We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More museum than stately home” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Apsley House

Apsley House
149 Piccadilly, Hyde Park Corner, London W1J 7NT, England (Mayfair / St James's / Piccadilly / Green Park )
020 7499 5676
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Private Tour
$105*
and up
Private Tour: London Walking Tour of Apsley House...
Ranked #167 of 853 Attractions in London
Type: Historic Sites, Art Museums, History Museums, Museums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This is the home of the famous British general and prime minister, the Duke of Wellington. It houses a fine collection of master art and silver objects, as well as the "Iron Duke's" wartime medals and battlefield orders.
Ascot
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
42 attraction reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“More museum than stately home”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

Do not expect to find 'stately home' furnishings in the rooms. A better description would be a museum. There were a few couches/chairs in each room that one could sit on plus display cases but the main items were paintings & display cases of ceramics & silverware. Saying that what was on display was impressive so from that point of view the house is worth visiting but I was a little dissapointed that the rooms did not contain furnishings, clocks etc. If not relevant to Wellington at least to his era. I am an English Heritage member & used a bus pass to get to London so did not have to pay out for travel & entry. If I had I would have left very dissapointed.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    89
    79
    20
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Derby
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Not to be missed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

My second visit to this excellent value museum, lots to see and so very interesting, glad they have audio makes the viewing better hearing what's what in each room etc

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Wellington's London home worth a visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

We visited on a sunday around lunchtime. Very central location but not very busy, so it was possible to see everything without crowds in the way. We didn't take the included audio guide. Don't miss the dinner services on the ground level off to one side at the back of the gift shop.

The pictures could use a bit of a clean, but there are some fabulous finds. Two good portraits of Wellington, but some great Carravagio and Velasquez paintings as well. All housed in a grand London house.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Amazing, the huge collection, the entrance fee includes the audioguide, which let you discover the whole building. The galleries are wonderfull. Very nice and helpfull people at the desk... I really would recommend it to everybody interested in the history and arts...

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petersfield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“A Hidden Gem”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

What a lovely find and very reasonably priced. The included headphone tour was excellent. I wanted to see the paintings there but the porcelain and gold plates / table centre pieces / swords etc were quite mind blowing. Wellington was certainly showered with many precious gifts in his lifetime from grateful nations! Don't miss the basement as there were some interesting curios down there including the death masks of Wellington and Napoleon.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Apsley House also viewed

 

Been to Apsley House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Apsley House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.