We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“home spirit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Martel Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in London
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Martel Guest House
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   27 The Ridgeway | Golders Green, London NW11 8QP, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Breakfast-Free Wi-fi
Ranked #31 of 517 London B&B and Inns
Kaunas, Lithuania
2 reviews
“home spirit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

very cosy and friendly atmosphere. clean and in very good location.freshly prepared breakfast by your own request, nice chats. hope in spring and summer time there is possible to have a cup of morning coffee in the garden :) hostel is located in very quite region and there is always a feeling as you are in your friends house. in one month i go to London again and definitely will stay in Martel's.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

366 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    219
    114
    15
    10
    8
See reviews for
130
109
37
48
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
malta
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

Just back home after a holiday in London, once again stayed at Martel Guesthouse and once again I am completely satisfied with every thing. Even while the guesthouse was practically full upp Mr Martell and Nellie were fantastic, They are polite and helpfull but also cheerfull people once you get to know them. Brakfast is supreme and even though Mr Martel remembers your prweferances for breakfast things are not taken for granted and he checks with you ever day. The cleankiness of the place, the care for your belongings and the way a guest is treated is 5 star service.On one occasion I was astounded to hear Mr Martell giving a guest the weather forcast.He is always happy to call a cab for a guest and help in directions.Once again a big thank you to Mr Martel and his staff especially Nellie, who is a cheerful educated and helpfull lady, her cheerfull welcome when we arrived was fantastic, it is as if you are entering the house of a friend.Well done and keep it up.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perigueux
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

I stayed again at Martel's Guest House and was made very welcome. Thanks. Tiny shower true ! but very comfy room for a single person, lovely towels and very clean. Nice TV screen and kettle for tea/coffe.
The breakfast , included, is copious and served in a lovely groundfloor room overlooking a pretty garden.
It's also very well placed, a few minutes from underground and numerous buses to all parts of London. It's a quite area, yet there are coffee shops and restaurants open late.
Mr Martel the host is very kind. I'll pass on this address.

Room Tip: Nice house for comfortable stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, NY
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

Very adequate accommodations. Comfortable. View from window made location seem like it was in a park. Location in the city close to tube, underground, subway! Fine on site parking, which seems to be rare in London. Excellent breakfast. I will recommend and when I'm in London again, this will be my first choice of a place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

Me (21) and my girlfriend (22) had a really great stay at the Martel Guest House during the Olympics 2012. We could book up rather last-minute which was great!

The room was spotless and very luxurious with a beautiful bathroom.
Breakfast was definately very good. There is choice from cooked breakfast, as well as cereal. A wide range of choices with the cooked breakfast, which was fab!

The last day we stayed at the Guest House we had planned to leave in the morning. As we had some time on our hand we wanted to check out the Portabello Market. We asked the owner if it was possible to keep the car parked in front of the house, and this was possible: Free of charge!!

The Guest House is really close to the Golders Green tube station. The tube takes about 10/15 minutes to reach to the heart of London! So in 15 minutes you could be walking on Picadilly Circus.

Next time we go to London, we will definately book a room here again! Thanks, Phil!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

The guest house, located in a nice and quiet neighborhood, is easily withing walking distance of public transport (bus and tube), as well as numerous eating establishments. We felt comfortable walking day or night.
The guest house itself is a very clean establishment with quality accommodations. We had the family room (2 adults, 2 teenagers - 4 suitcases) and did not feel crowded. We found Phil & his assistance to be very hospitable. If I ever find myself in this area of London I will definitely book at the Martel Guest House again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Disentis
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

The Martel guesthouse was the perfect accomodation for our family. Everything was just excellent and very easy to reach all what we wanted to reach with the underground. Mr Martel was so kind with our family and the breakfast was extremely good. It was also comfortable to have TV in the room to watch every day the olympic games on it.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Martel Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Martel Guest House

Address: 27 The Ridgeway | Golders Green, London NW11 8QP, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 517 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Martel Guest House 3*
Also Known As:
Martel Guest House Hotel London
Martel Guest House London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Martel Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Martel Guest House to your Saves list