We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location but not so perfect hotel :-@” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Bells Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Blue Bells Hotel to your Saves list
Blue Bells Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   14 Pembridge Square, Notting Hill Gate, London W2 4EH, England (Notting Hill)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #682 of 1,049 Hotels in London
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Perfect location but not so perfect hotel :-@”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012 via mobile

No lift and our room was on 3rd floor (my poor husband with our huge bag), tiny room, very basic, no plug in sink, wardrobe very old and falling a part, hair dryer didn't work and wasn't replaced when asked. Tv ok but difficult to see behind wardrobe :-) Breakfast was .... 2 slices of stale toast and a cup of tea. On the plus side, great location being very close to notting hill tube

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    63
    68
    41
    73
See reviews for
57
59
22
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cumberland, MD
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

A friend booked us at this hotel. Read reviews, was a little worried. Assigned top room. Was glad for that, even though carry the luggage up the stairs was a little rough. I did not want a basement room because of reviews. The Hotel does vibrate some. Room was clean. Breakfast was good. Toast,cereal,orange juice and milk. Price was good, lovely neighborhood. would stay again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corpus Christi, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

The Blue Bells is nothing fancy, but our room was clean and comfortable. The staff were wonderful, very accomodating, and the price was low, so we had more to spend on other things. There was breakfast available every morning. The location was great, just around the corner from Bayswater station.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

Totally ripped off! £900 for 3 nights. Family of 5 in one room. They managed to fit all 5 beds in the room but this left very little amount of space to move around the room. Not even enough cups for us to have one each, 2 chairs and had to ask for extra pillows ,Cracked sockets, broken lamps in bathroom, one door on the wardrobe and this room was in need of a thorough clean! The hair dryer shut down after about 2-3 minutes. You could visibly see mould along the windowledge and shelf of the shower. Also the tea and coffee in the room was not once replenished. We had breakfast one of the 3 days and we were so very disappointed. Went down to no clean bowls or glasses, no cereal, not enough fruit juice, and one member of staff trying her hardest to serve everyone. We stayed here during the Olympic week and expected it to be busy, but there appeared to be no preparation or consideration for the basics, like an adequate breakfast. The only refreshment that appeared to be available was coffee however on a positive note the beds were very comfortable and clean. Fantastic location, with nice restaurants nearby, in particular zizi's. also we had easy access to the tube and to portabello market. staff not friendly and I agreed with a previous comment it was as if we had interrupted the day would not recommend

Room Tip: Make sure you are clear on which room you are being allocated as it would appear some rooms have bee...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012

I really liked this hotel, first because is very near Portobello Road my favorite place in london, and near the same undergrounds like nottting hill gate and bayswater.
secound because always has some coffee to guests in the living room.

I went with my mother. we stayed in a double room but i could see that have really good family bedroom, we stayed for a long time, 10 days, so I searched a lot for a good located hotel with a good price, this hotel was very cheaper than others with the same stars in places like Peddington.

We could use the kitchen to warm some food when we were tired to go out

we´d had just one problem, our bedroom was noisy because was backward and we have listened to the metro until midnight, the hotel asked us if we would like change but the other room was in the 4 floor, don´t have lift and we were with heavy bags.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valencia, Spain
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012

This place was dirty, as in accumulated dirt, it hadn't seen a decent clean in a long time. There was piles of dust under the beds (we had gone to put out suitcases under there, as we had very little space), the bathroom mirror surround still had toothpaste splashes on it from previous clientele, skirting boards were thick with dust, walls and ceilings were dirty and moldy with peeling paint and wallpaper. I have to give them this, the bedding was clean with no smells (including the pillows), but the mattresses were disgusting. We had booked a room for three of us, but there were enough beds in the room for 5, leaving very little room to move about (even though it was actually a very generous sized room). In saying that, there were only enough seats for 2 (not really any room for more, really), only two glasses and two cups provided. It was good to have a reasonable sized fridge with a freezer box, we were on a tight budget, and had hoped to shop in a local store and eat in wherever possible, though the lack of cleanliness put us off that idea. The bathroom was extremely narrow, not enough room to be able to dry yourself after a shower, let alone to swing the proverbial cat. When washing your hair in the shower/bath your elbows hit constantly, as it was also narrow to match the room. There was nowhere to put your clothes or toilet bags to keep them dry whilst showering. There were no lamps or bedside lights, other than the main ceiling light, meaning the adults could not read etc once our child was in bed. The toilet barely flushed, and sometimes not at all. It took over half an hour for the basin to empty if you had half filled it. The first afternoon we were there I was pleased to note that there was reasonable force in the shower, and good hot water, but next morning the shower was a dribble and freezing cold (obviously system not set up for more than one shower going at one time). This was particularly awful given the weather was freezing at the time, they had been expecting it to snow, it was so cold. Also not helped by the fact that there was a large crack in the bathroom window. Luckily the heaters did work, so you were able to warm up eventually, standing up against them. There was a lot of noise from the other rooms and from the street (our room was at street level). One night (in the early hours of the morning) we were actually wakened by the owners and their guests, chatting loudly and drunkenly on the front steps of the building right outside our room! First morning to breakfast, and things got worse. If we though our room was dirty, it had nothing on the dining area. The back of the bench type seats were of some velvety fabric, and were stained terribly, presumably with food and drink. The carpet on the floor had footprints of what looked like mud (thick and raised, very dark) or some sort of machine oil, walked right across the room, seemingly with no attempt having been made to clean it up. It was there the whole three days that we were. A lot of the crockery was chipped and cracked. Breakfast was extremely basic, Weetabix or cornflakes, budget white bread toast, no tinned fruit or muesli, etc. If we could have afforded it, we would have moved to somewhere else. It wasn't even worth the relatively low cost we paid to stay there. We have stayed in many 3 star places that were great, we wondered if maybe they were self-rated.

Room Tip: If you really must stay here, rooms at the back of the hotel may be quieter. There is no lift, so ea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Blue Bells Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Bells Hotel

Address: 14 Pembridge Square, Notting Hill Gate, London W2 4EH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Notting Hill
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #682 of 1,049 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Blue Bells Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, LateRooms, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and HostelBookers so you can book your Blue Bells Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Bells London
Hotel Blue Bells
Blue Bells Hotel London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Bells Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.