We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Elysee Hotel

Save Saved
You added Elysee Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Elysee Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   25-26 Craven Terrace | Hyde Park, London W2 3EL , England (Bayswater / Notting Hill / Lancaster Gate )   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #541 of 1,073 hotels in London
Phoenix, Arizona
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Terrific location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Great little place. Near Lancaster Gate, close to buses, tube and a variety of restaurants and pubs, laundry facility next door, staff great - mostly. All the staff were just terrific - I even went back for a second stay during this trip. The LAST morning, I needed a taxi to get to the train station, but the night desk clerk said they only had a contract with hired car to take me to the airport, and HE REFUSED to call me a cab!!! So I had to walk down the street part way to another hotel to catch the attention of a taxi to get my ride!!! This with a cane for walking, and heavy luggage for an international flight home. It was a double insult because everyone else was soooooo wonderful.

Room Tip: Front of hotel is across from a pub, but it quieted down about 10 pm, so that was not a problem. Al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

357 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    63
    140
    84
    33
    37
See reviews for
90
119
34
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Visited Elysee Hotel with my family and had a fantastic stay. We walked to Westfield shopping centre in Shepherd's Bush which only took 30 minutes and passed through Notting Hill.
We also walked to Hyde Park only 5minutes walk from hotel everyday and fed ducks with bread we pinched from the hotel.
Our stay was memorable as the staff were excellent and gave us 5 star treatment. The cost of our stay was very cheap in comparison to other 3 star hotels in the vicinity. English breakfast was excellent and we could eat as much as we wanted. They also catered for my son who is glutton intolerrant at no extra cost.

The only negative was size of the room. You only stay in the room at night so overall staff, cleanliness, Bar and breakfast out-weighs the negative,

I would highly recommend Elysee Hotel to everyone.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tel aviv
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

I'm used to 3 stars hotels or inns, but this hotel really ruined the great time we had in London. The curtains were white so starting from 6AM the room had a lot of light. The sheet had stains on it and we found hairs in the glasses and in the shower - grouse. The bed was hardly enough for one person and the room was the size of the bed... there wasn't even room to put our clothes. EVERY DAY WE SEARCHED FOR A DIFFERENT HOTEL, BUT THEY WERE ALL FULL SO WE HAD TO STAY THERE. THE ONLY GOOD THING IS THAT YOU DON'T HAVE TO GO TO LONDONG DUNGENS - YOU JUST SLEEP IN ONE OF THEM...

Room Tip: choose different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
margaret d, Front Office Manager at Elysee Hotel, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are sorry that your stay was not up to your satisfaction and we are very concerned about the issues raised and have endeavored to investigate. When you checked in you were not happy with the room allocated and the receptionist immediately offered you another room, which you accepted. When you raised the complaint about the white curtain a member of staff placed another sheet over it to minimize natural light into the bedroom. The bed size is standard international double length and width. Having stayed at the hotel for four nights, that you were unhappy with the hotel and bedroom was never raised with the staff at any point. You can be sure that had you raised the matter with front desk they would have gone out of their way to assist, even to the extent of finding you an alternative hotel through our connections and giving you a refund for nights not stayed rather than have an unhappy guest. Your description of the hotel as a dungeon is regrettable and an insult to the thousands of guests who stay at the hotel every year.
Regards Margaret
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

We stayed at this hotel in September of 2013. It has a good location, within walking distance of the Paddington rail station and Underground. From the Underground station, you have access to most attractions within a few stops. The hotel itself has very small rooms and they are looking depressed. Breakfast is nothing special but it fills a hole. If you are going to London from Heathrow for a few days, it is a good place to stay just because it is easy to get to.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

