We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good deal” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Elysee Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Elysee Hotel to your Saves list
Elysee Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   25-26 Craven Terrace | Hyde Park, London W2 3EL , England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #538 of 1,052 Hotels in London
Geelong, Australia
1 review
“Good deal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

The hotel is well located and and provides a clean and modern - although the room was small, it provided for every need. If I could find a criticism, it was that the shower was a bit cramped. Good value for money.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

443 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    182
    105
    37
    40
See reviews for
103
142
46
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wales
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013 via mobile

A very tired looking hotel - friendly staff but the rest of it falls apart. It is in need of major work, painting, broken windows, carpets. At least the air conditioning worked but it was too noisy to have on during the night when it was needed most. Only stay here if you can negotiate a competitive deal or are prepared to put up with poor conditions.

Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Largo, Florida
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

My room was small, but extremely clean; the bathroom fixtures were new and well maintained. The staff were all very friendly and helpful, and responded to my requests more quickly than I expected. To my surprise, the room was air conditioned. Breakfast cost five GBP, but I would have paid more elsewhere for a meal that was just as good. Pluses: the hotel was two doors down from a laundrette and across the street from Hyde Park; the local tube station was within the second travel zone, a short walk from the hotel, and connected me immediately to the Central line. As for room size, there were inconveniences, but nothing I couldn't manage; I've come to expect small-ish places in Europe for what I'm willing to pay. All in all, my room was a great deal for the money. I'd consider staying there again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We spent four nights at the Elysee Hotel. The service was very good and the hotel in all is worth the money. The room was small as it usually is in London but enough for two adults and it was kept clean all the time (daily). The bathroom was big and modern, the only downside was poor water pressure in the shower. One morning there was no hot water, otherwise ok and very clean. Internet was complimentary and worked well. The buffet breakfast was good and we loved the smiling waitresses there, the only thing missing were fresh vegetables. Very easy and fast access to the tube (central line) and not far from Paddington station with more lines. We'll definitely be back the next time we're in London.

Room Tip: Stayed in a twin room on the second floor, very good
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

The hotel itself was clean and pretty centrally located. However, the rooms are T-I-N-Y. We had a double room and one of us had to be sitting on the bed if the other was going to move around. And when I say move around, it was basically to the bathroom and back to the bed. There was no room on one side of the side to get out of bed. I had to get out of bed by going to the end of the bed and walking around. And one suitcase and a backpack and the room was cramped to put it nicely. It would be OK for 1 person. Hotel staff locked us out one night with no explanation as to why the doors had been locked. We met another couple in the bar to download pictures and plan the next days times and agenda only to be told the bar was closing and we would need to leave. There was no one in the bar but us and we did not require any services only a place where all 4 of us could sit together. Which we could not do in our rooms.

I will not be staying at this hotel again - I will try a different one for sure. Hotel staff did not suggest any close pubs and when we asked it there were larger rooms we were told yes but we could not get another room without paying more money.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

this is certainly not a 4 star hotel, room and bathroom were small, hardly able to move around without bumping into stuff. The doona cover smelt like it hasn't been washed for a while. Don't know about the other staff, but the 2 indian gentlemen we dealt with at reception were not only rude, but unhelpful and arrogant. Their attitude was they were doing you a favour by taking your money and letting u stay in their hotel. We were denied breakfast, even though a huge sign at the window hotel stated all rooms included breakfast. We couldn't be bothered arguing with the indian gentleman. Plus, a big sign in the hotel said free wifi, but after 2 days, our wifi was disconnected, and we were staying for a week, so went to reception and another indian gentleman said it had expired. I said we're staying here for a week, and the indian man said huffily that free wifi is not a right, but at the discretion of the staff !! You would think they would be nicer to a guest who is staying for a week instead of a couple of nights. Spoke to a few of the other guests, and they reported similar, that we didn't miss anything, the breakfast was paltry. This unpleasant experience almost spoilt our trip to London, if we let it. It's like they don't want repeat business, and don't care. Definitely not staying there again.

Room Tip: you are at their whim and mercy
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
margaret d, Front Office Manager at Elysee Hotel, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
We have thoroughly looked at this review and are puzzled whether the reviewer has mixed up hotels!
I have personally looked at all the exterior signage and there is no mention of breakfast being included in the room rate, plus the website is clear. For a very competitive £5 charge if the guest wishes to have breakfast, it will include eggs, bacon, sausages, fruit juices, choice of cereal, toast, tea, coffee and there is no limit to the amount any guest can consume. It is all served in proper dishes, cutlery and crockery unlike paper cups/ cutlery that many chain hotels use. There are staff around to refill beverages and clear dishes as required. To call all this ‘palty’ defies rationale.

