We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic birthday treat” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Soho Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Soho Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Soho Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4 Richmond Mews, London W1D 3DH, England (Soho)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 1,054 Hotels in London
London, England
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“fantastic birthday treat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Surprise stay at the Soho Hotel for my birthday. We checked in on Sunday afternoon and then went to see a movie in the in house cinema. Cocktails at the bar and then dinner in the restaurant. Our room was a deluxe room and it was just lovely - huge big bed soft soft sheets. Bose sound dock for music. Good bathroom with radio and complimentary quality goodies. One criticism is the lack of free wi-fi for guests. Fantastic location for getting anywhere in the west end and the staff couldn't have been more smiley and helpful. Very little external noise despite being only on the second floor.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

892 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    750
    109
    19
    7
    7
See reviews for
107
450
59
142
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
london
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

perfect 1 night stay from the reception staff (nothing too much trouble) to the room (understated luxury) to the sheer quirkiness of the place (the cat in reception and afternoon film screening with popcorn).
not cheap but then again if it is worth it then its worth paying for!!.
meal in the restaurant (included in room price) was not blow you away but then it was standard set menu and the breakfast in the morning (also included) more than made up for any deficiencies in the evening meal department.
Would definitely recommend to someone looking to pamper their other half!!.

Room Tip: spend money on upgrade to deluxe room if you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

I visited the Soho Hotel yesterday for Afternoon Tea with some of my girlfiends and we had a wonderful afternoon here.
The hotel is tucked away down side streets in Soho and when you enter it's just complete elegance - beautiful!
We had our Afternoon Tea served in the Library on big comfy sofas and armchairs. The Food was splendid offering a selection of not only cold foods but a few hot too. The cakes were a delight and the tea served was fantastic. It was plentiful, and if you wanted more you only had to ask - at no extra cost. We had some cakes left over and the girls were given boxes to take them home in to enjoy later!
Definitely worth the money and I will definitely be returning in the future to sample it once more!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Have been for a drink in the very trendy and lively Refuel bar a few times, but never stayed before, decided to stay last weekend... it was perfect, the reception is so welcoming, the room was absolutely just right and the staff were so attentive, the meal in the restaurant that evening was again perfect, and the breakfast was probably the best Hotel breakfast we have ever had! as you can see we loved it!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Each time I go to London I stay in the Soho Hotel and each time is as good as the last. I have stayed in various Firmdale hotels, and they are all very good, but the Soho is my favourite. It is in a fantastic location, walking distance to Chinatown, Covent Garden, Regent and Oxford Streets, the theatres, not to mention Soho itself.

The rooms are all individually designed, they are gorgeous and maintained to a very high standard. The bathrooms are lovely and there is never a shortage of high quality toiletries. The beds are extremely comfortable!

The common areas have a great atmosphere, what ever the time of day. There is an extremely busy and buzzy bar but also two lounge rooms where you can sit and have a drink in comfortable couches and armchairs.

The breakfast is really fresh and there is a huge variety available. This is served in the restaurant, and even though I have never eaten lunch or dinner here, the restaurant is always busy and the food looks good.

The concierge are extremely helpful. I always contact them prior to my stay to help me book restaurants etc, and they are great.

All in all I would highly recommend this hotel. We have stayed as a couple, with our children and with I have also stayed with a group of girlfriends and each time our stay has been fabulous.

Room Tip: I have stayed in quite a few rooms none of which really has a view to speak of! If you want a view y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

Everything was perfect. Our room was amazing and unbelievably comfortable. The restaurant and bar were lively and trendy with excellent service. But the breakfast .......... amazing. Thank you so much for our best ever stay in London.

Room Tip: We paid a little extra for a superior room on our second visit and it was lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
madrid
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

I have been going to the Firmdale Hotels since they opened and I am a big fan. But The Soho Hotel is definitely my favorite one in London ( as the Crosby Street in New York is my favorite NY hotel ) .

Everything about this hotel is what you expect and hope for in a luxury city hotel : clean , big rooms, incredible mattresses and bed linens, big bathrooms,great products, new thick towels and robes, great assortment in mini bar , impeccable service, 2 cosy living rooms for meetings or reading , big healthy breakfast choice , both buffet and a la carte, fun( but noisy ) bar and restaurant area, amazing location in the heart of Soho but in a quiet mews , beautiful and well taken care of interior design......what else can you want ?

The Soho Hotel makes you feel like someone, a person not a corporate, really cares.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Soho Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Soho Hotel

Address: 4 Richmond Mews, London W1D 3DH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Soho
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in London
#7 Romantic Hotel in London
#9 Family Hotel in London
#13 Luxury Hotel in London
#18 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Soho Hotel 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Venere, Tingo, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Priceline, Travelocity, MrandMrsSmith, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Otel so you can book your The Soho Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Soho Hotel London
The Soho Hotel London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Soho Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.