We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff, tiny room, crap bed and bathroom” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Chelsea House Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Chelsea House Hotel to your Saves list
Chelsea House Hotel
2.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   96 Redcliffe Gardens | Earls Court, London SW10 9HH , England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #348 of 535 London B&B and Inns
Limerick, Ireland
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Friendly staff, tiny room, crap bed and bathroom”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

Myself and 2 mates stayed for 3 nights over the weekend 6th-9th of July in a tripple room, well the room was on the top floor, the stairs aint for the faint hearted either !, it was a doubble room, with a tiny single bed pushed into the cornor of the room. The single bed was very uncomfortable and if you turned over, you would fall out of it ! The double bed was big and with the single bed, there was very little space in the room. The ensuite was tiny and not adequate for the size of the room, the soap provided left a sheen on ur hands and was manky to be honest. the towels were changed only one day out of 3 and the beds were made the same amount, and sheets not changed.
The guy on reception when we checked in was friendly and accomadating, the breakfast was over at 9.30am and was minimal, 2 slices of toast, ceral and coffee/tea. The dining room was tiny and you were pretty much on top of each other while trying to eat.
There was scaffolding work going on when we were there, didnt hear anything because we were in the back of the guest house, thank god we wernt in the font of the house. Also, you couldnt call this a hotel, its a b&b at best, cheep and you get what you pay for.
On our last night, as the sugar, coffee was not repleneshed in the room, we asked for some sugat and coffe, the miserable guy on reception, on the Sunday, gave us out a saucer with a mean amount of sugar and coffee sachets !
Would not recomment this or stay here again.
The location was fine, 5 mins walk frm the tube, shops and fast food outlets near by. About 15 mins on the tube into Piccadilly Circus.
Love london and it was World Pride weekend so had a great weekend, but the 'hotel' was crap lol, stay clear !

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    26
    68
    43
    68
See reviews for
43
58
11
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

Run by a rude family who's only interest seems to be in getting your money and getting you out. I was there for 5 days, at 10:55 am they came knocking on my door telling me it's time to check out. When I asked for 15 minutes to finish packing, they started rapping again ten minutes later.

There are much better value options, even in London.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Espinho, Portugal
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012

this is the kind of hotel that you get for what you pay.
Don't expect great decoration or great room or bathrooms.
Good for one night stand

Room Tip: tka one in the back of the building the front has a lot of traffic and noise can be an issue
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

Terrible, would not recommend this hotel whatsoever. We were put in a very bottom floor below ground level, it was dark, and totally unwelcoming. Our wardrobe in the room had a handle missing, displaying two very sharp long screws. The walls were disgusting and the paper was falling off. There was a wonky rusty old fridge which was not clean enough to store anything in. The whole place was very unwelcoming, it was that bad that we couldn't stay. We spent an hour in there before having to book a room at a different hotel because of how unwelcoming and filthy it was. Absolutely terrible.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2012 via mobile

myself and my girlfriend stayed here second may for a night,after a rather hastily planned trip to the capital to watch my beloved chelsea fc.the hotel is in walking distance of the ground wich is all we wanted it for.the room was basic but clean all we used it for was to change shower and sleep.we had to much fun planned to spend all our time finding fault with the place.what do you expect for sixty pound a nite in a two star establishment.the staff were polite and the place was clean.thats all that mattered to us.if you want luxury go somewhere on park lane.if you want a cheap place to stay then id recommend this plaae.i would have no issue returning here on our next trip down!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2012

Only the location makes this hotel anything like value for money. It is not that cheap but it is quite central and a short walk from Earl's Court. The rooms and breakfast are minimalist and we got woken first by the TV coming on at 0600 and then by the pounding of footsteps overhead. Couldn't get away fast enough.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2012 via mobile

Terrible! do yourself a favour and stay elswhere! the breakfast is a joke 2 wafer thin slices of toast and coffee if you can squeeze one out of the pot that the staff push you out of the way to get to! Absolute dump . cold water and blocked toilets and 2 single beds pushed together to make a double!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chelsea House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chelsea House Hotel

Address: 96 Redcliffe Gardens | Earls Court, London SW10 9HH , England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #348 of 535 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Chelsea House Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, Odigeo, Budget Places, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Chelsea House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chelsea House Hotel London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chelsea House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.