We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“hot tip” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Elysee Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Elysee Hotel to your Saves list
Elysee Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   25-26 Craven Terrace | Hyde Park, London W2 3EL , England (Bayswater / Notting Hill / Lancaster Gate )   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #563 of 1,065 Hotels in London
Limassol, Cyprus
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“hot tip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

I recently stayed at the Elysee Htl. for 5 nights and was pleasantly surprised by the excellent location and the friendly service. Underground and Hyde Park can be easily reached in 3-5min and even Oxford Street is within walking distance. Despite its great location, it is in a quiet area with little traffic and noise so you can enjoy a good night's sleep in very comfortable beds.
The rooms are modern and clean and so is the bathroom.
The stuff is helpful and friendly and I am glad, I finally found a place in central London at reasonable rates which I, for sure, will use again!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

389 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    150
    97
    34
    39
See reviews for
95
126
40
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Barcelona, Spain
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

I booked this hotel because I had to stay in London for work the week before the Olympics and I knew other hotels would be terribly expensive...well, bad idea.

This is the type of hotel you book as a teenager when you are going on a trip with your friends.
The room apart from being tiny did not inspire lots of cleanliness, I was actually not comfortable touching anything in it. The bathroom was better though (thank God!). it felt like it was recently restructured and was clean but of course, it was the tiniest bathroom I've ever seen...

As a positive note, the staff was friendly and the location is good as it is near Hyde Park and a 3 minute walk from the Lancaster Gate subway station (Central Line).

Won't stay here again.

Room Tip: Don't choose a lower level facing the road, the windows do not isolate the noise from the street...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colleyville, Texas, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

This is a great place to stay if you want to be close to everything. The rooms are very clean. The beds are comfortable and the towels are clean and fresh every day. What more can you say about a hotel you are not in very much! The hotel is close to tube, about a 3-5 minute walk. There are several restaurants on the street and a pub directly across. There is a small bar and restaurant attached to the hotel that served breakfast, but we did not use it so I can't speak for how the food is.

The best thing about this hotel is the front desk clerk Dilip Kumar. Never have I received such great service. At first I thought he just liked us and was being nice. No! When waiting in the lobby, I saw him give the same service to other patrons too. He arranged day trips, helped us with the tube, trains and bus. This is a true example of Customer Service. He was there to help us have a great holiday!!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

While the staff seemed friendly and the location is perfect for Hyde Park access, everything else about the hotel was sub-standard. I've stayed in few London hotels, so I know the hotel rooms can be small but this was this was the worst. The bed coverings were dingy, the room smelled like bad body odor, the carpet condition was horrid, walls scuffed with black marks, the desk chair was so filthy my husband wouldn't sit on it (and he never fusses over things like this) and street noise was loud until about 1:00 am and started again at 6:00 am and very little water flow from the shower head, even at full blast. This hotel is more like a motel, not good folks.
The hotel needs a serious overhaul. Fresh paint, new carpet and new bed coverings would be a great start. Next time, I'll opt to stay further outside the city centre and take the underground in for any other events or pay more for a better hotel.

Room Tip: Do not stay in room 34.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

The hotel is comfirtable . Services is very good .the adviser DILIP is helpful person and he nice person with customers. he is a smile person and you feel comfortable with him. The breakfast service is very good. The location of hotel near Hyde Park and shopping locations.Room service is on time.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annandale, Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

We stayed five nights at the Elysee Hotel in a quad (two adults, two kids), and my mother-in-law had a double room. The rooms are definitely small. We found we had to unpack a few days of clothes into the wardrobe and bedside tables and stack the suitcases where we could. The beds were comfortable, though, and the staff very helpful with directions and answering questions. Once we got used to the size of the rooms, we were very comfortable. The hotel does have a fair number of staircases -- one to reach the lift and one in the upper floor to reach the rooms -- so you need to be able to handle stairs. The Lancaster Gate tube station is minutes away, as is Kensington Park and Kensington Palace. The Mitre (pub across the street) was a great place for meals, and they also have an upstairs steakhouse which we tried one night with great success. We had breakfast every day at the Craven Cafe, which was delicious. The Italian restaurant, Taormino, was also wonderful. My mother-in-law is unable to eat any gluten, and all the places went out of their way to help us find things she could eat. All in all, a lovely stay at a clean, well-priced, well-located hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, Texas
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

I have never received such service from a hotel and I have stayed in many places!! One of the employees in particular made mine and my travel companion's stay more than I could have hoped. Dilip Kumar went out of his way to make us feel welcome and comfortable. He arranged day trips for us, called us cabs, arranged transport to the airport and provided all of this with a wonderful attitude of genuine concern for our safety and enjoyment! He took time to speak with us and make recommendation in a patient and unhurried way and he truly became a friend in the 7 nights we stayed in the hotel!
The Elysee hotel is a great location in London. It is just north of Hyde Park and within a 3 minute walk of a tube station. Location and service were perfect! It is located on a quiet one way street with a pub and great little cafe (Sheila's) across the street. There are also several restaurants and local stores with postcards, snacks, etc. along the street. It was quiet, clean and completely comfortable. When I am back in London, this is the only place I will think of staying.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Elysee Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elysee Hotel

Address: 25-26 Craven Terrace | Hyde Park, London W2 3EL , England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bayswater / Notting Hill / Lancaster Gate 
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #563 of 1,065 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Elysee Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Elysee Hotel is superbly located in Central London's Hyde Park area, an ideal base from which to explore the capital. Privately-owned and recently renovated to the highest standards, this 55 room hotel provides guests with excellent value for money. Rooms are modernly-designed with flat screen TV, air conditioning, WiFi, in-room safe, tea and coffee facilities, and€“ all the modern amenities today'€™s travelers rely on. Triple and quad rooms are available for families and small groups. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld, EasyToBook, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Elysee Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elysee Hotel London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Elysee Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.