We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service, location, comfort, and breakfast... ” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Elysee Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Elysee Hotel to your Saves list
Elysee Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   25-26 Craven Terrace | Hyde Park, London W2 3EL , England (Bayswater / Notting Hill / Lancaster Gate )   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #563 of 1,066 Hotels in London
1 review
“Excellent service, location, comfort, and breakfast... ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013 via mobile

Dilip at the reception immediately gave me a bigger room once he saw my large suitcases enough for 10-day stay. Yola the housekeeper also was very helpful in keeping the room clean. I would definitely recommend Elysee hotel to others and surely would stay there again...

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

389 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    150
    97
    34
    39
See reviews for
95
126
40
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

I think I stayed in rm 408. It was on the 4th floor and faced The Mitre pub. The noise from The Mitre died down about 10ish, even on the weekend.

Loved the staff, the location, and the breakfast. The staff went above and beyond the call of duty to ensure I had access to the internet and enough information to make the most of my brief stay. The location is key - close to Paddington train/tube station and Lancaster Gate Underground station. Also nearly right on Hyde Park, near the Italian Gardens. Breakfast was delicious - eggs, bangers, toast, beans, yogurt, granola cereal, juice, coffee and tea.

Even though the price was moderately inexpensive compared to the overall London market, it was still expensive, especially considering the size of the room. The "compact" room and en suite bathroom was *seriously* compact, a postage stamp, really. Could also have had an earlier check-in time, if the assigned room was clean and ready for the occupant.

If you have problems with stairs, note that the Elysee has approximately 4 steps before you can take the lift.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013 via mobile

I have been staying at the Elysee for more than twenty years. This is a modest and very clean Hotel in Central London and a few minutes walk from Paddington Station and Lancaster Gate Tube and Bus Lines.
Without exception, the premises is clean and very well managed by Mr. Kumar who is not only professional but helpful in any and all situations. Margaret, the Manager, is exceptional and always ready to assist. This Hotel offers a substantial breakfast at a very reasonable price. I very much doubt that there is any Hotel in the vicinity that is so attractive.

Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013 via mobile

Shabby,filthy.uncomfortable bed full of broken springs.good location but very jaded and would not recommend in any way. Business reservation and paid £130 ..feel completely ripped off. Good pub opposite called the Mitre offers some solace with good beef and reasonable phb grub.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coquitlam, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

The Elysee Hotel in London is small, has very small rooms but what the hotel lacks in size, they more than make up for by wonderful service, great breakfasts (7.50 pounds each) and a staff that will do anything to help you. We stayed there twice (at both ends of our holiday)and loved the fact that Hyde Park was at the end of our street, there were at least 6 very good restaurants - Chinese, Italian, Malaysian nearby and two excellent pubs (one across the street from the Elysee) and easy bus and tube access to anywhere. We wouldn't stay anywhere else!

Room Tip: The rooms are, by North American standards, minuscule! But after you get over that and get creative...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Once again we needed to stay in a hotel in London and having stayed at Elysee a couple of years or so ago decided to stay there again. We were certainly not disappointed. Improvements since last stay: - free internet throughout the stay and in the entire hotel
- A fully cooked breakfast, eggs, bacon, sausages etc etc.
We went to theatre in the West End which is only a 15 minute Taxi ride and I went for a morning run in Hyde Park which is opposite the hotel. The traditional pub opposite, The Mitre, has been revamped to a good old fashioned English pub.
A good clean hotel with impeccable service in a great location. An excellent value for money rare for a Central London hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms facing Hyde park
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Great little place. Near Lancaster Gate, close to buses, tube and a variety of restaurants and pubs, laundry facility next door, staff great - mostly. All the staff were just terrific - I even went back for a second stay during this trip. The LAST morning, I needed a taxi to get to the train station, but the night desk clerk said they only had a contract with hired car to take me to the airport, and HE REFUSED to call me a cab!!! So I had to walk down the street part way to another hotel to catch the attention of a taxi to get my ride!!! This with a cane for walking, and heavy luggage for an international flight home. It was a double insult because everyone else was soooooo wonderful.

Room Tip: Front of hotel is across from a pub, but it quieted down about 10 pm, so that was not a problem. Al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Elysee Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elysee Hotel

Address: 25-26 Craven Terrace | Hyde Park, London W2 3EL , England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bayswater / Notting Hill / Lancaster Gate 
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #563 of 1,066 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Elysee Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Elysee Hotel is superbly located in Central London's Hyde Park area, an ideal base from which to explore the capital. Privately-owned and recently renovated to the highest standards, this 55 room hotel provides guests with excellent value for money. Rooms are modernly-designed with flat screen TV, air conditioning, WiFi, in-room safe, tea and coffee facilities, and€“ all the modern amenities today'€™s travelers rely on. Triple and quad rooms are available for families and small groups. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, HostelWorld, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Elysee Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elysee Hotel London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Elysee Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.