We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gets better and better - and there is nowhere better!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Soho Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Soho Hotel to your Saves list
The Soho Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4 Richmond Mews, London W1D 3DH, England (Soho)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 1,054 Hotels in London
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Gets better and better - and there is nowhere better!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

We have visited London for a long weekend at this time for the last three years and have stayed at the Soho Hotel each time. I can't imagine a better place to stay. The staff are always friendly and attentive, the rooms are completely gorgeous, the cocktails are unusual and it's certainly worth sitting at the bar to watch their preparation, and the breakfast is just the best. I think this is becoming a tradition for us that I hope continues for a long time.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,091 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    918
    134
    25
    7
    7
See reviews for
133
546
69
165
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York, New York, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

I just spent two nights at the Soho Hotel, and I didn't want to leave! The public spaces - two salons and a restaurant/bar off the lobby - and the guest rooms are colorful, welcoming, and beautifully designed. Our room, which I believe was one of their least expensive (though still not cheap - London hotels are very pricy), was incredibly large by European standards, with a king bed, a desk, and a seating area with sofa and chairs. The bathroom was covered in grey marble and had Miller Harris toiletries - but my favorite part was the towel warmer. We found the staff to be friendly and helpful, and we got excellent restaurant recommendations when we asked for a place to go in the neighborhood. The hotel is very convenient and walkable to many areas in the west end, but also quiet because of its location on a mews off Dean Street. I would go back in a minute, and would also love to try Firmdale's other London hotels.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
townsville australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

Soho is all class!!
Exceptional service, comfort, location.
The staff here are so helpful, friendly and unpretentious.
The room was spacious, quiet, the pillows and linen were soooo comfy, the shower rose was the best
Great location for theatres, restaurants and public transport.
If these things are important to you it is worth the $$$
Our 6 nights here was a real holiday can't wait to come back to UK just to visit the SOHO.

Room Tip: the standard size room which is very spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
53 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

I just returned from another stay at the Soho Hotel in a Deluxe Junior Suite. This hotel is hard to beat if you are looking for comfortable rooms, nightlife, a great in-house bar, and a great location in London. The concierge made some great dining recommendations and reservations for us, and we spent lots of time in Refuel. The rooms are large and the service was flawless.
I'll be back soon.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
Level Contributor
56 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

From the moment we stepped over the threshold to the time we left the service, décor and ambience of the hotel were perfect. We were there for just one night to watch a concert at Earls Court. The location was great and the room was absolutely lovely, very clean and of a excellent size. I would definitely stay there again and wished we'd had more time to use the restaurant (we overslept for breakfast!!!)

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

Came to London for some proper English football and tried the Soho Hotel. I was very happy with the hotel. The location was terrific with plenty of restaurants nearby. The room was nice and the beds very comfortable. The bathroom was large and the shower was quite nice. The staff was very helpful and made great suggestions for dinner. The only knock was that we detected a slight musty odor in the room when we returned home from the day. Other that I was very pleased.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Dakota
Level Contributor
78 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

This was our first stay at The Soho Hotel. Overall we had a very good experience here and would certainly stay here again.
We were immediately greeted at the door by the friendly staff and check-in was a breeze. Our luggage was whisked away to ours rooms quite smoothly. The Drawing Room and Library off the lobby provide excellent areas to just hang out and have a drink while waiting for friends to arrive, etc...The Honesty Bar (in the Drawing Room) is great as well. It is just what it sounds like. Just help yourself to whats available and write down your room number to be charged. This was a frequently used option by our group. I think one night we may have stayed up a bit later than the staff is used to as there was a staff member continuously walking by the drawing room about every 10min or so to see what we were up to. Kinda weird since we were the only people in there and we had been staying at the hotel for an entire week. I would expect them to recognize us as guests (this wasn't a big deal.........we just noticed it).
The concierge staff was pretty inconsistent when we were there. We had a couple that were pretty good but had two that were awful. We were trying to make reservations, etc.... for the next few days and we had to continually remind them and check up on them to make sure things were being taken care of. This became a pretty big issue on the day of our departure as our car service was apparently never arranged despite given 5 days notice and checking on it routinely. The staff that morning was up to the challenge, however, and scrambled to get things arranged and thankfully we made our flight out in time (although closer than we would have liked it).
There was one staff member named Michael who was outstanding. I don't believe he is a concierge although he probably should be. Upon arrival he was who took our bags to our rooms and later he was out "go to guy" for anything we needed done or had questions about. He handled everything from reservations (with prompt confirmations) to pub recommendations, etc..... he just did an outstanding job. If any managers of the hotel read this you should keep an eye on this guy for advancement in the future. Top notch.
Overall a great hotel and we would certainly stay here again. The surrounding neighborhood is quirky and fun and within easy walking distance of pretty much everything. Hope this helps!

Room Tip: Get a room on a higher floor so you will have a better view or you will be looking at the building n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Soho
The Nadler Soho
The Nadler Soho
#8 of 1,054 in London
5.0 of 5 stars 1,245 reviews
Bloomsbury
The Montague on The Gardens
Westminster
Hotel 41
Hotel 41
#1 of 1,054 in London
5.0 of 5 stars 1,922 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
The Milestone Hotel
The Milestone Hotel
#3 of 1,054 in London
5.0 of 5 stars 1,277 reviews
Westminster
Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Haymarket Hotel
Haymarket Hotel
#13 of 1,054 in London
5.0 of 5 stars 559 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Soho Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Soho Hotel

Address: 4 Richmond Mews, London W1D 3DH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Soho
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in London
#7 Romantic Hotel in London
#16 Luxury Hotel in London
#38 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Soho Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Soho Hotel has 96 individually designed bedrooms, suites and apartments and is situated on a quiet street in the heart of London's entertainment neighbourhood. The Soho Hotel is situated in a quiet street between Dean and Wardour Streets in the heart of London's entertainment neighbourhood. It is surrounded by some of London's best restaurants and bars, vibrant cafes and most exciting theatre and nightlife. Leafy Soho Square is a one minute walk and the city's business district is within easy reach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline and HotelTravel.com so you can book your The Soho Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Soho Hotel London
The Soho Hotel London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Soho Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.