We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Back in Soho” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Soho Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added The Soho Hotel to your Saves list
The Soho Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4 Richmond Mews, London W1D 3DH, England (Soho)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 1,064 Hotels in London
Minnesota
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Back in Soho”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Quick visit to London and a stay at The Soho Hotel. This is my second visit to this hotel. The staff here is fantastic. They are extremely helpful and almost always greet you everywhere in the building. I arrived just after 1PM and had been traveling for some 15 hours so I was in need of getting my room without much delay. The team took care of that. My room was up on the fourth floor very well done as are all Firmdale Hotels. The bed was so comfortable I almost fell asleep after my shower. I went out and took care of my meetings for the day then returned in the early evening. I found a gift of designer lip balm for me in the room. Nice touch almost as good as the stainless collar stays I received last time I was here. I even asked to see if they had any more. The manager spoke with me about it the next day saying they had looked and were unable to find any more collar stays. They have a great restaurant and bar area and a room for tea. The location is smack in Soho and close to everything. Another great stay.

Room Tip: Don't expect a room with a view they are hard to come by.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

925 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    781
    111
    19
    7
    7
See reviews for
111
465
62
144
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

From the moment my family arrived for my mum's 60th, every single member of staff treated us like VIPs. Whether by design or out of necessity, my parents received an upgrade to a junior suite: a huge and beautiful room on the first floor (complimentary champagne was a welcome surprise). Our thanks go to Hilde and the reservations team for adding so many little touches - my mum could only gasp with surprise at all the special treatment. We had also booked afternoon tea at the hotel later in the day and received the most perfect, attentive and friendly service (special mention goes to Javier who was a delight and arranged for the savory/sweet treats we couldn't manage to eat to be plated up for the room for later!) I have never felt strongly enough to make a comment about any stay on Trip Advisor good or bad but the guys at The Soho Hotel deserve all the glowing comments: class in abundance without pretension or stuffiness, warm, welcoming buzz to all the communal areas and would say pretty perfect location for any foreign travellers.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

Spent 3 nights at this 5 star Hotel in the heart of Soho. The Hotel is a more modern , trendy hotel compared to others we've stayed in in London, and in comparison is about the best experience we've had. The location is fantastic, right in the centre of Soho with its bars, bistros, upmarket restaurants, frankly all tastes catered for. Five minutes walk to Piccadilly, ten minutes to Regent St, and 15 minutes to Oxford St - so shopping is no issue.

We had a deluxe room and it was fabulously appointed , well laid out had everything we wanted and was so quiet, perfect. The bar is really lively, great staff and if you prefer quieter there are lounges outside , although they tend to get reserved for high teas.

Breakfast was superb, great choice on both continental and al la carte, best so far to be honest and great value. Didn't eat in the restaurant at night , but heard good things from those that did.

The staff at the front desk, concierge, bar and restaurant were all very helpful and friendly, nothing was too much trouble. I'd highly recommend The Soho Hotel, a luxury oasis in the heart of London. We've been looking for somewhere we could return to and I believe we've found it. Top class !

Room Tip: If you can stretch the budget go for a deluxe room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Finistere, France
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Stayed her for one night while in London with my partner, it was great, the room was excellent and so were the staff, one of the best hotels we have stayed at in London. Will return when in London next time.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012 via mobile

I just completed a 3 night stay at the Soho Hotel in one of their penthouse suites. Everything was perfect. The room
was large, clean, bright, and comfortable. The service was flawless.
The location is great for nightlife, and the bar at the hotel is lively.
If you are looking for stuffy, old London this is NOT for you.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Surprise stay at the Soho Hotel for my birthday. We checked in on Sunday afternoon and then went to see a movie in the in house cinema. Cocktails at the bar and then dinner in the restaurant. Our room was a deluxe room and it was just lovely - huge big bed soft soft sheets. Bose sound dock for music. Good bathroom with radio and complimentary quality goodies. One criticism is the lack of free wi-fi for guests. Fantastic location for getting anywhere in the west end and the staff couldn't have been more smiley and helpful. Very little external noise despite being only on the second floor.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

perfect 1 night stay from the reception staff (nothing too much trouble) to the room (understated luxury) to the sheer quirkiness of the place (the cat in reception and afternoon film screening with popcorn).
not cheap but then again if it is worth it then its worth paying for!!.
meal in the restaurant (included in room price) was not blow you away but then it was standard set menu and the breakfast in the morning (also included) more than made up for any deficiencies in the evening meal department.
Would definitely recommend to someone looking to pamper their other half!!.

Room Tip: spend money on upgrade to deluxe room if you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Soho Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Soho Hotel

Address: 4 Richmond Mews, London W1D 3DH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Soho
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in London
#5 Romantic Hotel in London
#6 Family Hotel in London
#8 Luxury Hotel in London
#24 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Soho Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 91
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Venere, World Independent Hotel Promotion, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, MrandMrsSmith and Tingo so you can book your The Soho Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Soho Hotel London
The Soho Hotel London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Soho Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.