We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Business Trip” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Elysee Hotel

Save Saved
You added Elysee Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Elysee Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   25-26 Craven Terrace | Hyde Park, London W2 3EL , England (Bayswater / Notting Hill / Lancaster Gate )   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #541 of 1,054 Hotels in London
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Business Trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

This is the first time I have stayed at the Elysee hotel and was very pleasantly surprised. The room was extremely clean and bed was very comfortable. The tea making facility was a bonus.
The breakfast was a superior continental more like English breakfast without sausages.for only £5 per head. The coffee was excellent. They have a bar which is ideal to relax although you had to ask the reception for service. The room we stayed in was not too large but comfortable.

The location is excellent Hyde Park is 2 minutes walk and there are lots of shops and restaurants on the street.

I would definitely recommend this hotel and will always stay there whenever in London.
By the way the staff were superb.

Room Tip: We stayed on the 2nd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

364 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    141
    89
    33
    37
See reviews for
90
123
35
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

We stayed at the hotel as part of a London theater break.
I am puzzled at some recent reviews of the hotel.
The rooms were clean and had all the facilities required, tea/coffee, in room safe, hairdryer. Clean towels were provided daily
Staff were friendly and helpful and there were no issues at all.
Breakfast whilst advertised as continental was a lot more (eg scrambled eggs, beans). The location cannot be faulted .

Overall a very pleasant stay and will definitely be back

Room Tip: All the rooms are nice, specially the higher floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012 via mobile

I really love staying at Elysee Hotel. I visit London at least once a month and always stay at Elysee hotel. The staff are very friendly and helpful. The location means I'm able to mix business and pleasure. And the price is very reasonable for london. I would thoroughly recommend it

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south england
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

This hjotel is C**p. Its dirty smellie and old and tatty. The reception is run down and dirty and the seats are leather which is flaking off. The carpet is grotty NOTHING like the photos on "booking.com"
The rooms we where given where samll and smelly. The carpets in both rooms were very dirty but not worn! the bed side tables were dusty and had bits of "wood" chipped off. The kettle in both rooms didnt work unless you pressed down on then with your hand. we had two grotty looking tea bags and two of those tiny milk cartons!! as long as you didnt want more than one cup of tea you were fine!
The bathroom was grotty and the towels are the sort you use to mop up dogs after walks or vomit after children!!!!!
One of the bathrooms you needed to lift the toilet seat to be able to close the bathroom door! Both bathrooms showers had half size doors so it you are larger than a female size 18 you probably couldnt get in!!! but when you did the water was cold
Breakfast was very basic and the toasting bread was stale, again photos on booking .com are the rooms but pictures and paint are no longer there! its grotty cream and no pictures

Sorry to moan but DONT GO THERE TO MUCH MONEY BEST SPENT SOMEWHERE ELSE

Room Tip: Go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
margaret d, Front Office Manager at Elysee Hotel, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
The last few reviews appear to have been written in collusion and are more of a vendetta/ grudge than constructive reviews.
In the past ten days we have dealt with hundreds of room nights with satisfied guests in what has been an unusually busy period.

In response to specific issues raised:

- ‘Breakfast was basic’: The hotel advertises as providing continental breakfast and therefore eggs and beans as mentioned go well beyond a normal continental breakfast. Bread is freshly delivered daily and guest’s toaster is self-service according to individual preference.
- These are standard size bathrooms. There are larger bathrooms in some rooms for ‘ females size 18’, where required.
- Two tea bags are generally considered adequate; I have been in luxurious hotels where two bags are provided. However the front desk has ample supplies of fresh bags and milk cartons for as many as required, there is no rationing! The tea brand is Tetley, individually wrapped, and milk carton are for single cup.
- Clean laundered towels are provided to guests daily.
- The reception décor is mid range and neutral with comfortable leather seats and Internet terminals.
- There is a thorough cleaning regime and we would refute the reviewer’s complaint on cleanliness. The star rating authority regularly inspects the hotel and cleanliness has never been raised as an issue.

For the current rate of £85 per night for a double room the guests can enjoy:

- Ensuite rooms with flat screen TV, hairdryer, tea/coffee facilities, in room safe, air conditioner of required.
- Continental breakfast with cooked eggs, beans, fruit salad.
- Internet/ wifi access for at £17 for seven days.
- Great location
- 24 hour reception and individual room key card
- Secure luggage room for storage prior to and after check-in.
- Facility for staff to offer information on tours, cabs, attractions.

This value for money we believe would be hard to beat In central London.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012 via mobile

I have not written such a negative review before but feel compelled by awful room, basic breakfast and unhelpful staff to give a negative review this time. The family room although clean was drab and very basic which maybe forgiven if it was cheap but it was not. The shower was cold and came out in a trickle

I had to wait to get a seat at breakfast to get a badly served, bland selection in an unatractive cramped space, egg and beans do not constitute a cooked breakfast.

The whole hotel requires refurbishment, the pictures of the hotel shown do not reflect reality, furniture is worn and general decor is in need of upgrade.

This hotel is more like a hostel than a 4star hotel, The difference being the staff are usually more helpful in a hostel.

I think this hotel is content to be second rate due to a good location and on a positive note it was clean.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

I hope that i did not know this Hotel from the beginning,

i was not deserved to be treated like the way they treated us,

i was devastated after we left, got a big aguement between me and our friends, never had that bad experience in our entitle experience travelling lives,

bad bad bad, i meant not too funny!! dont go there to try like myself.

M

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
margaret d, Front Office Manager at Elysee Hotel, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
We have a clear policy at Elysee to accommodate every need of the guest and go the extra mile as far as possible. Any comments are taken very seriously as we believe “Guests are always right.”

This lady reviewer had booked through Expedia, paying directly to them, for seven nights. On check-in she informed reception that she wanted to stay only for three nights. after being informed that she had to take this up with the booking agency rather than the hotel, she went hysteric and rude. Such conduct is unacceptable at any establishment.

However the guest did stay at the hotel for three days and there were no complaints about the room, breakfast, location etc.

We are happy to note that at Elysee almost all our guests are happy courteous and great clienteles and our aim is to treat them all as kings! And we take pleasure in that approach.

Margaret

Front Desk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reykjavik, Iceland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

The location of this hotel is great and many restaurants and other services in the neighborhood, but the window in the room was up to the ceiling, we could not open it and we could not adjust the air condition.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a window, wich you can open.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Elysee Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elysee Hotel

Address: 25-26 Craven Terrace | Hyde Park, London W2 3EL , England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bayswater / Notting Hill / Lancaster Gate 
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #541 of 1,054 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Elysee Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Elysee Hotel is superbly located in Central London's Hyde Park area, an ideal base from which to explore the capital. Privately-owned and recently renovated to the highest standards, this 55 room hotel provides guests with excellent value for money. Rooms are modernly-designed with flat screen TV, air conditioning, WiFi, in-room safe, tea and coffee facilities, and€“ all the modern amenities today'€™s travelers rely on. Triple and quad rooms are available for families and small groups. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, Agoda, HostelWorld, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Elysee Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elysee Hotel London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Elysee Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.