We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“avoid” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Chelsea House Hotel

Save Saved
You added Chelsea House Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Chelsea House Hotel
2.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   96 Redcliffe Gardens | Earls Court, London SW10 9HH , England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #329 of 520 London B&B and Inns
Los Angeles, California, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“avoid”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

Run by a rude family who's only interest seems to be in getting your money and getting you out. I was there for 5 days, at 10:55 am they came knocking on my door telling me it's time to check out. When I asked for 15 minutes to finish packing, they started rapping again ten minutes later.

There are much better value options, even in London.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    4
    29
    56
    44
    64
See reviews for
35
50
8
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Espinho, Portugal
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012

this is the kind of hotel that you get for what you pay.
Don't expect great decoration or great room or bathrooms.
Good for one night stand

Room Tip: tka one in the back of the building the front has a lot of traffic and noise can be an issue
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

Terrible, would not recommend this hotel whatsoever. We were put in a very bottom floor below ground level, it was dark, and totally unwelcoming. Our wardrobe in the room had a handle missing, displaying two very sharp long screws. The walls were disgusting and the paper was falling off. There was a wonky rusty old fridge which was not clean enough to store anything in. The whole place was very unwelcoming, it was that bad that we couldn't stay. We spent an hour in there before having to book a room at a different hotel because of how unwelcoming and filthy it was. Absolutely terrible.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2012 via mobile

myself and my girlfriend stayed here second may for a night,after a rather hastily planned trip to the capital to watch my beloved chelsea fc.the hotel is in walking distance of the ground wich is all we wanted it for.the room was basic but clean all we used it for was to change shower and sleep.we had to much fun planned to spend all our time finding fault with the place.what do you expect for sixty pound a nite in a two star establishment.the staff were polite and the place was clean.thats all that mattered to us.if you want luxury go somewhere on park lane.if you want a cheap place to stay then id recommend this plaae.i would have no issue returning here on our next trip down!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2012

Only the location makes this hotel anything like value for money. It is not that cheap but it is quite central and a short walk from Earl's Court. The rooms and breakfast are minimalist and we got woken first by the TV coming on at 0600 and then by the pounding of footsteps overhead. Couldn't get away fast enough.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2012 via mobile

Terrible! do yourself a favour and stay elswhere! the breakfast is a joke 2 wafer thin slices of toast and coffee if you can squeeze one out of the pot that the staff push you out of the way to get to! Absolute dump . cold water and blocked toilets and 2 single beds pushed together to make a double!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

this place is cheap and clean. A distant from london central but you get what you pay for. The breakfast is not much just cold food eg cereal, juice & milk not a continental breakfast if that is what youwant or need. The room a small but so are nearly all of them in London. I did like the idea of leaving the key with them this way i could not loose it.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Chelsea House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chelsea House Hotel

Address: 96 Redcliffe Gardens | Earls Court, London SW10 9HH , England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #329 of 520 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Chelsea House Hotel 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Tingo, Budget Places, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HostelBookers, Despegar.com, HostelWorld and Venere so you can book your Chelsea House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chelsea House Hotel London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chelsea House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.