We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice to stay here” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Garden View Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Garden View Hotel to your Saves list
Garden View Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   29-31 Nevern Square, London SW5 9PE, England (Formerly Terstan Hotel) (Earls Court)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #554 of 1,049 Hotels in London
Write a Review

671 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    296
    186
    63
    52
See reviews for
144
220
70
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

This was my first trip to London and I was apprehensive, not knowing the area around the hotel. However, this place exceeded my expectations. The rooms are small, compared to what we have in America, but we had ample space for our suitcases and did not experience claustrophobia. There is no air and we had to open the windows to sleep comfortably, but again, this was preference. This hotel is easy to find coming off the Tube, and is located close to stores and restaurants. The staff were friendly and helpful to travelers who know nothing about the area. The room was clean and we had clean towels every day. The only thing not provided was a washcloth, but we bought some and that was sorted.

Breakfast is bare bones, with toast, cereal, and juice. However, I swear the toast is magic because I ate in the morning and did not feel hungry for the rest of the day.

If you are a swanky traveler, this hotel is not for you. But if you are happy with the basics and want friendly staff, this place is ideal. I'd stay here again.

Room Tip: Our rooms were located away from the garden, and it was very quiet. The room was on the top floor a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

This hotel is clean, warm and the staff are courteous.

It is located in a good area of Earl's Court, with easy access to the tube, bus stops and superstores, such as Tesco.

I stayed at this hotel a couple of times, choosing the single room for my second visit. The shower room was tiny, but, as with everywhere else, it was clean and there is a regular supply of towels, shower gels and soap. There is good shower power with easily accessible hot and cold water. There good reception on the Television.

There is not much to breakfast, however, which is only juice, toast with various spreads, and perhaps Tea/Coffee.

Good hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pembroke Pines, Florida
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

I recently just stayed for a 5 day stay with my 12 yr old daughter visiting from the States for the first time. The room was small as expected but it was clean and we had more than enough room for our luggage. The shower is small and you get water everywhere just make sure you have enough towels and you'll be fine. We only came to sleep so it was fine, it was cold and no heater in the room but the steam from the hot shower made it work. :) The hotel is an ideal location close to the earls court tube, mcdonalds, starbucks and many great restaurants. Idprobably stay again price is decent and the neighbirhood was good too.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

This hotel is a great place to stay as a base in London when you're here for sight-seeing.
It's clean, not far away from the tube, and have restaurants 5-10 min away from the hotel.
Breakfast is continental - nothing to brag about, but fills your stomach.
Would prefer breakfast at one of the restaurants.
The staff are helpful and gives you good advices.
If you want a clean but cheap hotel not to far away from the city centre (20-30min), this is a great choice.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hereford
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

Good value lovely location, quiet and comfy. Small room simple breakfast but for the price really good value and perfect. It was just what we wanted and needed I would recommend it to anyone on a budget

Room Tip: We were on the 3rd view overlooking the garden square
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

We chose this hotel purely on the basis of it being one of the cheapest available but with decent reviews and we were pleased with our choice. We went with our teenage kids so booked two rooms which they kindly gave us next to each other. It is in an excellent location just 2 minutes walk from Earls Court tube station and about 10 minutes walk to Kensington High Street. The staff were friendly and helpful and they have secure storage for your bags if you are arriving early/leaving late. We were a couple of hours early but as our rooms were ready they let us straight in. Our rooms and en-suites were small and basic but this didn't bother us as we had minimal luggage and only went back there to sleep. The rooms and bathrooms were clean and had everything you need in them. The beds were comfortable and the room was very warm. The breakfast wasn't quite continental - just white bread toast, 3 cereals, tea, coffee and juice. Don't expect any fruit/cheese/bread rolls etc! Even so, for the price we paid we can't complain and it was enough to set us up for the day. The walls were thin and our room joined onto the kitchen area so we were woken up at 6.45 am by the staff clattering about preparing breakfast - at least we didn't sleep in and waste the day!
If you are looking for a little bit of luxury then this isn't the place for you, but if you want honest value for money this hotel ticks all the boxes and we would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Garden View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden View Hotel

Address: 29-31 Nevern Square, London SW5 9PE, England (Formerly Terstan Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Earls Court
Amenities:
Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #554 of 1,049 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Garden View Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com and getaroom.com so you can book your Garden View Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Garden View
Garden View London
Garden View Hotel London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Garden View Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.