The mention of ‘doona cover’ and numerous times of ‘ Indian gentleman’ is something we are unable to decipher and reason.

Wifi is free and available for unlimited use, without exception.

Regards

margaret
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stewartstown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

We booked this hotel based on the reviews on Trip advisor and Expedia. Out of 3 hotels booked in Europe, this was the worst.

Cons: desk clerk kept offering us two twin beds at check-in, even though we wanted a full size bed. We later found out why, the clerk told us, the next day when we told them we were cutting our stay from 4 days to one, that the single rooms were nicer. We originally were given room 46. Upon going to the fourth floor we started sneezing and coughing, as the smell of "room or carpet freshness" was strong. The full size bed was so worn that the bed actually bowed in the middle.

Shower: no hot water at 8:00am.

Carpeting: stained and heavily worn. I think the "fragrance" was used to cover the smell of the filthy carpet.

Towels: rough as sand paper.

Phone: not working, called front desk and he said he needed to activate it and he would call me back. Tried using it after he called me back, and it still didn't work. I called him back and he said "ignore the busy signal" the phone never worked.

Breakfast: undercooked eggs and bacon. Toast, cereal and juice were okay.

Pros: around the corner from a metro stop.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
margaret d, Front Office Manager at Elysee Hotel, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
We are very sorry that the guests’ expectations were not met and will deal with the various issues mentioned.

- As the receptionist at check-in saw that two females arrived at front desk, he automatically assumed that the requirement was for a twin room. We sincerely apologize for this assumption. As soon as they mentioned that they wanted a double bed, one was offered without any fuss. Complaints about the conduct of front desk staff, who are trained to go out of the way for guests , is very rare. The assertion that a twin room was being forced on the guests is inaccurate.
-
- There were some seventy guests at the hotel that night and not a single one complained of lack of hot water at 8am, including the reviewing guests. One can be sure that if this was brought to the attention of any staff, immediate corrective action would have been taken
- Towels and linen are daily laundered and delivered to the hotel. Towel texture is medium to reflect preference of almost all guests. Each and every towel and linen is checked by the chamber staff and rechecked by the housekeeper to ensure quality.
- As in all hotels, a security deposit or credit card guarantee is requested before the telephone lines are activated. This should not be a cause for complaint.
- A fully cooked English breakfast is provided at the hotel, unusual for a hotel of this rating and very welcomed by guests. These are grilled medium to satisfy vast majority of guests. However if any guest requires these well done, there is absolutely no reason why the breakfast staff will not have the eggs, bacon and sausages further grilled! Clearly the guests did not make their preference known to the serving staff.
- Whilst there have been genuine complaints in the past regarding room size, equipment, and ancillary matters, we are not able to accept the guests’ view on cleanliness. There is a team of staff dedicated to thorough
Cleaning and if there are any slip ups immediate actions will be taken.

Internet reviews are useful and welcome in constantly improving standards. However such inaccurate and malicious reviews are a detriment to the hotel and travelling public at large. These guests paid £89 for a double room in the heart of London, each room has a flat screen TV, tea coffee making facilities, fully air-conditioned, in room safe. This must represent excellent value for money at the given hotel rating in June.( there are hotels in the neighborhood charging £300-400 with guests that have higher expectations)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
0.1 mi away
27 Paddington
27 Paddington
#530 of 1,052 in London
3.5 of 5 stars 201 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Oxford Hotel
The Oxford Hotel
#723 of 1,052 in London
3.0 of 5 stars 216 reviews
0.1 mi away
London Elizabeth Hotel
London Elizabeth Hotel
#439 of 1,052 in London
4.0 of 5 stars 1,039 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Tudor Court Hotel
Tudor Court Hotel
#628 of 1,052 in London
3.5 of 5 stars 500 reviews
0.2 mi away
Caring Hotel
Caring Hotel
#442 of 1,052 in London
4.0 of 5 stars 628 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Columbia
The Columbia
#565 of 1,052 in London
3.5 of 5 stars 560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elysee Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elysee Hotel

Address: 25-26 Craven Terrace | Hyde Park, London W2 3EL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #538 of 1,052 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Elysee Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Elysee Hotel is superbly located in Central London's Hyde Park area, an ideal base from which to explore the capital. Privately-owned and recently renovated to the highest standards, this 55 room hotel provides guests with excellent value for money. Rooms are modernly-designed with flat screen TV, air conditioning, WiFi, in-room safe, tea and coffee facilities, and€“ all the modern amenities today'€™s travelers rely on. Triple and quad rooms are available for families and small groups. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Venere so you can book your Elysee Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elysee Hotel London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Elysee Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.