We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thrilled with the honesty of their staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Elysee Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Elysee Hotel to your Saves list
Elysee Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   25-26 Craven Terrace | Hyde Park, London W2 3EL , England (Bayswater / Notting Hill / Lancaster Gate )   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #567 of 1,064 Hotels in London
Amsterdam
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Thrilled with the honesty of their staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

When checking out we left our luggage in the storage for a few hours, then came back to pick it up. In the evening, when we came back to take our cab towards the airport, the housekeeper (who is such a nice, classy lady) was waiting for us and gave us a very expensive watch I had forgotten, under the bed, by accident. I was very touched by this.

On top of this, the location is great, within a walking distance from the main London attractions. Rooms are not spacious I must say, but they are very tidy and clean. Bathroom is spacious though.

Breakfast is affordable and really good, with a lot of variety.

Overall, great stay, and great people.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

394 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    154
    98
    34
    39
See reviews for
96
126
41
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

We found no problem with this hotel except the size of the bedroom - extremely small and the carpet did smell a bit and the bed was a bit on the hard side.The bathroom was very very nice, a bit small, but it was all new. Dove soap in a dispenser was a nice touch. Also Lux shower gel in the shower cubicle. The hotel receptionists were extremely helpful and nice. The breakfast buffet was more than adequate with scrambled eggs, mushrooms, baked beans, sausage and bacon. White/whomemeal bread for putting through the toaster. Slices of cheese and yoghurts. Orange and apple juice although they were not pure fruit juice still they tasted nice enough. Lots of jams and marmalades. The coffee and tea pots made regular appearances for top ups. Turn left out of the hotel entrance, walk 100 yards, cross the road and you are in Hyde Park. Perfect location. We would definitely stay here again - oh and the air conditioning was so very welcome!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal QC, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

We stayed there six nights: June the 4th and 5th, and June 26th to 29th, 2013.
We got a very warming welcome from Dilip, at the main desk.
Very well located: near Paddington Station, Lancaster Gate (Central Line tube),
and Hyde Park. We were impress to be in such a quiet place, in London City.
At both occasions, we got the room earlier than the official booking time,
which was very helpful.
Very well managed hotel: Breakfast ++, cleanliness ++.
The Mitre's Pub is on the other side of the street.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

The hotel is well located and and provides a clean and modern - although the room was small, it provided for every need. If I could find a criticism, it was that the shower was a bit cramped. Good value for money.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013 via mobile

A very tired looking hotel - friendly staff but the rest of it falls apart. It is in need of major work, painting, broken windows, carpets. At least the air conditioning worked but it was too noisy to have on during the night when it was needed most. Only stay here if you can negotiate a competitive deal or are prepared to put up with poor conditions.

Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Largo, Florida
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

My room was small, but extremely clean; the bathroom fixtures were new and well maintained. The staff were all very friendly and helpful, and responded to my requests more quickly than I expected. To my surprise, the room was air conditioned. Breakfast cost five GBP, but I would have paid more elsewhere for a meal that was just as good. Pluses: the hotel was two doors down from a laundrette and across the street from Hyde Park; the local tube station was within the second travel zone, a short walk from the hotel, and connected me immediately to the Central line. As for room size, there were inconveniences, but nothing I couldn't manage; I've come to expect small-ish places in Europe for what I'm willing to pay. All in all, my room was a great deal for the money. I'd consider staying there again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We spent four nights at the Elysee Hotel. The service was very good and the hotel in all is worth the money. The room was small as it usually is in London but enough for two adults and it was kept clean all the time (daily). The bathroom was big and modern, the only downside was poor water pressure in the shower. One morning there was no hot water, otherwise ok and very clean. Internet was complimentary and worked well. The buffet breakfast was good and we loved the smiling waitresses there, the only thing missing were fresh vegetables. Very easy and fast access to the tube (central line) and not far from Paddington station with more lines. We'll definitely be back the next time we're in London.

Room Tip: Stayed in a twin room on the second floor, very good
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Elysee Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elysee Hotel

Address: 25-26 Craven Terrace | Hyde Park, London W2 3EL , England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bayswater / Notting Hill / Lancaster Gate 
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #567 of 1,064 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Elysee Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Elysee Hotel is superbly located in Central London's Hyde Park area, an ideal base from which to explore the capital. Privately-owned and recently renovated to the highest standards, this 55 room hotel provides guests with excellent value for money. Rooms are modernly-designed with flat screen TV, air conditioning, WiFi, in-room safe, tea and coffee facilities, and€“ all the modern amenities today'€™s travelers rely on. Triple and quad rooms are available for families and small groups. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, HostelWorld, HotelTravel.com, EasyToBook, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Elysee Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elysee Hotel London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Elysee Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.