We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“City Cruises with afternoon tea” 4 of 5 stars
Review of City Cruises

City Cruises
Westminster Pier | Victoria Embankment, London SW1A 2JH, England (Westminster / Belgravia)
020 77 400 400
Website
Improve this listing
Book Now

Ranked #169 of 610 activities in London
Type: Tours
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Frequent sightseeing cruises on the River Thames through central London from and to Westminster, London Eye, Tower of London and Greenwich piers on modern, wheelchair-friendly boats. Commentary provided, refreshments and toilets available. One-way, return and all-day, hop-on/hop-off tickets available for adults and children, with special value family tickets for two adults and up to 3 children travelling together. Cruises operate every day of the year (except Christmas Day 25th December) from about 10am until 5-6pm with evening cruises in summer.
Newcastle, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“City Cruises with afternoon tea”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

Booked this for my friends birthday and we weren't disappointed it lasted about one and half hours - I was given 10% off and a glass of wine when I booked - once on board the staff were friendly and helpful - we were given our wine and then offered as much tea and coffee we could drink the afternoon tea arrived about half an hour later and it was lovely more than enough sandwiches cakes and two scones - two scone you may think but we had no room afternoon eating all the sandwiches and cakes - the cakes were mini - thank goodness - more tea and coffee was offered the whole time we were on board - we sailed past tower Bridge for a little while and then turned and came back up just before Westminster - plenty of photos can be taken - the tea was not rushed and it was a perfect afternoon.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

866 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    431
    268
    59
    52
    56
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Very Good and easy way to travel in London”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

Very efficient, good views from all seats and the staff on board give you some guides as to some of the sights (which is not part of their normal service). Very much enjoyed the trips and it was even better that it was half price on Marathon day! Helped avoid busy tubes and crowds.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Lovely birthday treat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

I took my oldest friend for a surprise birthday treat, lunching on the City Cruises boat from Tower Pier. It was a great experience. The cruise was leisurely and interesting, the lunch was good and the service was outstanding - friendly, attentive and courteous, and really added to our day.We got off the boat smiling. Rita and Carlos - thank you very much! City Cruises - these are agency staff, apparently; give them a job or a bonus.....:-)

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
27 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Great views from the boat, just horribly inefficient at loading/unloading”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

The City Cruises tour from Westminster to the Tower of London (or vice versa) was included for free with our The Original Tour Hop-on/Hop-off bus tour. Although it was April, it was Marathon weekend and a beautiful sunny day, which meant there was a long line to board the boat. We were thrilled to see the boat come into view about 15 minutes after queing up. Now, I've taken boat tours and ferries in cities all over the world, and I've never seen it take so long to actually tie up a boat and get people on and off. Given that the boat makes a stop at the London Eye, the "30 minute tour" turned into an almost 90 minute event for us (including the original time spent in line). That's something to keep in mind if you have limited time in London.

You get a different perspective from the river, which I really enjoyed. The commentary was entertaining, although the long request for tips at the end was a bit too much. I'm glad we did it, just glad we didn't pay extra for it.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, NY
Top Contributor
181 reviews 181 reviews
85 attraction reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
146 helpful votes 146 helpful votes
“Very nice surprise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Took this cruise from Tower pier to Greenwich as part of the "London Pass". A simply lovely trip with commentary provided by one of the staff that doubled as a tour guide. And here I thought I was simply using transportation...

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed City Cruises also viewed

 

Been to City Cruises? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage City Cruises, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added City Cruises to your Saves list