We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just brilliant!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Soho Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added The Soho Hotel to your Saves list
The Soho Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4 Richmond Mews, London W1D 3DH, England (Soho)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 1,065 Hotels in London
London
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
“Just brilliant!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

This is one of the best luxury hotels I have had the pleasure to stay at. Everything was perfect and felt effortless, which is not an easy thing to achieve. The room was stunning, very large and extremely luxurious. I think Firmdale are the best hotel company in the business, and I think soho house group is the only other small chain that has a similar wow factor to everything they do. I stayed at Dean Street Townhouse a few days prior but I think this place was better and where I would return to next time.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

937 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    790
    114
    19
    7
    7
See reviews for
112
470
63
147
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

We stayed here during a weekend break over Valentine's Day. You'd never know it was here, down a side street in a quiet location. The staff were very warm and welcoming, the room was beautifully decorated and very comfortable as are all areas of the hotel. The breakfast was great. Our room was quiet, you'd never know you are in SoHo.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

Tucked down an unsuspecting side street, the Soho Hotel is a gem. The artsy decor, helpful and friendly staff, good food in the restaurant, great location, and fun bar for evening cocktails makes the Soho Hotel a great place to stay, right in the heart of Soho. We easily walked to shopping, the British Museum and other sight-seeing spots located right near the property. We pop in from time to time just for drinks now that we live in London.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica, California, United States
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

I have been staying at the CHARLOTTE STREET HOTEL in the past, it belongs to the same small chain of the hotel, FIRMDALE HOTELS.. I got an upgrade, but i did not get any view.. for quite a bit of money for the room I was starring at the next room across the alley.. If you feel like staying at the traditional English home, this hotel is for you.. it is tradition with the modern twist.. the restaurant and bar downstairs is a bit crowded.. it seems that it is preferred meeting place for the local crowd. Bed and pillows are outstanding

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014 via mobile

From the moment we walked through the door we were made to feel special
An upgrade started the dream the service at front desk was warm hospitable and just perfect.
The room was very large , bed enormous , more like a play pen , very comfortable great linen great toiletries and a mini bar to match any cocktail bar in London.
A glass of champagne and some Olives on arrival to celebrate our anniversary made it perfect
Thank you all

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

Just had an amazing night away. The hotel has a wonderful feel that makes you not want to leave. From the moment we arrived all the hotel staff could not have been more friendly. This is one of the best hotels we have ever stayed in & will definitely be returning. Thank you for making my birthday so memorable!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

My wife and I spent 2 nights here over a weekend. We know London well having lived here previously for over 10 years but had never been back to stay in a hotel. The location of the hotel is great and we walked just about everywhere we wanted to go. The design and décor are clever and well thought out, and refreshingly different from similarly priced grand hotels over in Mayfair. The service was good and we had a very enjoyable afternoon tea followed by cocktails with friends in the Drawing Room. Breakfasts were also good with a very wide choice available, along with friendly, relaxed but efficient service. The bedroom itself (A Deluxe room) was very good. Loads of space, huge bed, fantastic bathroom, pleasing but not overpowering décor. The only slight negative surprise was to have a view of a featureless wall 6ft away from our window. We were not planning to spend too much daytime in the room so it wasn't a big problem, and I guess there were positives in that there was no privacy problem which you can have with other buildings overlooking your room but it wasn't quite what we expected when paying more than £500/ night, and when the Deluxe room advertised on the website has a reasonably good outlook from its window. Nevertheless, we will almost certainly return to the hotel but will probably try and secure a room on a higher floor with better views.

Room Tip: Our Deluxe room had plenty of space, particularly for central London. If you are planning to spend m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Soho Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Soho Hotel

Address: 4 Richmond Mews, London W1D 3DH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Soho
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in London
#5 Romantic Hotel in London
#6 Family Hotel in London
#7 Luxury Hotel in London
#24 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Soho Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 91
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Venere, Cheap Tickets, World Independent Hotel Promotion, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, MrandMrsSmith and Tingo so you can book your The Soho Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Soho Hotel London
The Soho Hotel London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Soho Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.