We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Chelsea House Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Chelsea House Hotel to your Saves list
Chelsea House Hotel
2.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   96 Redcliffe Gardens | Earls Court, London SW10 9HH , England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #330 of 536 London B&B and Inns
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
“Disappointing”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

Terrible, would not recommend this hotel whatsoever. We were put in a very bottom floor below ground level, it was dark, and totally unwelcoming. Our wardrobe in the room had a handle missing, displaying two very sharp long screws. The walls were disgusting and the paper was falling off. There was a wonky rusty old fridge which was not clean enough to store anything in. The whole place was very unwelcoming, it was that bad that we couldn't stay. We spent an hour in there before having to book a room at a different hotel because of how unwelcoming and filthy it was. Absolutely terrible.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    38
    74
    51
    72
See reviews for
50
72
13
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2012 via mobile

myself and my girlfriend stayed here second may for a night,after a rather hastily planned trip to the capital to watch my beloved chelsea fc.the hotel is in walking distance of the ground wich is all we wanted it for.the room was basic but clean all we used it for was to change shower and sleep.we had to much fun planned to spend all our time finding fault with the place.what do you expect for sixty pound a nite in a two star establishment.the staff were polite and the place was clean.thats all that mattered to us.if you want luxury go somewhere on park lane.if you want a cheap place to stay then id recommend this plaae.i would have no issue returning here on our next trip down!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2012

Only the location makes this hotel anything like value for money. It is not that cheap but it is quite central and a short walk from Earl's Court. The rooms and breakfast are minimalist and we got woken first by the TV coming on at 0600 and then by the pounding of footsteps overhead. Couldn't get away fast enough.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2012

Terrible! do yourself a favour and stay elswhere! the breakfast is a joke 2 wafer thin slices of toast and coffee if you can squeeze one out of the pot that the staff push you out of the way to get to! Absolute dump . cold water and blocked toilets and 2 single beds pushed together to make a double!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

this place is cheap and clean. A distant from london central but you get what you pay for. The breakfast is not much just cold food eg cereal, juice & milk not a continental breakfast if that is what youwant or need. The room a small but so are nearly all of them in London. I did like the idea of leaving the key with them this way i could not loose it.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2012

Once I saw my room i decided to stay in the nearest bar (O'Neils) for as long as possible, (01.30hrs) and left as soon as possible (05.30hrs) Slept, or tried to, with my socks on ! Peg on my nose ! Hard hat on ! Hi Viz on ! Took maleria tablets ! and then wiped my feet on the way out ! But for £50, this is what you get.
Pay extra and stay elsewhere,
P.S. There was an old pizza still left in the fridge when I looked. is it yours ???

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2012

The facade of the building promises so much, however this is quickly let down by the tired lobby and reception area.

The room in the basement had an energy saving light bulb that wouldn't have caused a myopic mole to squint. The room was so dark it took me a while to realise the tv was missing.

Receptionist offered to get one for the following day, but I wisely refused, and another room was proffered.

Breakfast does not start until 8, so I cannot comment on how good the offering was. I had to leave early both nights I stayed.

In summary the whole place is in need of a spruce up. Bathroom was not cleaned after my first night... Poor.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Chelsea Guest House
#509 of 1,052 in London
3.5 of 5 stars 486 reviews
Earls Court
Sara Hotel
Sara Hotel
#669 of 1,052 in London
3.0 of 5 stars 128 reviews
South Kensington
Saint Simeon
Saint Simeon
#749 of 1,052 in London
3.0 of 5 stars 259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
Westbury Hotel Kensington
Westbury Hotel Kensington
#706 of 1,052 in London
3.0 of 5 stars 411 reviews
Caring Hotel
#441 of 1,052 in London
4.0 of 5 stars 628 reviews
Belmont & Astoria Hotels
#769 of 1,052 in London
3.0 of 5 stars 253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chelsea House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chelsea House Hotel

Address: 96 Redcliffe Gardens | Earls Court, London SW10 9HH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #330 of 536 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Chelsea House Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Chelsea House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chelsea House Hotel London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chelsea House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.