This "Hotel" need to be closed down!!! Its look nice in the net , and some reviews say its good.
I have been in many hotels around the world. London have so much to offer, don't waste it by staying here. the room is so small, tiny. the walls very thin, you can here the elevator door 24 hours. any droop from the next room lavatory, sound like you are their...the sheets was washed, but the stains and marks stay. 100 pounds. no breakfast. We already lost our mood their. you can still go to another hotel. a real one. And they writing at the entrance : "Recommended by tripadvisor" this was my first and last time their( 4 nights...poor us)

Room Tip: don't try this place. this is not a joke.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
margaret d, Front Office Manager at Elysee Hotel, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
We look forward to constructive reviews to improve service and quality. Unfortunately reviews such as this one is of no help to the hotel or the review reading public. At the time of this guest’s stay London was extremely busy and pretty much full. 1,2 and un-starred guest houses, with shared bathrooms, were quoting nightly rates of over £100.Whilst £100 may get guests In most part of the world a generous rated hotel, in central London such a rate buys a budget room at peak times. Luckily a majority of guests at Elysee are regular repeat customers with clear expectations and demands. There are hotels within the catchment, which charge £300 plus per night, which would have suited this reviewing guest.

The inclusion of breakfast within the room rate is an issue under constant review, in fairness to guests who do not want breakfast. The option is up to individual guests. For a charge of £5 breakfast includes cooked eggs, bacon, sausages, juices, cereal, cheese/ham, yogurts breast/ toast, tea/coffee. All this for unlimited consumption by the guest, with staff serving in proper metal cutlery and glass crockery ( no plastic cups etc. as in most branded hotels)

Margaret
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Traveling on NGO business, I try to keep hotel costs low and have stayed in my share of budget accommodations. While my expectations were low, they apparently were not low enough for this disaster of a hotel. Tepid shower temperature, tiny room, and worst of all for a business traveler - very poor internet connection. Warning if you book a room with "free" internet - the staff is not concerned if the internet actually works in your room. As long as there is signal in the hotel, they consider their obligation fulfilled. Another charming perk - if you need to press a shirt, you'll have to do so in the bar for "safety reasons". Never again!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
margaret d, Front Office Manager at Elysee Hotel, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
We always look forward to reviews, even critical ones, to enable the hotel to improve on shortcomings that sometime may have slipped our attention. It is always upsetting to receive a negative review.
However the main issue with this reviewer was the internet which forms a small part of the overall stay, but still persistently demanded a full refund.The guest was very rude and aggressive to night staff. The night of her stay, the hotel had some ninety guests and not a single complained of internet or tepid shower. Although the guest booked a single room, she was given a double one, No 24, which is a sought after room facing Hyde Park. The room, as all rooms in the hotel, has flat screen TV, tea/coffee-making facilities, air conditioning, in room safe, daily change of towels, free Internet,
For a room rate of £89, in the heart of London, we believe that the reviewer would be hard pressed to get better value.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

We stayed for a 2 night weekend break.
The Hotel was brilliantly situated just off the Bayswater Road, near to bus and tube stops but in a very quiet location.
The bedroomw was recently refurbished, very well equipped and spotlessley clean.
The staff were charming, efficient and very helpful.
Breakfast was help yourself and plentyful with a good variety.
Their are plenty of bars and restaurants in the locality and just a 5 minute walk to Hyde Park.
We would definately use this hotel again and recommend.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Elysee Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elysee Hotel

Address: 25-26 Craven Terrace | Hyde Park, London W2 3EL , England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bayswater / Notting Hill / Lancaster Gate 
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #541 of 1,073 hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Elysee Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Elysee Hotel is superbly located in Central London's Hyde Park area, an ideal base from which to explore the capital. Privately-owned and recently renovated to the highest standards, this 55 room hotel provides guests with excellent value for money. Rooms are modernly-designed with flat screen TV, air conditioning, WiFi, in-room safe, tea and coffee facilities, and€“ all the modern amenities today'€™s travelers rely on. Triple and quad rooms are available for families and small groups. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, HostelWorld, BookingOdigeoWL and TripOnline SA so you can book your Elysee Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elysee Hotel London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Elysee Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.