We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Soho Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Soho Hotel to your Saves list
The Soho Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4 Richmond Mews, London W1D 3DH, England (Soho)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #19 of 1,058 Hotels in London
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Wow!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Have been for a drink in the very trendy and lively Refuel bar a few times, but never stayed before, decided to stay last weekend... it was perfect, the reception is so welcoming, the room was absolutely just right and the staff were so attentive, the meal in the restaurant that evening was again perfect, and the breakfast was probably the best Hotel breakfast we have ever had! as you can see we loved it!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kpd230
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,183 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Dublin, Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
223 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Each time I go to London I stay in the Soho Hotel and each time is as good as the last. I have stayed in various Firmdale hotels, and they are all very good, but the Soho is my favourite. It is in a fantastic location, walking distance to Chinatown, Covent Garden, Regent and Oxford Streets, the theatres, not to mention Soho itself.

The rooms are all individually designed, they are gorgeous and maintained to a very high standard. The bathrooms are lovely and there is never a shortage of high quality toiletries. The beds are extremely comfortable!

The common areas have a great atmosphere, what ever the time of day. There is an extremely busy and buzzy bar but also two lounge rooms where you can sit and have a drink in comfortable couches and armchairs.

The breakfast is really fresh and there is a huge variety available. This is served in the restaurant, and even though I have never eaten lunch or dinner here, the restaurant is always busy and the food looks good.

The concierge are extremely helpful. I always contact them prior to my stay to help me book restaurants etc, and they are great.

All in all I would highly recommend this hotel. We have stayed as a couple, with our children and with I have also stayed with a group of girlfriends and each time our stay has been fabulous.

Room Tip: I have stayed in quite a few rooms none of which really has a view to speak of! If you want a view y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kitty63Melbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

Everything was perfect. Our room was amazing and unbelievably comfortable. The restaurant and bar were lively and trendy with excellent service. But the breakfast .......... amazing. Thank you so much for our best ever stay in London.

Room Tip: We paid a little extra for a superior room on our second visit and it was lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank alex186233
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
madrid
Level Contributor
83 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

I have been going to the Firmdale Hotels since they opened and I am a big fan. But The Soho Hotel is definitely my favorite one in London ( as the Crosby Street in New York is my favorite NY hotel ) .

Everything about this hotel is what you expect and hope for in a luxury city hotel : clean , big rooms, incredible mattresses and bed linens, big bathrooms,great products, new thick towels and robes, great assortment in mini bar , impeccable service, 2 cosy living rooms for meetings or reading , big healthy breakfast choice , both buffet and a la carte, fun( but noisy ) bar and restaurant area, amazing location in the heart of Soho but in a quiet mews , beautiful and well taken care of interior design......what else can you want ?

The Soho Hotel makes you feel like someone, a person not a corporate, really cares.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MissPerpetualMotion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
195 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Phenomenal location, walking distance to Chinatown, Covent Garden, Oxford Street and theatre, but what's really nice about this hip hotel is the service is above impeccable from the doorman, to check in, to room service - all lovely. The bathrooms are larger than some hotel rooms in NYC, I hated to come out, and I adore the heated towel racks. At the risk of sounding old, the rooms are comfortable design, more so than other boutique hotels that try too hard to be hip with useless lighting tricks and less than comfortable amenities.

Room Tip: Each floor is painted a cheerful bold hue. Our fourth floor room had lovely rooftop lighting.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank C O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newcastle
Level Contributor
86 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I stayed with my kids ( albeit they are 20 , 18 , 15 and 13) here for 3 nights , we had 3 rooms which in fact were all suites and all quite large. Furnishings excellent , not noisy in any way and the room service was quick and efficient. Me and my wife would have preferred to stay here alone as the bar and restaurant were really very popular and we never managed to get seats in the bar at any time during our stay. The hotel has a couple of rooms where you can sit and have a drink however these were often full with parties and a residents bar is really needed in my opinion. The concierge was great and the location central although this is bang in the middle of the gay area so if you are homophobic choose another hotel ! One really annoying thing and this is a general hate of mine is that the hotel charges for wifi which these days I think is like charging for electricity or water - its free in MacDonalds guys come on !!!

Room Tip: Book a standard room they are all large
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NewcastleFilmmaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gent
Level Contributor
107 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

I stayed several times at The Soho and still love to be back.
Even after trying most of the other Firmdale's hotels I prefer this one.

Lively and still with a home-feeling, contemporary and cosy. Great location, professional and friendly staff. Right balance between keeping the hotel safe and be welcomming.

I appreciate that all the obvious is as it should be (from shower to wifi), but also love the details: Hendrick's gin at the mini-bar (my favourite), gym in line with the hotel's atmosphere, ...

This time I stayed at room 207, recently refurbished (see pics)

No glitches? Some details: Refuel (bar-resto) becomes very busy and too noisy just after work, somehow they always forget my late check-out.
Remember that almost none of the rooms has a real view.

Finally: you do pay for the quality and deals become very rare.

Room Tip: 207 is nice (see pics)
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank artica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Soho
The Nadler Soho
The Nadler Soho
#9 of 1,058 in London
5.0 of 5 stars 1,479 reviews
Bloomsbury
The Montague on The Gardens
Westminster
Hotel 41
Hotel 41
#1 of 1,058 in London
5.0 of 5 stars 2,130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Westminster
Corinthia Hotel London
Corinthia Hotel London
#11 of 1,058 in London
5.0 of 5 stars 1,872 reviews
Covent Garden
Covent Garden Hotel
Covent Garden Hotel
#15 of 1,058 in London
5.0 of 5 stars 768 reviews
Soho
Ham Yard Hotel
Ham Yard Hotel
#24 of 1,058 in London
4.5 of 5 stars 471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Soho Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Soho Hotel

Address: 4 Richmond Mews, London W1D 3DH, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Soho
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in London
#8 Romantic Hotel in London
#18 Luxury Hotel in London
#40 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:5 star — The Soho Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Soho Hotel has 96 individually designed bedrooms, suites and apartments and is situated on a quiet street in the heart of London's entertainment neighbourhood. The Soho Hotel is situated in a quiet street between Dean and Wardour Streets in the heart of London's entertainment neighbourhood. It is surrounded by some of London's best restaurants and bars, vibrant cafes and most exciting theatre and nightlife. Leafy Soho Square is a one minute walk and the city's business district is within easy reach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo and MrandMrsSmith so you can book your The Soho Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Soho Hotel London
The Soho Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing