We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced poor quality” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Elysee Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Elysee Hotel to your Saves list
Elysee Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   25-26 Craven Terrace | Hyde Park, London W2 3EL , England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #542 of 1,055 Hotels in London
Changsha
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Overpriced poor quality”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

Small rooms with budget bedding towels and sundries. The 4 star it claims would be better placed in China, (they always over rate) the coffee offered in the room resembled slug powder, and cheap tea was the alternative. Towels could of been used for exfoliation, stiff and small! We were lucky as we had a double bed and a single, so the room was a little bigger although we had to use the single for luggage. Internet on web offered at £5 per day, at hotel £10 per day for each device! On returning to the hotel in the evening we had to break into the conversation between the desk staff and their friends, as we were invisible standing like two lemons waiting for our key! London offers visitors a great time, unfortunately the hotels don't.

Room Tip: Always read the reviews!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
margaret d, Front Office Manager at Elysee Hotel, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
The star rating is given by ‘Visit Britain’ a well-recognized British (not Chinese!) rating organization, which thoroughly checks each establishment with anonymous stays at all rated hotels

The coffee brand used is Nescafe and Tea brand Typhoo; both well recognized and widely consumed brands globally. Of the thousands of guests welcomed at the hotel this is a first complaint of beverages.

These guests paid £99 per night for a double room and were given a triple. The internet charges are £9.50 per 24 hours or £17.50 for seven day sand the staff can happily move this from one devise to another at no extra cost.

Thank you for bringing to our attention the issue of staff not being attentive. Friends are not allowed during work hours and we will investigate this and take corrective measures.

Whilst honest reviews are welcome and extremely helpful to the travelling public and review readers, such biased and narrow minded reviews are a detriment to all concerned.

For a competitive and value for money room rate, the guests get accommodation in a wonderful village like location (pub, café, newsagent, laundry, restaurants, park all within 200 meters of the hotel) . All rooms have Wi-Fi connection, flat screen TV, ac, in room tea coffee facilities, hairdryer, 24 hour reception.

We are happy to note that a majority of our guests at the hotel are regular/ repeat customers who have a realistic perception of what to expect in a good Central London budget hotel.


Regards

Margaret.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

448 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    184
    107
    38
    40
See reviews for
105
143
46
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kiev, Ukraine
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

The hotel charged my credit card twice - the first attempt was successful, although my bank did not allow second transaction.
Shortly after that the hotel informed me that my credit card details were incorrect and cancelled reservation.
Now I have to wait for 30 days to get my money back, and have no hotel reservation!
Thank you hotel Elysee for great journey to London!

Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
margaret d, Front Office Manager at Elysee Hotel, responded to this review, September 15, 2012
Dear Madam

Every effort is made by the hotel to authorise credit cards, however like almost all hotels in the world, a booking cannot be guaranteed where the card fails to authorise which was the case here.
From our records ample time was given by the agency but no response came and at a time when
the hotel was busy reservation could not be held. No money was taken from this individual's credit card.Our apologies for the inconvenience .
Regards

Margaret
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
100 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

Fine older hotel with a modern elevator near Hyde Park and convenient to the Underground, buses and rail. Comfortable airconditionned room. Lovely dining room with staff who provide good service and a variety of food for breakfast. The cheerful day manager, Dilip, could not have been more helpfull in ensuring a comfortable stay, giving advice on where to go, booking taxis and the transfer bus for us. We hope to come back again,

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Selby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012 via mobile

I like this London hotel and I have stayed 3 times during the rugby league wembley weekend. It's basic, clean & perfectly located.

There are plenty of restaraunts and good pubs with great transport links. Great to beso close to Hyde Park for some peace and quiet if the city gets too much

I will be there again next year

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

Found this hotel by accident after booking into nearby Park Grand only for them to try to shunt us off to other side of London an hour away. Daughter had noticed vacancies in this one as we passed (fortuitously as it turned out). An hour and a half of trying to get the Park Grand to let us cancel room (which they couldn't give us) meant I was not in the best frame of mind when I arrived at Elysee. However the friendly reception staff there restored my faith in humanity, discounted the rooms and didn't mind when we twice failed to make the keys work (putting it in upside down it turned out :) - that's how frazzled I was after arguing with Park Grand for hours).

Room was small but clean, comfortable and quiet as well as being even closer to tube station and having AC. An early start next morning meant we didn't get to sample breakfast but the breakfast room looked perfectly nice and the vending machine in the reception was useful.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan, null, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

We stay 5 nights at this small located. The services was very good. The room are small but were very clean. The location was the best. Nearby train and bus station. I found it expensive, but everything in London is expensive. We are travellers that just look for a place to take a shower and to sleep. I will stay again at Elysee Hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chantilly
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012 via mobile

The Élysée never disappoints. This is my 4th visit in as many years, this time with my family. Fantastic location, close to Hyde Park and the West End, the Tube is a very short walk away, and plenty of great restaurants nearby. The rooms are clean, well-appointed, and there's A/C, which is a plus when London remembers it's summer. The staff are always friendly and helpful. And there's a great breakfast to start you off in the morning. It's hard to beat all that for the price!

London is one of our favorite cities and the Élysée is now a regular and welcome feature of our stays.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
0.1 mi away
27 Paddington
27 Paddington
#529 of 1,055 in London
3.5 of 5 stars 203 reviews
0.1 mi away
London Elizabeth Hotel
London Elizabeth Hotel
#438 of 1,055 in London
4.0 of 5 stars 1,060 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Oxford Hotel
The Oxford Hotel
#740 of 1,055 in London
3.0 of 5 stars 220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Tudor Court Hotel
Tudor Court Hotel
#632 of 1,055 in London
3.5 of 5 stars 500 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Columbia
The Columbia
#566 of 1,055 in London
3.5 of 5 stars 581 reviews
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Hyde Park
Comfort Inn Hyde Park
#560 of 1,055 in London
3.5 of 5 stars 377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elysee Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elysee Hotel

Address: 25-26 Craven Terrace | Hyde Park, London W2 3EL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #542 of 1,055 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Elysee Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Elysee Hotel is superbly located in Central London's Hyde Park area, an ideal base from which to explore the capital. Privately-owned and recently renovated to the highest standards, this 55 room hotel provides guests with excellent value for money. Rooms are modernly-designed with flat screen TV, air conditioning, WiFi, in-room safe, tea and coffee facilities, and€“ all the modern amenities today'€™s travelers rely on. Triple and quad rooms are available for families and small groups. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Elysee Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elysee Hotel London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Elysee Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.