We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Service!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Elysee Hotel

Save Saved
You added Elysee Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Elysee Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   25-26 Craven Terrace | Hyde Park, London W2 3EL , England (Bayswater / Notting Hill / Lancaster Gate )   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #532 of 1,073 hotels in London
Bedford, Texas
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Awesome Service!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

I have never received such service from a hotel and I have stayed in many places!! One of the employees in particular made mine and my travel companion's stay more than I could have hoped. Dilip Kumar went out of his way to make us feel welcome and comfortable. He arranged day trips for us, called us cabs, arranged transport to the airport and provided all of this with a wonderful attitude of genuine concern for our safety and enjoyment! He took time to speak with us and make recommendation in a patient and unhurried way and he truly became a friend in the 7 nights we stayed in the hotel!
The Elysee hotel is a great location in London. It is just north of Hyde Park and within a 3 minute walk of a tube station. Location and service were perfect! It is located on a quiet one way street with a pub and great little cafe (Sheila's) across the street. There are also several restaurants and local stores with postcards, snacks, etc. along the street. It was quiet, clean and completely comfortable. When I am back in London, this is the only place I will think of staying.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

350 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    62
    138
    80
    33
    37
See reviews for
88
115
34
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Amarillo, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Dilop, at the front desk is the best employee anyone could hope for. He arranged several day trips for us and all were very successful and fun and went EXACTLY as was promised. Our trip was enhanced tremendously because of the care Dilop displayed for us. KEEP HIM and make sure he is rewarded for his extra kindness and dilagence.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

Hotel is in superb location. 2 min to the tube, Kensington gardens, tour bus stops. The rooms are tiny, but clean. The service desk is helpful and not, depending who is there. The breakfast is very basic. We did not have a TV service for 2 last days of our stays, the hotel front desk kept promising repair (replacing a small cable chord), but it never happened. Anyway, we did not spend much time in the room. The WiFi is very expensive. Most of the restaurants have it for free. The area is very nice, many restaurants, bars and places to just have a nice walk or relax in the park.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

Close to Lancaster Gate tube station, Hyde Park, Queensway, this is the ideal location for a tourist. If you're the walking type, a lot of London's major sites are within distance. An easier option is the tube or bus. Restaurants, shops, cafes and pubs are also plentiful in this area.
Hotel itself was clean, but most definitely not a four star. The basement double bed room was an ok size for London standards, bathroom was clean and not too closed in.
Walls are quite thin, so you will hear other guests hairdrying their hair at 1am. Television doesn't work so well in basement rooms, none of the BBC channels had reception. My hairdryer also didn't work. Cleaners would also enter the room at random times; one day I went back to the hotel after lunch as I was feeling ill, and had cleaners come in without knocking despite my room already being cleaned for the day. Wifi is expensive, and the hotel computers are not connected to printers, so the hotel staff can only print out Word docs or PDFs for you - no emails with tour tickets or barcodes.
Hotel was ideal for a last minute booking, but use as a last resort if you can.

Room Tip: Avoid basement rooms if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

When my partner and I arrived to the Elysee Hotel, we found the room small and the view not all that great, but this was counter-balanced by the location which was perfect and a very comfy bed. We found that we could walk to most of the sights of London from this location i.e. Oxford street. Or spend next to nothing for a short taxi ride. What made the stay even more enjoyable was the presence of The Mitre across the road which hosted quality food at an affordable rate. We found ourselves sharing a meal there a few times over the course of our stay.
The staff were friendly, attentive and helpful. The breakfast was good but limited with respect to variety.
All in all both of us had enjoyed our stay and would be going back to stay again. It was a good budget hotel with a great location - especially with a students budget.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alabama, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

I stayed four nights with three of my teenage children in a quad room. This hotel had the best price I could find for an air conditioned, quad room near central London. Location was very good and only a 4 min walk to a tube stop. Room and bathroom were very small, as others have noted, but they were clean and well kept. A/C worked very well. Water pressure in shower was poor (3rd floor room) but adequate. Breakfast was okay. All the staff were friendly and helpful (when I treat people nice, and they usually treat me nice in return). The only real problem I had was that I could not get a good wireless internet connection in my room. The desk attendant, Bilip, was extremely helpful and worked hard to resolve the problem, including offering to move me to another room. He was also very helpful in booking touring packages, booking a taxi, and answering other questions about London. (Dining tip: The pub directly across the street (The Mitre) was a nice place to eat. We also liked the Italian restaurant across the street and a few doors over (Taormina, a bit pricey) and the pub on Bayswater (The Swan).)

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

The staff are polite and helpful, centrally located with Hyde Park very nearby and restaurants close. BUT, the rooms are the tiniest I have ever seen. I took one look at the single (if you hiccuped, you'd bang your head) and asked for a double at the same rate, which they did. But even though the bed was bigger, it was shoehorned into the room. There was literally no place to put a large, opened suitcase and still be able to walk to the bathroom, which was also tiny. I've been in a tiny Japanese hotel that had bigger rooms than this one. If you don't mind the tiny rooms, then you might be fine here.

Room Tip: Demand a larger room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Elysee Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elysee Hotel

Address: 25-26 Craven Terrace | Hyde Park, London W2 3EL , England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bayswater / Notting Hill / Lancaster Gate 
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #532 of 1,073 hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Elysee Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Elysee Hotel is superbly located in Central London's Hyde Park area, an ideal base from which to explore the capital. Privately-owned and recently renovated to the highest standards, this 55 room hotel provides guests with excellent value for money. Rooms are modernly-designed with flat screen TV, air conditioning, WiFi, in-room safe, tea and coffee facilities, and€“ all the modern amenities today'€™s travelers rely on. Triple and quad rooms are available for families and small groups. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, T4B, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your Elysee Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elysee Hotel London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Elysee Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.