mctell Birthday concert on Sunday 7th Dec. and found the Theatre absolutely wonderful, Having lots of experience of theatre and concert going and being able to book tickets early gave me the chance to pick seats in a good position - with leg room !!. The acoustics / sound system where the best I've heard for many a moon. The facilities could probably do with a bit of TLC but I've known worse and on first appearence bar prices seemed high at 17.00 for two large G and T's, but when I worked it out 3.00 Gin, 2.50 can of tonic, it isn't that bad for London. The staff were all polite and efficient. A thoroughly enjoyable evening.

Visited December 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“An occasion in itself...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2014

Everything about this theatre made me happy:

- I purchased a ticket at the box office for that day's matinee. The staff were lovely, professional and genuinely helpful.
- The bar and merchandise staff were, again, professional and lacked the indifference that I had encountered at other theatres.
- The theatre itself is elegant and spacious in its foyers and auditorium. Paintings and sculptures adorn the interior. I felt like a VIP just being there.
- There is a lovely verandah on the Royal Circle level - fantastic to get some air at interval and not risk being run over by a manic driver!
- You can take a tour of the theatre and learn about its history, which is a nice touch.

Visited September 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Supposed to be a special treat!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2014

My wife is a life long fan of Ralph McTell. I decided to take her to his 70th birthday concert.

Impossible to book any tickets apart from the balcony (front row).

No other seats available all sold out !

Arrived and went to our seats. Could not even see the stage fr a seated position. My wife and I are quite small and sat cramped up for the entire first half.

Craning my neck over the edge and looking down I could see numerous seats available in both the Royal Circle and stalls! Fully booked - what rubbish.

At the bar at the interval - £12.00 for a half of larger and a glass of wine.

Ralph was brilliant. Sadly woefully let down by the venue.

I know my views are not unique as many in the audience were expressing similar views!

How can they charge such high prices for such maudlin provision!

I felt embarrassed by the theatre.

The furnishings and decor were 'tired' and worryingly there was litter on the gantries by the light clusters. Toilets poorly maintained and serviced.

My advice - go and support provincial theatres and don't waste your time or money on this venue.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Theatre Royal Drury Lane also viewed

 

Been to Theatre Royal Drury Lane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Theatre Royal Drury Lane, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.