We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a little disappointed” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Elysee Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Elysee Hotel to your Saves list
Elysee Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   25-26 Craven Terrace | Hyde Park, London W2 3EL , England (Bayswater / Notting Hill / Lancaster Gate )   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #560 of 1,065 Hotels in London
Madrid, Spain
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“a little disappointed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

The hotel itself was clean and pretty centrally located. However, the rooms are T-I-N-Y. We had a double room and one of us had to be sitting on the bed if the other was going to move around. And when I say move around, it was basically to the bathroom and back to the bed. There was no room on one side of the side to get out of bed. I had to get out of bed by going to the end of the bed and walking around. And one suitcase and a backpack and the room was cramped to put it nicely. It would be OK for 1 person. Hotel staff locked us out one night with no explanation as to why the doors had been locked. We met another couple in the bar to download pictures and plan the next days times and agenda only to be told the bar was closing and we would need to leave. There was no one in the bar but us and we did not require any services only a place where all 4 of us could sit together. Which we could not do in our rooms.

I will not be staying at this hotel again - I will try a different one for sure. Hotel staff did not suggest any close pubs and when we asked it there were larger rooms we were told yes but we could not get another room without paying more money.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

389 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    150
    97
    34
    39
See reviews for
95
126
40
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

this is certainly not a 4 star hotel, room and bathroom were small, hardly able to move around without bumping into stuff. The doona cover smelt like it hasn't been washed for a while. Don't know about the other staff, but the 2 indian gentlemen we dealt with at reception were not only rude, but unhelpful and arrogant. Their attitude was they were doing you a favour by taking your money and letting u stay in their hotel. We were denied breakfast, even though a huge sign at the window hotel stated all rooms included breakfast. We couldn't be bothered arguing with the indian gentleman. Plus, a big sign in the hotel said free wifi, but after 2 days, our wifi was disconnected, and we were staying for a week, so went to reception and another indian gentleman said it had expired. I said we're staying here for a week, and the indian man said huffily that free wifi is not a right, but at the discretion of the staff !! You would think they would be nicer to a guest who is staying for a week instead of a couple of nights. Spoke to a few of the other guests, and they reported similar, that we didn't miss anything, the breakfast was paltry. This unpleasant experience almost spoilt our trip to London, if we let it. It's like they don't want repeat business, and don't care. Definitely not staying there again.

Room Tip: you are at their whim and mercy
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
margaret d, Front Office Manager at Elysee Hotel, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
We have thoroughly looked at this review and are puzzled whether the reviewer has mixed up hotels!
I have personally looked at all the exterior signage and there is no mention of breakfast being included in the room rate, plus the website is clear. For a very competitive £5 charge if the guest wishes to have breakfast, it will include eggs, bacon, sausages, fruit juices, choice of cereal, toast, tea, coffee and there is no limit to the amount any guest can consume. It is all served in proper dishes, cutlery and crockery unlike paper cups/ cutlery that many chain hotels use. There are staff around to refill beverages and clear dishes as required. To call all this ‘palty’ defies rationale.

The mention of ‘doona cover’ and numerous times of ‘ Indian gentleman’ is something we are unable to decipher and reason.

Wifi is free and available for unlimited use, without exception.

Regards

margaret
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stewartstown, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

We booked this hotel based on the reviews on Trip advisor and Expedia. Out of 3 hotels booked in Europe, this was the worst.

Cons: desk clerk kept offering us two twin beds at check-in, even though we wanted a full size bed. We later found out why, the clerk told us, the next day when we told them we were cutting our stay from 4 days to one, that the single rooms were nicer. We originally were given room 46. Upon going to the fourth floor we started sneezing and coughing, as the smell of "room or carpet freshness" was strong. The full size bed was so worn that the bed actually bowed in the middle.

Shower: no hot water at 8:00am.

Carpeting: stained and heavily worn. I think the "fragrance" was used to cover the smell of the filthy carpet.

Towels: rough as sand paper.

Phone: not working, called front desk and he said he needed to activate it and he would call me back. Tried using it after he called me back, and it still didn't work. I called him back and he said "ignore the busy signal" the phone never worked.

Breakfast: undercooked eggs and bacon. Toast, cereal and juice were okay.

Pros: around the corner from a metro stop.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
margaret d, Front Office Manager at Elysee Hotel, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
We are very sorry that the guests’ expectations were not met and will deal with the various issues mentioned.

