We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unusual in a nice way” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Goodenough Club

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Goodenough Club to your Saves list
Goodenough Club
4.0 of 5 Specialty Hotel   |   23 Mecklenburgh Square, London WC1N 2AD, England (Bloomsbury / Holborn)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #86 of 663 Specialty Lodging in London
Reading, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Unusual in a nice way”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

We stayed at Goodenough Club for one night only. First of all the best thing was that we got an upgrade from a simple room to a suite - given we went there as part of celebrating my birthday it was a lovely present from them :-) As many mentioned before it is an actual college building - feels a bit like being at a dorm, but in a luxurious one. The suite we were staying in was amazing, very clean and spacious. Wonderful view of the private park belonging to Goodenough Club just across the street. Breakfast is served in a different building (1 minute walk) - great choice and nice food. Very convenient location, easy access to many popular places of London and tube lines.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    113
    35
    10
    9
See reviews for
36
61
35
87
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

My wife and I stayed overnight in the Goodenough Club 26-27 May 2013. It's got to have been the best stay we've had in London. The staff we extremely helpful and friendly. The room was superb, large with a king size bed and couch. It was scrupulously clean. We had the use of the private gardens. I'd thoroughly recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

The Goodenough Club belongs to the Goodenough College itself part of UCL. Its location is perfect, right in the heart of Bloomsbury, close to St.Pancras station (if you fancy a quick trip to Paris or just the tube), the British Museum, the LSE, Oxford Street etc. It is not a typical hotel, rather a B&B. The rooms are cosy, with relatively small bathrooms, the furniture reminds of a student dormitory. If you problems climbing tsarirs, don't go there cause thee is no elevator. Breakfast is over the road in the main building, the hall being a bitt Harry-Potter-like. The staff is very friendly and helpful - so if you want something outside the box for a competitive price the Goodenough it is.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

We found this Hotel had very good service and all the facilities we needed for a 2 night stay in London. However, we were in the "Mews" rooms at the back. These are new additions in a courtyard area. We found the movement of people around outside rather noisy on wooden stairs; blinds on the windows not enought to keep corridor light out through the night; and no window we could open so it was stuffy and hot. Having said that we would go back but would have to guarantee another room in the building.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view over the square. The rooms in the "Mews" nos 600 or so, at the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

I stayed 2 nights in the Russel Suite (bedroom, sitting room, bathroom). Lovely accommodation and sense of being "at home". Breakfast is either in the main hotel (continental - small executive lounge style) or over the road as a full english. Location is great for the British Museum and other central attractions. 10 min walk from Kings Cross.

Room Tip: Take a suite if you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newtownards, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

Nice location, nice staff.
Bedrooms are nice, spacious, clean.
I stayed there several times over the last couple of years, experienced different sized bedrooms (from huge bedrooms to single ones). Some of the bedrooms have "rattly" windows though. Bit annoying.
Breakfast is OK, not mush room though in the breakfast room though.
The only downside is that there is no lift. And the third floor is a loooong way up.

Overall, nice place, convenient location.

Room Tip: Ground floor or first floor if you want to avoid the stairs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, UK
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

This is a pretty good find for a bolt-hole. Excellent for an overnight stop in the Russell/Tavistock square/Holborn area. Do not come here expecting great facilities, but just about everything that you need is here. Check-in was fast and efficient. My room was on the top floor. OK, no lift and quite a hike up the stairs, but it was reasonable quiet . The room was a good size (for London) but the bed was tucked into an alcove which meant no extension space for those of us with longer legs. Nice and clean with a small but fully functioning shower room/toilet. The soundproofing is not great, but the noise from neighbours soon died down. Pretty good nights sleep. In the morning, breakfast can be taken either in the club (continental) or over in the College (cooked). I chose the Club, and it was fine, if basic.

Overall, not bad for a brief stop. I would not want to spend a great deal of time here, but it does for an overnight.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Goodenough Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Goodenough Club

Address: 23 Mecklenburgh Square, London WC1N 2AD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury / Holborn
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #86 of 663 Specialty Lodging in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Goodenough Club 4*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Goodenough Club provides a home from home for visiting academics and those in related professions from all over the world. It occupies 5 fully refurbished Georgian townhouses and a mews which overlook our beautiful Mecklenburgh Sq Gardens, 2 acres of private gardens with tennis court and BBQ area, in the heart of Bloomsbury and a 10 minute walk from the Eurostar at St Pancras. Guests are welcome to join the thriving academic community that has been home to international post graduate students for over 75 years and to attend the talks, lecutres and concerts which take place. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Goodenough Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Goodenough Club Hotel London
Goodenough Hotel London
Goodenough Club London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Goodenough Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.