We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Faultless” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Soho Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Soho Hotel to your Saves list
The Soho Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4 Richmond Mews, London W1D 3DH, England (Soho)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 1,052 Hotels in London
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
106 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Faultless”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

I stay in London at least a couple of times and month and stay at the Soho Hotel whenever I can.

As other reviewers have mentioned, the rooms are superb - most of them have huge windows overlooking the Soho rooftops - and have every comfort, high quality furnishings and finish.

The bar and restaurant are very lively but I have never heard a noise when I'm in my room.

The service is excellent too, friendly and informal but super-efficient, from check-in to room service.

And of course, the location couldn't be better, in the heart of Soho but down a tiny street so no passing traffic.

A really excellent hotel, the best of the Firmdale group in London I think.

Room Tip: I've never had a less than fantastic room here but those with balconies on the 5th floor are exc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,069 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    897
    133
    25
    7
    7
See reviews for
127
535
68
164
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

Great hotel. The service is exceptional. I wouldn't stay anywhere else. The rooms are very nice. Great bathrooms and great food in the restaurant. The location is very close to all the shops and bars and food. I look forward to returning

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
57 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

Very close to perfect. I have been staying here infrequently for the past few years and every stay is superb. They are constantly updating the award winning design decor so that even rooms you have stayed in before (and each is different) will have had subtle changes over the years. The service is effortless. The food in the hotel is out of this world good - in fact, it has improved. It used to seem a bit pricey for what you got, but not any more. You don't resent paying a slightly higher price than many of the Soho restaurants on the doorsteps when the food is this good. The bed is comfy, the bathrooms are sparkling clean and fresh, and the furniture in the room manages to be as functional as it is beautiful. Highly highly recommended.

Room Tip: Don't choose the very cheapest room categories - worth splashing out even a small amount more fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nr Oxford, England
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

We recently stayed here when attending a premiere in Leicester Square. The location was fantastic - a 10 minute gentle walk from the cinema, near the buzz of London but in a quiet street. We had a deluxe junior suite - a marvelously generous space, with the most comfortable bed, gorgeous toiletries, and a packed mini-bar (though we did avoid the £86.00 half bottle of Krug!).
The bar was busy on our return, but service was excellent as were the cocktails. There is an honesty bar for after hours. The reception rooms are eclectic, the service is attentive and friendly without being over-powering.
When we arrived back into our room, the bed was turned down, and a Sleep Well spray was on the pillow - wonderful
Room service breakfast was punctual and tasty, although the plates could have been a little warmer to keep the food hotter longer.
However, this was a very small blip. I loved this hotel, and would love to return.

Room Tip: A higher room may give a better aspect
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul
Level Contributor
284 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 255 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

Our last stay in The Soho Hotel was splendid and we came back this week. We have a Luxury Junior Suite (#202) which is spacious. What I love about The Soho Hotel is the location, service and common areas. I love the Refuel Restaurant, different lounges. It is very cosy to stay and spend time. What I do not like is that unlike many other places The Soho Hotel chooses to charge for internet which I do not find as a good practice when I pay 400 GBP for a room. Similarly the amenities in the room are not sufficient even though it is a suite room you need to order coffee, tea and water from room service unlike many other hotels who provide cafetieres, espresso machines, abundance of complimentary water.. I am considering other hotels for my next stay because of these small details.. This is a pity..

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

Fantastic hotel, we stayed for a girls weekend. Perfectly positioned for shopping and The West End. Rooms are classic with very very comfortable beds. The staff are amazingly helpful and friendly. There is a busy bar and restaurants with good cocktails. There is an after hours honesty bar and gorgeous library where afternoon tea is served. Looking forward to returning ASAP. Would recommend this hotel to everyone including couples and families.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

We had the most amazing time.

The penthouse suite was beautiful and huge. The staff were attentive without being intrusive.

Of course its not the cheapest hotel but its a grest example of you get what you pay for, its excellent.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Soho
The Nadler Soho
The Nadler Soho
#7 of 1,052 in London
5.0 of 5 stars 1,188 reviews
Bloomsbury
The Montague on The Gardens
Westminster
Hotel 41
Hotel 41
#1 of 1,052 in London
5.0 of 5 stars 1,888 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
The Milestone Hotel
The Milestone Hotel
#2 of 1,052 in London
5.0 of 5 stars 1,257 reviews
Westminster
Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Haymarket Hotel
Haymarket Hotel
#6 of 1,052 in London
5.0 of 5 stars 546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Soho Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Soho Hotel

Address: 4 Richmond Mews, London W1D 3DH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Soho
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in London
#9 Romantic Hotel in London
#18 Luxury Hotel in London
#36 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Soho Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Soho Hotel has 96 individually designed bedrooms, suites and apartments and is situated on a quiet street in the heart of London's entertainment neighbourhood. The Soho Hotel is situated in a quiet street between Dean and Wardour Streets in the heart of London's entertainment neighbourhood. It is surrounded by some of London's best restaurants and bars, vibrant cafes and most exciting theatre and nightlife. Leafy Soho Square is a one minute walk and the city's business district is within easy reach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, HotelTravel.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your The Soho Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Soho Hotel London
The Soho Hotel London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Soho Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.