We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very very basic” 2 of 5 stars
Review of International House

International House
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added International House to your Saves list
International House
1.0 of 5 Hostel   |   1-5 Lambeth Road | University of Westminster, London SE1 7DQ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #210 of 684 Specialty Lodging in London
UK
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Very very basic”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2011

We stayed here for one night, we were looking for somewhere cheap. The location is good, rooms very outdated and basic, shared bathrooms. The shower head had come off the wall so I have to hold it up whilst showering. It was quite clean. Overall just really basic facilities. Got a room at a travelodge the next night at half the price of this.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    10
    10
    3
    3
See reviews for
6
9
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2010

Apart from the location and price this place has little going for it. Didn't feel safe at International House. Rooms were dirty and uncomfortable, plastic mattresses were sagging, hard and too short even for me at 5'5. Plus the 2nd bed in the twin room didn't fit - it was either under the desk or blocking the door. The sink in the toilet didn't work and we didn't appear to have a sink in our room so were teeth cleaning etc in the bath (we were told when complaining after we left that the sink was in the cupboard...obviously). Single glazed windows on a busy road made worse as the window wouldn't shut so zero sleep had. Booked for 2 nights but didn't stay for the second

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2010

the rooms were farily clean but the showers and bathrooms were not well maintained. it is located in fair close to the city and the price is very low. there are definitely better alternatives for hostels and dorms in London in the same price range.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2010

We were looking to avoid expensive accommodation prices in London so this place fit the bill. It was ideally located near Lambeth North Tube Station, with restaurants, pubs and a small supermarket nearby. There is a laundry onsite too which is a benefit.

The rooms are run down, but comfortable enough. Unfortunately the residents of the floor were what let the place down. They were noisy and inconsiderate of other guests. The kitchen was never left clean and the bathrooms weren't left tidy.

I would recommend this place as a economical and convenient option for London, but don't expect more than what you pay for. It is also luck of the draw as to who else is on your floor and how considerate they are of others.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mikkeli, Finland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2009

Location was not so good, but on the other hand it was a safe area. The room was apparently clean. The cleaniness was a bit hard to notice, because the air in the room was stuffy because of lack of the ventilation. I guess the old fitted carpet with burn signs had something to do with it also. Old tobacco smell could also be discovered. And the furniture; it must have been from the 50's. So if you are allergic, you consider again if you can spend your nights there.

The bed was without a mattress pad, so you literally slept on strings - a hard experience.

London is an expensive town, but still the room was too expensive for what you got. If breakfast would have been included, the price would have been tolerable.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2009

The room was of a decent size, clean and I was surprised that a personal hygiene kit was also provided. And when considering the price and close proximity to central London I would definitely stay at IHL again and would recommend it to others.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kamloops, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2007

International House is definately budget accomodation. For our first trip abroad we wanted something close to Waterloo Station and the closest tube station...and cheap! We found it here!

As with the previous post, most of it is still true almost a year later. The rooms were tiny, but we expected that. It is also true that all doors slammed shut any time of day or night. Rooms were a bit musty, needed a good paint job and new carpet, but we did expect this (it was a surprise for our teenaged daughters, tho!). The kitchen was clean and well stocked with plates, utensils etc...The shared water closet and shower room were clean and did have toilet paper! The tap dripped, but so do mine at home. There was an ironing board and iron available on the main level. The common lounge was large, but not well used.

We found all the staff friendly and helpful. Also found a pub kitty-corner to the place called The 3 Stags (Lambeth Road and Kennington). Had a few pints there at night. Also a nice breakfast place called The Corner Cafe which was down Lambeth Road on the corner just before you go under the tracks towards the Thames.

Did I mention that we could see the top of the London Eye from our 5th floor room? We could also see part of the Parliament Buildings. Quite a sight for us Canadians, who had only seen photos of them!

We liked International House and its proximity to the Thames, London Eye, Imperial War Museum, Waterloo Station and Lambeth North. There were quite a few places to eat, get snacks, newspapers etc...mostly on Kennington. Check out the side streets for small pubs. They are fine indeed!

  • Liked — proximity to tube and Waterloo Station
  • Disliked — small rooms and loud slamming doors
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to International House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about International House

Address: 1-5 Lambeth Road | University of Westminster, London SE1 7DQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Hotel Style:
Ranked #210 of 684 Specialty Lodging in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — International House 1*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms and TripOnline SA so you can book your International House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
International House Hotel London
International House London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage International House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.