We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great night out” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pizza Express Jazz Club

Pizza Express Jazz Club
Dean Street, London W1D 3RW, England (Soho)
44 20 7437 9595
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #34 of 1,201 Nightlife in London
Type: Bar/ Clubs, Jazz Bars, Clubs
Activities: Nightlife
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A Soho jazz club.
london
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great night out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014 via mobile

Went here with friends in Dec as a less expensive alternative to Ronnie Scott's... The reviews suggested we were taking a chance, however we couldn't fault the evening, it really was a great night out. Other reviews criticised the food - it's Pizza Express, expect Pizza Express food! The service was good, the ambiance was great, the layout of the room was perfect, and the jazz was excellent! Will definitely recommend, and will definitely be going back, was really a great alternative to a rather expensive Ronnie Scott's

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    24
    10
    5
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Vantaa
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great jazz club”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

Although the name is a bit strange for a jazz club this is one of the best in London. We went to see Oli Silk last time and had a good time. You can find it easily. And yes, they serve very good pizzas too.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“Nice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

Good food with some entertainment, had a full pizza meaty with some garlic bread. Waiters where nice and very prompt

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larvik, Norway
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Fantastic Jazzclub”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

I have to say that over the last years I have been a regular customer here. You would not think it standing outside the resturant, but it does have a great jazzclub in the basement. I recommend coming in early and have a great meal and a drink before the show.
Very intimate jazz venue.
Only complain I have is the crappy PA system they have.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Popular Pizza Express”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

Saw Clare Teal here. The show was fantastic. Yes you are crammed together, but I find it's the same with all Cabaret Venues. The service was good and the food was what you expect from Pizza Express. You wouldn't come here and expect Michelin cooking! It's very basic and ok. You really come here for the jazz, which is fantastic and the atmosphere is electric.
My only complaint is that we ordered a bottle of house wine and when we went to order another (we came by train!) the waitress said there were only two bottles and they had run out. So we ordered a different bottle. However when we were upstairs later having a coffee, the waiter said they had lots of house wine upstairs! As the food is made upstairs and it is all the same restaurant, I am at a loss to know why they couldn't have got a bottle from there!

However, as I mentioned before, it is the jazz that makes this place terrific and certainly not the food!

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pizza Express Jazz Club also viewed

 

Been to Pizza Express Jazz Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pizza Express Jazz Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.