We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“London Oasis” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Soho Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Soho Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Soho Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4 Richmond Mews, London W1D 3DH, England (Soho)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 1,054 Hotels in London
Napier, New Zealand
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“London Oasis”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

We have stayed here before some time ago and decided to rebook. We were not disappointed standards have been well and truly maintained. The hotel is in a very quiet mews yet in the heart of London an easy walk to Piccadilly Circus, Regent and Oxford Streets and a stone throw from Chinatown. This hotel oozes charm, the staff are respectful and obliging. The restaurant bar Refuel is a buzz in the evenings. The most striking thing about this hotel is how peaceful it is, cannot recommend enough.

Room Tip: We opted for a deluxe room which was very spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

889 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    747
    109
    19
    7
    7
See reviews for
107
449
59
142
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

If you are looking for an escape from the craziness of Soho then this is the place, uber cool, amazing vibes, super friendly staff and awesome food.. The decor is what hits you first... so different, colourful and just simply inspiring.

The the smiley faces of those at the reception, or the hosts that great you at the restaurant - brilliant! You are offered everything you could every want... space, relaxed atmosphere, great background music ( that they also sell on CD should you decide you would like to buy it!).. the food is awesome and the selection i great, whether its tapas at the bar, a quick snack for lunch or a full blow out meal you are catered for and the menu selection has something for everyone, from risotto to Chateaubriand everything is available for you to chose from with deserts to die for!! Delicious. The executive head-chef will even come out and ask his guests what they think of the food, he's that passionate about making sure everything is just right! Loved it!

The rooms are all different and have such a good feel about them, so comfortable with all the mod cons and extra you would need. The apartments even have your own kitchen and dining room available should you feel like sending some money and living it up in style! Amazing and so much comfort they really have thought about everything you could need.

Take the time to chill in the hotels many bars, library's and cinema areas all equally as jaw dropping in a kind of cool-chilled way!

I've visited the Soho on business, for lunch, for hen and girlie weekends and for family events... we love it... also great for a cheeky coffee during the day :O) Great coffee!! and you should try their cocktails!!! So good you forget how many you've had (hic!)

I can not rate this place highly enough... a little bit of heaven in a crazy fab Soho!!

Room Tip: Rooms are all amazing.. you won't be disappointed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

I held a corporate event here a few years ago and loved the style and service. Therefore when I was looking for a hotel near Ronnie Scott's I knew The Soho would be a great choice. Wonderful room, great service and a lot of style. If you get a chance to stay - do it!

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samara, Russia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

I spent the weekend of the FA Cupfinal 2013 in London in this magnificent hotel. The service was superb, always enough personnel available at the desk to answer any questions without having to stand in line. My room was as new, and well furbished in a very original style. But what really stood out for me was the quality of the food. Breakfast and lunch excellent! It would not surprise me if the restaurant is highly ranked in the restaurant guide of London.

The only minus is the direct neighborhood of the hotel. Soho is of course a bit trodden down. Luckily the hotel is located in a small one way side street that keeps out the party goers and noise.

In any case, I'll be sure to stay here again on my future visits to London.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

I recently organised an Afternoon booking at the Soho hotel for 10 of my girlfriends. I was attracted to the Soho hotel as I has used Brummus, another firmdale venue, for afternoon tea before and was very impressed.
The booking experience through Soho hotel, all done over email as I live in Sydney visiting the UK, was excellent even though I had to keep upping the numbers and ading on some dietary requirements.
On arrival, we were overjoyed to be placed in the Library room. The room was beautiful and has a great layout of sofas, stools and tables to allow for everyone to be comfy but able to chat and also enjoy the food.
The service was excellent and once all the group had arrived, we were served with scrummy sandwiches (vegetarian guests catered for amply), fresh scones and amazing cakes. That topped of with tea and cocktails. On requesting for some more sandwiches, this was not a problem and staff brought additional plates.
The staff were very attentive but not too pushy that they left us alone in our gorgeous private room to make us feel like we were in someone house, but would keep popping back to see if we needed anything.
We were able to keep the room for hours at no extra charge or hassle.
It was a stunning venue, great service and great food. It was a really special day topped off by the excellent service received. I would highly recommend the venue for afternoon tea. Thanks to the hotel and the staff. I will certaintly be booking again on my next trip to the UK.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

I had HIGH expectations of our weekend stay at the Soho Hotel Feb 12-14. Judging from all the reviews I had read and the fact that this hotel has been on my "to-do-list" for quite a while, I was worried that it would not live up to half the greatness i expected. It did. The service was immaculate and the room was absolutely wonderful. The interior decoration, the bathroom, the bed, the minibar (which must have been the best stocked minibar I´ve ever seen!) and the little details, were second to none.
We let concierge recommend a restaurant for our first night in town - and it was spot on.
I loved how the ambience and the service in the hotel were professional, and personal, never snooty.
We will definitely and absolutely come back, even if it is pricey. It will be our special yearly treat, worth every penny.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

I would give 10 stars if I could, the best hotel I've stayed in so far!

We were staying in the city for a night before flying to Florence, having found a deal online we turned up expecting a standard room. Upon arrival we were greeted by the friendliest staff on reception, they were so accommodating and within minutes we were given the key... only to realise we'd been given the key to THE PENTHOUSE!!!!!!!

This room was flawless, the room was HUGE and the views of the city were stunning. The best part however had to be the bathroom, this was the size of a house with every mod con available, the shower felt like a rainforest and to be quite honest i could have happily slept here. The mini bar would please the most adventurous of imaginations, and the bed was like sleeping on a cloud.

We ordered food and the room service was quick, friendly and naturally first class. When evening came we reserved dinner in the refuel restaurant. The food was BEAUTIFUL and service impeccable, we were spoilt rotten.

Naturally after being upgraded I am going to say this is the best hotel i've ever stayed in, but regardless of room standard or if you're just going for a cup of tea in the bar, you will not be disappointed as everyone is treated with a 5* service.

I must thank and applaud the team at the soho hotel for making my trip perfect before it had even began, have been so impressed I have already booked to stay in a few weeks.

Bravo to The Soho!!!!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Soho Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Soho Hotel

Address: 4 Richmond Mews, London W1D 3DH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Soho
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in London
#7 Romantic Hotel in London
#9 Family Hotel in London
#13 Luxury Hotel in London
#18 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Soho Hotel 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Venere, Tingo, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Priceline, Travelocity, MrandMrsSmith, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Otel so you can book your The Soho Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Soho Hotel London
The Soho Hotel London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Soho Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.