We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Querky Indeed!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Qbic Hotel London City

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Qbic Hotel London City to your Saves list
Qbic Hotel London City
42, Adler Street, London E1 1EE, England (East End / East London)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #297 of 1,065 Hotels in London
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Cotswolds
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Querky Indeed!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

I found this hotel on Secret Escapes and thought the value was good, I wouldn't have got 2 rooms at the going rate!!! However what a lovely surprise and a very different hotel to anything I have stayed in. The staff were very helpful and the room was just what we needed, having got over the strange furniture I found it clean and the bathroom very clean, I loved the shower!! My only gripe would be the nose of waste water from above. If anyone above had a shower or flushed the loo then you heard the water come gushing down the pipe!!
The beds are quite wide and very comfortable
Free food and coffee or tea and a nice place to sit and partake ifyou don't want to go to your room with it.
The location is not so nice and for that reason alone we won't be going back. Having been asked twice for money on the street, once in Burger king while I was eating and once in an alley ( not nice), I though perhaps a family of 4 stuck out in the crowd as it was mainly groups of men and not families at all......so we left as soon as we could.
Lovely hotel though, eco friendly too, that can't be bad!!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

496 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    195
    199
    72
    14
    16
See reviews for
37
236
21
103
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kirkcaldy, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

I love quirky hotels and was excited to find this one. It's really fun to just look at the stuff in the lobby and sitting area. Every time we came back in we found something to make us smile. Was really surprised at how spacious the room was. I expected it to be more pod hotel like, but while the bed and bathroom area are in a self contained pod, there was acres of space around it to walk around and get changed in. Lack of in room tea and coffee making facilities is made up for in the coffee machines on each floor. It was cool, functional and comfortable...definitely not style over substance. Staying here also gave us a chance to explore an interesting and fun area of London we weren't familiar with. Great couple of days!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

Due to work on my favourite Ibis I got put into this place. Fairly recent and had good reports on tripadvisor, so off I went.

Easy to find and easy to check in, staff were uber helpful (I was on crutches at the time and they responded wonderfully).

The ambience is back-packer chic and very, dare I say it, youth oriented. Decor is quirky and post-boutique, almost anti-boutique in its almost industrial styling; lots of odd wooden constructions and conduit-built hand rails.

The bedrooms are, odd. There is a big unit in the room that has the bed and toilet/shower all in one, so the ablutions are directly behind the head of the bed. There's this cage-like construct to keep all your fones, drinks, glasses and snacks, along with all the light and power switches. It's really well thought out. The beds are huge and more comfortable than your Mother's womb, seriously. The telly is nailed to a board at the foot of the bed, so you'll be watching it sitting on the bed then. No seats in the room. There is what looks like an easel at first glance but is in fact another quirky wooden construction for hanging your clothes on. there are no drawers or wardrobes here. It works, kinda, but two folks with a weeks worth of kit would struggle. Rooms are clean and organised with adequate air-con/heating.

Downstairs there are vending machines with proper food in them, free coffee and heating/cookinig facilities if you want. There are coffee machines on every floor too, free, except mine was bust and wouldn't give me lattes, dammit.

My beef, and there's only one but it's a biggie, is the noise.

I had a room with an outside view of the pakl, and as this is an old office conversion there's no double glazing. Whitechapel High street is a noisy street and the noise penetrates. Also, going back to the plumbing arrangements, the folks upstairs used their toilet a lot, and every flush woke me up with a cascade of noise down the pipes.

I'll use this place again but only if I can't get a quiet room elsewhere.

Room Tip: I'd avoid rooms overlooking the park for the noise effects.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014 via mobile

New hotel, large rooms, minimalist styling, good cheap prices for London hotels. Of the two minimalist chairs one was just plain uncomfortable but the bed was fine. Lots of room in the shower however those open ended shower doors guarantee water all over the floor outside the stall. The lobby downstairs was bright, cheerful and comfortable. Perhaps the two best things about this hotel is the price and location in the middle of many fantastic Pakistani and Indian restaurants.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Markham, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

Stayed here for 1 night and had a great experience with the hotel. Staff is friendly and helpful, and the rooms are very clean and cool. I really can't think of another word to describe the hotel with other than cool. It definitely has personality, and I loved the red guitar in the elevator.

It's not exactly in central London, but the closest tube station (Aldgate East) is the most eastern stop in Zone 1, so it's not that bad. It's in a great area (brick lanes, old spitalfields etc.) with tons of tasty Indian/Middle Eastern restaurants. It's a bit quiet at night, but it's easy to get back into the city from here.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Yorkshire
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

I was booked into the hotel by my employers as my usual hotel was full. The hotel lobby was modern, contemporary and clean. I didn't like the vending machine arrangement for food...some of which you warm up yourself.
The bedroom was quirky but clean and comfortable. No hairdryer though.
All a bit odd but I can see younger clients may appreciate the strange eating arrangements.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Qbic Hotel London City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Qbic Hotel London City

Address: 42, Adler Street, London E1 1EE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > East End / East London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in London
#76 Best Value Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Qbic is a affordable unique design hotel for the price conscious urban traveler. We offer a top quality bed, a powerful rain shower,and Free WiFi. At Qbic Hotels you pay only for what you need, so expect low cost features that allow us to spend money where it counts - on having a great nights sleep. We are located close to bustling Brick Lane and The City, Qbic Hotel London City will offer a cool, urban experience for business and leisure travelers in the capital's east end. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Qbic Hotel London City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Qbic Hotel London City England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Qbic Hotel London City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.