We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Garden View Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Garden View Hotel to your Saves list
Garden View Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   29-31 Nevern Square, London SW5 9PE, England (Formerly Terstan Hotel) (Earls Court)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #561 of 1,065 Hotels in London
Shenzhen, China
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Good hotel!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

The Hotel is in a very good position..very close to the metro .
The room was small but ok if you want enjoy London and not stay in hotel all day...very clean!
The front desk staff very helpfull....breakfast poor need to improve!
I recommend the Hotel area is quite....price in London for this kind of hotel are similar.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

603 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    261
    170
    60
    49
See reviews for
134
193
62
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

The price was really good, which was why we chose the hotel, and why I'm rating it "average" considering the price. In retrospect, would have paid more to get more,. Our room was so tiny it was uncomfortable, but our friends' room was large, so there is no telling what you'll get. The hotel was pretty dated and I didn't find the service very helpful or friendly. Breakfast was basic, but no real complaints there. The location was close to Earl's Court across the street from a pretty park.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

The location was incredible! Very close to the tube, shops, restaurants, pubs. The beds were soft, the staff friendly, but that was about where the positives ended, unfortunately.

The photos here underestimate exactly how small this room was. We had a triple room (one double bed and one single), and the beds stretched from end to end with barely a foot of space to squeeze through to the bathroom. The only counter space was taken up by the tea tray, so if you wanted to actually pour yourself a cup, you'd have to hold the cup in your hand while you poured it (hope you brought bottled water for that tea, because the tap water has rust in it). There was barely enough floor space to put your suitcases, much less walk around the room.

The heat was a joke. It was way too hot, and the only way to adjust it was to remove a heavy wooden panel (edged in nails) to reach the shut-off valve (this method was recommended by the staff, by the way), which fell off the wall and nearly landed on my toe! I still couldn't get the valve to turn. I'm not a handy-woman, give me a thermostat, please. We opened the window to cool off instead, which being winter outside gave us the choice between stifling hot and Arctic cold.

Breakfast is BASIC. Toast or cold cereal. No fruit, no yogurt, no pastries.

Towel collection at 10 a.m was annoying for a casual family trip, as we were still using them and getting ready for our day.

Yes, the area is AMAZING! But given how many hotels are in the area (a LOT!), and at similar prices, you have no reason not to try another. I do highly recommend the area. Not the hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granite Bay, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

If when you travel you require accommodation that is close to transport,clean plus comfortable and has a pleasant conscientious staff then the Garden View Hotel at Earl's Court in Kennsington will be the place to go. We had a very spacious clean room with a hardwood floor, a continental breakfast , new high-definition TV with lots of channels to watch, and a very courteous receptionist at the front desk. Our tube station was only 5minutes (Earl's Court station) away and to our delight a super sized Tesco (open 24 hours) was minutes away for our evening snack. Our last day we required a ride to Euston Station and the front desk arranged for the A & S Mini Cabs to be our carriage. Well mini had nothing to do with the description of the vehicle. We were pleasantly surprised when a Chrysler mini-van(spotless inside) was provided. It's driver,Sam, was not only courteous but quite professional and gave us a great ride at a very affordable price. You may not have a refrigerator full of minitures in your room but you will have a quiet and delightful stay at the GVH,that's a promise!

Room Tip: Only had experience with ground floor room but from the hallway all looked inviting! (#65)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

Hotel perfect located in Kensington - just 5 min walk from Earls court Tube station.We stayed 3 nights in a room for 3 persons. Nice, warm and clean room with own bathroom. Breakfast fine with toast, butter etc and coffee. The Frontdesk staff was very helpful and solved our problem (Tube was out of service) with a cap to the airport very fast with a smile. ...:...thanks a lot.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

The Hotel is in the center of the city, so easy to travel, but you still have to walk a bit to get to the underground. For me I had two lines that leaded to the two stations I needed to be and the the airport. There are many restaurants in earl's ct road, you have a large choice.
But!.... The room, bathroom were very tiny, I almost cleaned the shower curtains with my body while washing myself. The room was very hot when I arrived, lucky me, I'm a little bit good with my hands so I turned it off. It wasn't easy to access. And I'm a early traveler, but the breakfast starts at 7.30am (why???) …
I will end saying that the staff is very nice and yes, I will come back if I could, just for the location.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albert, AB. Canada
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

My family of 4 had a very pleasant 3 night stay at the Garden View Hotel. Located in lovely Kensington just a couple of blocks from the Earls Court Tube Station, this hotel is the perfect place acess all the major London sights. The front desk staff was friendly and helpful. There are several nearby good restaurants. Rooms are small. Hotel is very clean . Basic breakfast - cereal, toast, juice, tea and coffee included.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Garden View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden View Hotel

Address: 29-31 Nevern Square, London SW5 9PE, England (Formerly Terstan Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Earls Court
Amenities:
Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #561 of 1,065 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Garden View Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, EasyToBook, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Garden View Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Garden View
Garden View London
Garden View Hotel London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Garden View Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.