- As the receptionist at check-in saw that two females arrived at front desk, he automatically assumed that the requirement was for a twin room. We sincerely apologize for this assumption. As soon as they mentioned that they wanted a double bed, one was offered without any fuss. Complaints about the conduct of front desk staff, who are trained to go out of the way for guests , is very rare. The assertion that a twin room was being forced on the guests is inaccurate.
-
- There were some seventy guests at the hotel that night and not a single one complained of lack of hot water at 8am, including the reviewing guests. One can be sure that if this was brought to the attention of any staff, immediate corrective action would have been taken
- Towels and linen are daily laundered and delivered to the hotel. Towel texture is medium to reflect preference of almost all guests. Each and every towel and linen is checked by the chamber staff and rechecked by the housekeeper to ensure quality.
- As in all hotels, a security deposit or credit card guarantee is requested before the telephone lines are activated. This should not be a cause for complaint.
- A fully cooked English breakfast is provided at the hotel, unusual for a hotel of this rating and very welcomed by guests. These are grilled medium to satisfy vast majority of guests. However if any guest requires these well done, there is absolutely no reason why the breakfast staff will not have the eggs, bacon and sausages further grilled! Clearly the guests did not make their preference known to the serving staff.
- Whilst there have been genuine complaints in the past regarding room size, equipment, and ancillary matters, we are not able to accept the guests’ view on cleanliness. There is a team of staff dedicated to thorough
Cleaning and if there are any slip ups immediate actions will be taken.

Internet reviews are useful and welcome in constantly improving standards. However such inaccurate and malicious reviews are a detriment to the hotel and travelling public at large. These guests paid £89 for a double room in the heart of London, each room has a flat screen TV, tea coffee making facilities, fully air-conditioned, in room safe. This must represent excellent value for money at the given hotel rating in June.( there are hotels in the neighborhood charging £300-400 with guests that have higher expectations)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yarmouth, Maine
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

It is not like me to take the time to write reviews on anything. This is a first.
My two sons and mother stayed at the Elysee hotel for 5 nights this April. A first time abroad for them. I was nervous about the room given the number of people. Weary travelers, when we arrived, the concierge made it a priority to get us into our room as soon as possible.
The room was perfect for us and was a terrific introduction to begin our adventure. The room was a bit small, however,the bathroom was updated and clean! Bonus!
Our concierge, Dillipe, made sure we knew how to get to all of our sights and recommended several great places to dine-always with a smile. I have never encountered a better concierge and I've dealt with many.
The location was convenient to train stations and the underground. As I was traveling with my kids and my mother, it was a bonus there was a pub across the street after a full day of sight-seeing.
If you are looking for affordable lodging, clean, good breakfast and an accommodating staff, you've found it. I hope to return to London some day and there's no question this will be the place I stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portlaoise, Ireland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

Spent 2 nights here while in london on business. Hotel is a great location at a resonable. I had a compact single and when they say compact they are not kidding. However the room was clean and tidy and the staff were nice.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

We stayed at the Elysee Hotel again and were very happy with our stay.
WIFI is now free which is a very good saving plus the speed was very fast.
English breakfast served was excellent. The bacon was grilled not fat fried.
We will definitely be staying at the Elysee Hotel for our future stays.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kuala lumpur
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

my name is Amirudeen Mohd Shariff,from Malaysia, on the 19 march morning ,i did make a booking to Agoda.com, and i have choosen Elsee Hotel,25,26 craven terrace,Hyde park,London for 1 night check in 19 march 2013 and check out on 20/march 2013, when i arrived at the hotel at 1.00PM,i was told that agoda.com have confirm my booking after they have told agoda.com that the hotel was fully occupied,Mr Dilip the hotel receptionist called agoda.com and inform them about my problem and was told that agoda.com will find for me an alternative Hotel and bear all cost for tranpotation and agoda did ask for my apologize and i did accepted..at the sama time Mr Dilip make few call to the others hotel around Hyde Park.He was soo nice ,he ask us to take a rest at their bar whilse he try his best to hepl us, about 1 hour later he called me and tell me that there's agood news for me,there are 1 booking cencellation and he will put me to the room, i am very much appreciate for what he have did for us, the hotel are very confortable and the breakfast is very good, when we check out the next day, Mr Dilip make an arrangement for taxi to the airport at very resionable price.,,, THANK YOU MR DILIP, HOPE I WILL SEE YOU ON MY NEXT TRIP TO LONDON,,,,regards: Mr Amirudeen H/P +60192807800.E-mail: amishariff@msn.com

Room Tip: Room are nice and good, the staff are helpfull, location are easy excess to shopping, eatry & si...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Elysee Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elysee Hotel

Address: 25-26 Craven Terrace | Hyde Park, London W2 3EL , England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bayswater / Notting Hill / Lancaster Gate 
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #560 of 1,065 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Elysee Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Elysee Hotel is superbly located in Central London's Hyde Park area, an ideal base from which to explore the capital. Privately-owned and recently renovated to the highest standards, this 55 room hotel provides guests with excellent value for money. Rooms are modernly-designed with flat screen TV, air conditioning, WiFi, in-room safe, tea and coffee facilities, and€“ all the modern amenities today'€™s travelers rely on. Triple and quad rooms are available for families and small groups. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, HostelWorld, Agoda, EasyToBook, Priceline, Travelocity, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Elysee Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elysee Hotel London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Elysee Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.