We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Smell the cinnamon” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bageriet Swedish Bakery

Bageriet Swedish Bakery
24 Rose Street, London WC2E 9EA, England (Covent Garden)
72 400 000
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #21 of 233 Bakeries in London
Cuisines: Swedish
Neighborhood: Covent Garden
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: Covent Garden
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Smell the cinnamon”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014 via mobile

The aroma from the cinnamon buns wafting down the quiet alley connecting Floral Street to Long Acre in which this great little (and I do mean little) Swedish bakery is situated is likely to be the first experience that you have. Allow yourself to be enticed in, fight gently for a table and observe the very high proportion of Swedes in the clientele. A good sign in itself. Lots of different cakes and coffee combinations to try out. I'll be back.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    4
    1
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
King's Lynn, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
281 reviews 281 reviews
193 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 115 cities Reviews in 115 cities
239 helpful votes 239 helpful votes
“Sugar and spice and all things nice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

Bageriet is situated in a surprisingly central part of London, in a little alley just off Long Acre (to the side of Stanfords). Not much bigger than a large garden shed (but with obscenely high rates, according to the owner/chef) there are only 2 4-seater tables so you need to arrive early or content yourself with buying goodies to take away. This is the best (only?) Swedish breakfast to be had in London and a wonderful alternative to your greasy hotel breakfast or the characterless Starbucks, Cafe Neros and Costa Coffees that predominate in this part of town. They offer a wonderful selection of freshly-baked saffron bread, cinnamon and cardamon buns with good coffee and seasonal specials such as, on this occasion, Saint Lucia bread

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pittsburgh
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Outstanding Bakery Near Covent Garden”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

This is an outstanding little gem tucked away on a side street near Covent Garden Market. My wife and I stumbled across it during a West End walk and we experienced the finest pastries of our trip (which included London, Rome and the Amalfi Coast). The day before our return to the States we made a second visit to make sure we had something to bring home with us. Daniel the chef waited on us and was delightful.

Make sure you try the Kanelbullar, a cinnamon bun with sweet dough rolled together with a sweet cinnamon filling - simply amazing.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“A home away from home- Authentic Swedish Cafe in Covent Garden.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

I was very excited when I heard there was a Swedish cafe in my neighborhood- and being Swedish myself I was ready to compare it with real deal back home.
Needless to say they passed with flying colours, Outstanding cakes, sandwiches, buns, coffee and anything you could wish for, we had the Kladdkaka (mudcake) with cream and a cream bun- both finished in seconds! :-D
Amazingly friendly staff (Swedish of course) and very nice interior.
It is small but if you're lucky enough to get a table you could stay there for hours.
Only wish they served Absolut Vodka to go with the meatball sandwich- a classic.
Thoroughly recommend!
Skål!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“A little pearl”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

A fantastic unique swedish cafe bakery in the heart of Covent Garden. Delicious rye bread, potato bread, princess cake, cordamon cake, pretzel brioche, chocolate and liquor balls, cinnamon buns, yummy sandwiches swedish style and more delicious things for sweet palates. Cosy atmospher and very kind stuff serving you with a smile. For a relaxing tea or coffe time with some sweet or savoury this little place is the best in his genre. Compliment to the chefs!!!!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bageriet Swedish Bakery also viewed

 

Been to Bageriet Swedish Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bageriet Swedish Bakery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.