We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful magic in a very special venue” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The magic hour

The magic hour
The Grand Royale, Hyde Park | 1-9 Inverness Terrace, London NW1 2AR, England
+44 1727 838656
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #85 of 1,016 Activities in London
Type: Performances
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Magic Hour is a unique magic show in the heart of London. Located near Hyde Park, and following sell out runs at the St Pancras Renaissance Hotel and Hotel Russell, this 5 star rated show takes places at the historic Grand Royale hotel. The show, performed in an evocative old drawing room, brings to life the illusions of the Victorian masters of magic.
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
“wonderful magic in a very special venue”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

Sonic the magician put on a wonderful show full of surprising twists and turns in a private suite at the St Pancras Renaissance Hotel. He performed fluently with panache and gentle humour, creating a atmosphere that was welcoming and mysterious at the same time. The Victorian theme tied the presentation together very well and was entirely appropriate for the period style of the building. I thoroughly enjoyed the show and, from the reactions of other people, I was not alone. This was an evening out to remember!

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    11
    0
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Sonic's Victorian Magic Show !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

Sonic, the magician, completed our memorable visit to this beautiful Victorian Hotel by staging a quite amazing period magic show suited to the opulent setting. The air of mystery created kept the audience guessing to the end. We'll be back Sonic. Thanks.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
“unique 'must see'”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

We saw the last of the current series of 'The Magic Hour' and hope very much that it continues into the new year because we'll tell our friends to go and see it. Sonic's welcoming style and the fabulous setting of St Pancras Hotel made this the best small scale up-close magic show we've ever seen. And you get complimentary drinks beforehand! As the hotel is such a pleasure to be in our party of six stayed on and had drinks for some time afterwards as we chatted about what we'd just seen. What stays with me is the astonishment (how could that happen?) and the changing pace from upbeat fun to darker mysteries. A brilliant hour of entertainment, well worth the very reasonable price. An absolute 'MUST SEE' !!

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

A most pleasant surprise. A chance to see more of this wonderful building, but most od all to enjoy some excellent 'magic'. Charmingly presented by Sonic the Magician and he had us all believing that his wonderful 'tricks' really were magic. Go and see and tell all your friends.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The Magic Hour - You HAVE to see this!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

A truly magnificent piece of entertainment. With a Victorian themed show in such a wonderful Victorian setting, Sonic the Magician created air of mystery that constantly had the audience asking ourselves how he did it. I will be returning!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The magic hour also viewed

London, England
London, England
 

Been to The magic hour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The magic hour, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.