We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent budget hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Garden View Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Garden View Hotel to your Saves list
Garden View Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   29-31 Nevern Square, London SW5 9PE, England (Formerly Terstan Hotel) (Earls Court)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #554 of 1,049 Hotels in London
Kozhikode, India
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Excellent budget hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for close to a week and can say that I wouldn't hesitate to stay there again on my next visit to London. I chose a single room facing the garden. Although the room was quite small, it had most of the essentials such as tv, tea- making machine. The staff was quite friendly and welcoming. The complementary breakfast was an added plus. However, what I found especially good about the hotel was its location. Just 5 minutes walk from Earl's court station on the Picadely line connecting most of London, only about twenty minutes on this line to Heathrow airport, convenience stores and eating places, are some of the things that are really handy if one is on a tight budget.

Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

671 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    296
    186
    63
    52
See reviews for
144
220
70
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Out of the around the world hotel that i have been to, this is the worst thatcan be. Staff are unconcerned with any thing, cleanleness is -20 out of 100, damp rooms with small bathroom that leaks to the down level that customers had to complaint each time we talk shower. Sink is moving and after 2 cusomers will be out of place. We reserved an airport taxi that turned out to be a bus that you have to share with others, it was late, we had to pay for each passenger whent he rate was suppose to be for the travel, the. They charge us for each luggage.
Breakfast is as poor as everyt hing else, toast with jam, and cup of tea, or coffee that taste really bad, nothing else.
If there was no accommodation except this one, find another city. This owner of the hotel has nothing to do with tourism, accommodation, the staff hates what they do, and you are part of that.
Never ever ever go there . The noise came from the level above, below, the rooms around, every where we could not sleep, the others were unable to sleep too.

Room Tip: There is no such thing as a good room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hvar, Croatia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Great location,just few minutes to the Earls Court station which is not hard to find.The staff were very pleasant,receptionist bring to us first night extra towel. Housekeepers serviced our room every day . Poor breakfast. Missing a fridge in the room.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham UK
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Pros: a double bed for me to stretch out in; right beside Earl's Court tube station; not overly expensive (£180 for two nights); handy for shops, pubs and restaurants on the Earl's Court Rd; breakfast included; off the main road and facing a small park so very quiet; room, bathroom and linen were all clean; lift.
Cons: my room was in the basement so there were no view; the room was long and narrow with the bed at one end and the bathroom at the other and the whole thing smelt of camphor (moth balls); breakfast was limited - fruit juice, cereal and toast; lift was small, holding only two people at a time.
If you could guarantee a room other than in the basement this hotel might well be OK.
I doubt I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Do not accept a room in the basement.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

This hotel is in a great location in the Earl's Court neighborhood. Short walk to bars, restaurants, market, laundry, etc. The hotel is across from a garden, a locked garden you have no access to. The bed was comfortable and the room was large. The bathroom was an awful design and the shower water got EVERYWHERE. Housekeeping was seriously lacking, being the weary travelers we were, we got "take away" for dinner and ate at the hotel. We got food on the top sheet and it wasn't even changed over the next TWO days. Also, I split some juice on the coffee/tea tray and it was never cleaned up. I really don't expect much, but this seems like basic housekeeping. The breakfast was truly a joke. There were THREE girls standing around looking at their nails and gossiping as opposed to keeping the breakfast space clean which literally had cereal all over the floors. The other thing about the breakfast was it was literally; three kinds of cereal, white bread to toast, freeze dried coffee, juice, milk, water. Not kidding. My expectations are pretty low, and this place failed.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

Stayed at Garden View Hotel for 4 nights in August. The rooms are really small,but we were almost out sightseeing the entire day so it was not much of a problem. First we did not get the garden view room, but when checked with the front desk we got a room with a garden view on a higher floor. The room and bathroom were clean and the bed was also comfortable. The breakfast was included in the price and was not a big spread but pretty good to start the day. There is an electric kettle,tea and coffee supplies in the room and they replenish it everyday. The staff is friendly and helpful.
Let me now come to the very important point and that is the location of the hotel. It is conveniently located very near to the picadilly line tube station.You could even take buses to the main attractions from here (I would highly recommend taking a bus as you can see everything from the upper deck of the double decker and dont have to walk much). At the Earls court tube station,take the Earl's court exhibition center exit(on warwick road) and the hotel will be just a 5 min walk. The hotel is in a quiet residential area and surrounded with restaurants and supermarkets all in a walking distance. There is a Barclays ATM just across the earl's court tube station on earls court road.
You can also walk or take a bus to Kensington Palace, Imperial college, Victoria And Albert Museum,Museum of Natural History, Royal Albert Hall ,science museum.
I would highly recommend staying at this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor room,most of the rooms have a garden view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

Because of our heavy suitcases, we wanted a hotel on a direct tube line from Heathrow Airport. This hotel is just a few minutes walk from Earl's Court tube station, on the Piccadilly line. Also has free wifi and breakfast. All this for $100 per night (booked on Agoda).

Although the room was tiny, with barely enough room to put our bags, it seemed quite clean. Also I think it's recently been renovated, with new bathroom (though it was tiny too). The breakfast was ok - unlimited cups of tea, toast and cereals.

From the hotel, we walked to Kensington High St, Victoria & Albert Museum, and Hyde Park etc. Also there are lots of restaurants and supermarkets near Earl's Court tube.

I would definitely stay there again, because of its handy location and reasonable price.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Garden View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden View Hotel

Address: 29-31 Nevern Square, London SW5 9PE, England (Formerly Terstan Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Earls Court
Amenities:
Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #554 of 1,049 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Garden View Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Garden View Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Garden View
Garden View London
Garden View Hotel London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Garden View Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.