We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Firmdale+Soho=The Best” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Soho Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Soho Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Soho Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4 Richmond Mews, London W1D 3DH, England (Soho)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 1,073 hotels in London
canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Firmdale+Soho=The Best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

We are a family of 4. The Soho hotel is perfectly situated in the heart of London right in the middle. For a whole week we walked everywhere to the attractions and only took a cab once. The area around the hotel is were there are all the shows so you can walk there also. All the bars and restaurants are in a radius of one kilometer. The hotel staff goes the extra mile to make you feel great. Service is top notch. The food and the bar are very good, original and creative. The Hotel is super clean, room staff great. The gym is equipped and maintained with top on the line equipment

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

851 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    713
    105
    19
    7
    7
See reviews for
99
430
58
139
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

Hip and dead center of SOHO on its own little alley. Great staff- rooms are well appointed and chic. Comfy beds. Great windows to bring in lots of light. It has a bar that also goes off with a hip/cool crowd. Highly recommended- not cheap at all but everything was really nice from staff to room so it was a great stay

Room Tip: higher floors are better to get more light
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

We stayed for five days at the Soho in early July. It is a beautiful, modern hotel in central London, close to everything. It is easy walking distance to the West End, Oxford Street shopping and the wonderful bars and restaurants of Soho. It is located on a quiet side street so it feels like a wonderful sanctuary. The restaurant/bar Refuel is young and hip and the common lounge and library are stunning. Our room was large with abundant natural light, beautiful furnishings and linens and the most comfortable bed I have ever encountered at a hotel or otherwise. The staff through out the hotel made our stay exceptional and our interaction with them prior to our arrival was also perfect and accommodating. We have stayed at the Crosby in New York as well and I must say these people know how to do hotels. Remarkably positive experience. Made our trip. Very fun was the Sunday afternoon movie in the screening room at the hotel. Great way to unwind after several days of exploring London by foot.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 411. Large Ron with lovely windows and stunning decor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013 via mobile

Went to London for our 23rd anniversary. Friends recommended , and truly, we enjoyed every minute. The room was beautiful, we called it " The yellow room", spacious with extensive wardrobe (103). Service was excellent, tasty breakfast , concierge service very helpful.
On top of it, locatin is amazing. MUST.

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

Hosted a weeding here and all had a great time. We had food, drinks, rooms, canapés, music, dancing, entertainers. Bars, food, ambience, vibe, bedrooms , music, cinema and much more - all first class. Will visit time and time again and highly recommended.

Room Tip: Book early - some views are fab
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
176 helpful votes 176 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

My teenage daughter and I stayed in a deluxe room (no. 507) at the Soho for 4 nights in June. It was a fabulous experience and here is why:

ROOM DESIGN
The decor is fresh and fun. Our room had pale green wallpaper with a pink leaf design and the cream colored linen curtains had embroidered tulips on them. There were whimsical details like an artwork using a desk drawer, each compartment filled with various quirky mementos.

The room was also comfortable and functional with two chairs and a round table (for room service trays or reading the paper), long desk, spacious closets.

The deluxe room was about 500 sq. ft., spacious, open, and bright.

There was good lighting in the bathroom and lots of mirrors and counter space. The rainfall shower head had impressive water pressure.

The AC was very efficient.

The room was quiet; we heard nothing at night.

LOCATION
There is a lot happening in the neighborhood with bars, restaurants, and theatres all within a few blocks. The subway is about a 7 minute walk. And since we like sweets, we were happy to find that Ben's cookies is about a 5 minute walk and there are other good bakeries/patisseries in the area.

SERVICE
The Soho reservation team - Hilde, in my case - was absolutely wonderful. I mentioned that I liked floral fabrics and would like a room with lots of windows and we were given exactly what we requested...and a bit more since we were on the 5th floor with a balcony and view toward the London Eye. I really appreciated the extra attention given to my requests.

HOUSEKEEPING
The Soho really shines in this area. The room was immaculate. All the furnishings seemed new; trim and paintwork was all fresh. There were no scuffs anywhere. This hotel is SUPER clean.

BED AND LINENS
The king bed was very comfortable - no lumps or sags - and the sheeting was nice and soft. The feather pillows were good.

CLIENTELE
Hip, well dressed, and international.

ONLY THINGS I DIDN'T CARE FOR (VERY MINOR)
The lobby is dark and noisy and quite a scene on the weekend - making it neither inviting, soothing, or family oriented. The approach to the hotel is down a bit of a dirty alley-like street - not the best.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

Stayed at The Soho Hotel for four nights on a combined business trip/holiday. It is a perfect hotel for both. I stayed in the lowest category of room and was impressed by the size of the room; it is much bigger than your usual London hotel room. The bathroom is also big, with such a big bathtub that I could completely lie down in it! The TV in the bathroom is a great touch too. The room had all the usual amenities including safe, free wi-fi, plus turndown service with a little lavender spray to aid sleep. As with the rest of the hotel, rooms are colourful, light and bright and rejuveninating. People talk about hotels as simply 'a place to sleep' but The Soho Hotel is for people who want their hotel to contribute to their overall experience of London. It is not an inexpensive hotel, but having said that, it is well-priced for the room, amenities, etc.
The service was excellent and friendly, I never found it to be 'snobby' and it was easy to have a laugh with the concierge and other attendants, waiters and waitresses etc. The breakfast at Refuel was large, healthy and of very good quality. Room service was also quick and easy. Substantial mini-bar as well.
The area is great as it is in central London, closest Tube is Picadilly Circus. Soho used to have a reputation as a 'red-light' district in London but the only real evidence of that is on a Saturday night, and if you didn't leave the hotel you wouldn't know it existed!
The Soho Hotel is also a bit of a celebrity hang-out; I did see a few celebs, they were just hanging out at the bar having a beer like the rest of us. Which I thinks sums up the place nicely: everyone feels at ease there.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Soho Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Soho Hotel

Address: 4 Richmond Mews, London W1D 3DH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Soho
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in London
#10 Romantic Hotel in London
#14 Family Hotel in London
#14 Luxury Hotel in London
#18 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Soho Hotel 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Travelocity, MrandMrsSmith, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Venere and Otel so you can book your The Soho Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Soho Hotel London
The Soho Hotel London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Soho Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.