We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great bargain for the money.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Elysee Hotel

Save Saved
You added Elysee Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Elysee Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   25-26 Craven Terrace | Hyde Park, London W2 3EL , England (Bayswater / Notting Hill / Lancaster Gate )   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #539 of 1,073 hotels in London
Maryland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great bargain for the money.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

The Elysee Hotel is located on Carver Terrace, Paddington, Bayswater. It is within walking distance of Hyde Park. The area is quiet but has all you need within a block or two i e pubs, cafes, grocery. The hotel has a pub attached and also serves breakfast for a fee. We didn't take advantage of this. The rooms are very small but not cramped. The bathroom was good with a nice shower and extra storage room. It had a flat screen TV with lot's of channels. There is an open wardrobe for hanging cloths, a bedside table with shelves an well as a deck and chair with shelves. If you aren't going to be in your room much it is ideal for the price. It was very clean and the beds were very comfortable. The staff was very attentive and helpful. We would recommend it and would stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

357 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    63
    140
    84
    33
    37
See reviews for
90
119
34
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

A good mid-range hotel in an area of hotels. Clean and friendly. Breakfast was buffet basic, but sufficient and I got milk free scrambled eggs for the asking. The room we were given at first was very small, and we are very tall, so we inquired/complained and the manager changed our room to something bigger after the first night. A good location - a very short walk to the Tube, good restaurants or Hyde Park. Charging for WIFI seems a London hotel given, but again the management was open to reasonable negotiation. I would recommend this hotel to anyone who wants a basic clean and friendly hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

The hotel was good. The room was very good, beds very very confortable. Bathroom also very good. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was average, not very choice in food. Location was good, right in front of Hyde Park, perfect for a show that we attended. I recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

I'm rating this as poor, from a global London perspective. However, in fairness, it's average for the neighourhood. Staff very friendly and try to be helpful. No problems there. But like many hotels in this area, it's in an old borderline dilapidated building, with the rooms painfully small and a bit shabby.

And my pet peeve is, in this day and age, having to pay extra for internet. Which you have to do here. And, not only that, you have to pay extra for EACH device (so, if you want to use a laptop and an iphone, it's about an extra 20 pounds a day).

If you need to stay in this area, you could do worse. But I personally wouldn't stay there again.

Room Tip: Stay in a room overlooking the pub across the street, and you can pick up their wifi signal. But at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
margaret d, Front Office Manager at Elysee Hotel, responded to this review, September 21, 2012
Guest reviews and comment cards are extremely important for us at Elysee in improving quality for future customers. However for this particular review we are uncertain on what improvements can be made.

The guests paid £99 for a double room, equivalent to 110 euros or 160 can $. For this they got an ensuite room with tea coffee facilities, in room safe,air-conditioning, flat screen TV, daily change of towels, hotel In a great location facing Hyde Park. Plus the guest’s have confirmed of helpful and friendly staff. There are a number of hotels in the area which charge £200-300 per night which are in a different niche from the Elysee and all coexist very well in the catchment, giving visitors an excellent choice of accommodation.

Regarding charges for internet/Wi-Fi, this is an issue constantly under review, as in most London hotels, majority of which charge for internet. Currently at Elysee we take the view that those who do not require or use Internet benefit from a lower room rate whereas guests who need this facility pay the extra. To clarify it is £9.50 per 24 hours ( £17.50 for seven days) and not £20 a day stated by the reviewer. These systems do not work for multiple devices but the hotel staff are more than happy to transfer to other given devices at no extra charge.

Regards
Margaret
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Changsha
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

Small rooms with budget bedding towels and sundries. The 4 star it claims would be better placed in China, (they always over rate) the coffee offered in the room resembled slug powder, and cheap tea was the alternative. Towels could of been used for exfoliation, stiff and small! We were lucky as we had a double bed and a single, so the room was a little bigger although we had to use the single for luggage. Internet on web offered at £5 per day, at hotel £10 per day for each device! On returning to the hotel in the evening we had to break into the conversation between the desk staff and their friends, as we were invisible standing like two lemons waiting for our key! London offers visitors a great time, unfortunately the hotels don't.

Room Tip: Always read the reviews!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
margaret d, Front Office Manager at Elysee Hotel, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
The star rating is given by ‘Visit Britain’ a well-recognized British (not Chinese!) rating organization, which thoroughly checks each establishment with anonymous stays at all rated hotels

The coffee brand used is Nescafe and Tea brand Typhoo; both well recognized and widely consumed brands globally. Of the thousands of guests welcomed at the hotel this is a first complaint of beverages.

These guests paid £99 per night for a double room and were given a triple. The internet charges are £9.50 per 24 hours or £17.50 for seven day sand the staff can happily move this from one devise to another at no extra cost.

Thank you for bringing to our attention the issue of staff not being attentive. Friends are not allowed during work hours and we will investigate this and take corrective measures.

Whilst honest reviews are welcome and extremely helpful to the travelling public and review readers, such biased and narrow minded reviews are a detriment to all concerned.

For a competitive and value for money room rate, the guests get accommodation in a wonderful village like location (pub, café, newsagent, laundry, restaurants, park all within 200 meters of the hotel) . All rooms have Wi-Fi connection, flat screen TV, ac, in room tea coffee facilities, hairdryer, 24 hour reception.

We are happy to note that a majority of our guests at the hotel are regular/ repeat customers who have a realistic perception of what to expect in a good Central London budget hotel.


Regards

Margaret.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiev, Ukraine
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

The hotel charged my credit card twice - the first attempt was successful, although my bank did not allow second transaction.
Shortly after that the hotel informed me that my credit card details were incorrect and cancelled reservation.
Now I have to wait for 30 days to get my money back, and have no hotel reservation!
Thank you hotel Elysee for great journey to London!

Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
margaret d, Front Office Manager at Elysee Hotel, responded to this review, September 15, 2012
Dear Madam

Every effort is made by the hotel to authorise credit cards, however like almost all hotels in the world, a booking cannot be guaranteed where the card fails to authorise which was the case here.
From our records ample time was given by the agency but no response came and at a time when
the hotel was busy reservation could not be held. No money was taken from this individual's credit card.Our apologies for the inconvenience .
Regards

Margaret
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

Fine older hotel with a modern elevator near Hyde Park and convenient to the Underground, buses and rail. Comfortable airconditionned room. Lovely dining room with staff who provide good service and a variety of food for breakfast. The cheerful day manager, Dilip, could not have been more helpfull in ensuring a comfortable stay, giving advice on where to go, booking taxis and the transfer bus for us. We hope to come back again,

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Elysee Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elysee Hotel

Address: 25-26 Craven Terrace | Hyde Park, London W2 3EL , England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bayswater / Notting Hill / Lancaster Gate 
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #539 of 1,073 hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Elysee Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Elysee Hotel is superbly located in Central London's Hyde Park area, an ideal base from which to explore the capital. Privately-owned and recently renovated to the highest standards, this 55 room hotel provides guests with excellent value for money. Rooms are modernly-designed with flat screen TV, air conditioning, WiFi, in-room safe, tea and coffee facilities, and€“ all the modern amenities today'€™s travelers rely on. Triple and quad rooms are available for families and small groups. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, HostelWorld, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA and Venere so you can book your Elysee Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elysee Hotel London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Elysee Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.