We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly surprised” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Bells Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Blue Bells Hotel to your Saves list
Blue Bells Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   14 Pembridge Square, Notting Hill Gate, London W2 4EH, England (Notting Hill)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #682 of 1,049 Hotels in London
Trowbridge, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
190 reviews 190 reviews
78 hotel reviews
Reviews in 85 cities Reviews in 85 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“Pleasantly surprised”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

Was a bit sceptical to book, but didnt have much choice as was at the last minute and a bargain on the face of it. Room was clean, but very small bathroom. Nice big chunky towels and room was a nice temperature. Easy five minute walk to Notting Hill tube station. Did nt have breakfast, but the breakfast room looked nice, and food i believe cooked freshly to order.

Room Tip: I still think i may have been lucky to get room 22, and will certainly return if the standard of all...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    63
    68
    41
    73
See reviews for
57
59
22
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

Wa were given a basement room taps hanging off, towel rail on floor , looked onto a garden full of rubbish and old scaffolding.
Furniture worn, shower screen filthy. Tube every few minutes rattled through room
Got moved to first floor, not much better had to move tv 6 ft to plug it in!
Avoid this hotel

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

I recently stayed in the blue bells hotel in London. This was the worst hotel i have stayed at. I was giving unacceptable rooms before being lied to and made to feel unwelcome. I was quickly offered a refund then told it wont be processed until the next day, leaving me on the streets. Finally i was giving a family room(and made to feel bad about it) and went to use the on suite shower. I was disgusted with my discovery. Cob webs, rust and mold over the wall and shower head. I will never return to this hotel and advise others to think twice before booking into this hotel!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bodø
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Good stuff. Happy days. Great fun. Good location, the tube noise was cozy. And the bathtub was good stuff. A lot of channels on the telly, no adult channels though. Rerfrigerator is always nice. The room got cleaned every day, even though we were sleeping till late. Fresh towels. All in all good stuff

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

We were a group of five friends spending the weekend in London, and Blue Bells suited us just fine. I was a little apprehensive after reading some of the reviews here, but my worries were unfounded. Admittedly as a group of friends in our twenties our standards are not the highest, but if you're very particular you won't be looking in this price range anyway.

Pros:

* Very good location, nice neighborhood and close to public transport
* Very reasonable price
* No problems with cleanliness
* TV and refrigerator in room
* 24 hour reception (allegedly)

Cons:

* Very limited breakfast (toast and cereal, basically)
* Some Tube noise in the basement (though not enough to bother me)
* We were asked to pay up front

All in all, as long as your expectations are based in reality I don't see why anyone would be dissatisfied with Blue Bells Hotel. Jolly good!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lancashire
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Spent three nights at the blue bells hotel and found it to be excellant value for money for london. the hotel is in a lovely quiet area of nottinghill with easy access to both tube station and buses into the west end. it was a 5 minute walk to portabella road market and about the same to kensington gardens/hyde park. We had a room on the third floor(top floor) which was very spacious with a large bathroom and also very clean. The staff were friendly and helpful. the breakfast was basic but very adequate. we would stay at this hotel again when in london

Room Tip: there is no lift in the hotel so the upper floors may be difficult with anyone who has mobility prob...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northamtonshire
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

I booked into this hotel not expecting the world but I did expect to stay here! Myself and three girls booked two twin rooms for a hen do. We had travelled from Northamptonshire to London and had our evening activities based around Notting Hill. When we arrived about 3pm I was asked to talk to a young man. He said that we would not be staying there and would actually be staying in 'his other hotel' There was no apology we were just told we had to stay in a different hotel in Earls Court. I I asked why we hadn't been contacted on the phone , he told me he iust waiting for our arrival luckily we had arrived at 3pm not 8pm just before our dinner. I explained that all our activities were based in Notting but his attitude was very much that it didn't matter as they were doing us a favour. They agreed to pay for a taxi to the new hotel we pointed out that this was kind of them however we would need a taxi back to Notting Hill to make our dinner reservations. After the young man spoke to his manager about the taxi he eventually agreed for this to happen but we would have to pay cash and they would put it back on our card. After another long discussion and another phone call to the manager it was agreed that this payment could be made in cash. The young man phoned a taxi company and was arguing the price of the taxi that we needed for some time. Eventually our taxi was booked. We waited outside for our taxi to arrive. Whilst waiting we checked on line at our 'new' hotel it was ranked a 2 star and had even worse reviews than Blue Bells the rooms were also £11 cheaper which we felt to be very unfair as we were being put in an area we did not want to be in and were paying for a higher ranked hotel. We wernt back in a spoke to the young man again who could not see what our problem was and argued we were being given a twin and triple room which was more than what we originally had booked so we were getting a better deal even though we pointed out it didn't matter as we only wanted and needed were 2 twin rooms. Again the manager was called we asked to speak directly to the manager who was incredibly patronising to us and unwilling to compromising.
It's fair to say that the hotel we were sent to was awful and put a downer on our weekend.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Blue Bells Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Bells Hotel

Address: 14 Pembridge Square, Notting Hill Gate, London W2 4EH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Notting Hill
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #682 of 1,049 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Blue Bells Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, LateRooms, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and HostelBookers so you can book your Blue Bells Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Bells London
Hotel Blue Bells
Blue Bells Hotel London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Bells Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.