We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Easy For London” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Belgrove Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Belgrove Hotel to your Saves list
Belgrove Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 - 3 Belgrove St, London WC1H 8AB, England (Bloomsbury)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #839 of 1,049 Hotels in London
Scunthorpe
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Easy For London”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

The Belgrove Hotel was a easy place to find being close to kings cross.
The place was run down and is in need of a overhaul.
We booked two rooms, both being en-suit, number 43,44 which was up two flights of stairs.
Not very good for my mum, as the carpets were worn and the banisters were loose in places.
We arrived at the rooms worn out from the climb, and saw holes in the outer external wall where the door handles and hinges had hit.
The room was small, but at least the linen and towels were clean.
The en-suit was very small and looked like it had been put together quickly, due to the toilet not being fastened to the floor.
Having been in London and had good weather, we returned back to the Belgrove and went to bed leaving the windows open for the draft.
This was a mistake as the main road was noisy , and there was a working area across the road working into the early hours.
The breakfast was ok but nothing special. Most of it was over cooked.
Would we stop again ?
Only if all the other B&B's in the area were full.
This could be a little gem, if only some money was spent on it

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

316 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    62
    93
    49
    101
See reviews for
50
87
58
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
yorkshire
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Just returned from 2 nights in the Belgrove hotel, Yes its old and tired and shabby in places but for £35 a night in central London (literally across the road from Kings cross station) what would you expect, Our room was clean and the beds reasonably comfortable, The only complaint I would have is the toilet cublcle is SO small, I am only 5ft 3" and a size 10 but my knees touched the door as I sat down, The breakfast was pretty good (except the beans were cold both mornings) and the staff polite, All in all its not a bad hotel for the price but if you want luxury in central London then expect to pay luxury prices

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

I stayed three nights this week travelling from Cornwall. I'm going to be to the point here..... It was a grotty dump, tiny room smashed chest of draws with no handles small tv..overloaded plug sockets and a floor which was at an angle so when i slept blood. Rushed to my head..shared shower which the thermostat had broken so it was either freezing or too hot and would burn you staff were ok not a lot of interaction there... Boiling room at nightime a for breakfast I thought I would pass as looking at the state of the hotel in general I thought the kitchen couldn't be much better overall crap,horrid and I old never ever stay again ...nasty indeed!!!!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

My husband and i booked this little place as somewhere to put our heads down during a week of shopping and sight-seeing in London. Because of the price, we were obviously not expecting miracles but the pics looked nice enough and so we were happy.

Upon arrival, we were checked in with no problem by a nice friendly lady, and then after being warned not to leave anything of value in our room whilst we were out (...?...!) we were given a key on the 3rd floor. There was no elevator, and no porters, so we had to lug our bags up several flights of tiny narrow stairs by ourselves but still - i thought, "it's ok, it's a cheap hotel! This is to be expected!"
Then I opened the door to our bedroom.

At first, i thought it was just old and tired, but the more i looked, the more i saw.
The window was broken and wouldn't close. Not only that, but it kept banging.
The room was TINY, just big enough for the bed and nothing else - desk/dresser at the end but could not pull the chair out due to bed taking up all the space.
Room had obviously been cleaned, but not well. sheets were clean and fresh, but what little carpet we could see in the tiny room was unhoovered and there was dust and even a cobweb in the corner.
The bathroom was laughable, it looked like a converted cupboard, I, not a slim woman but certainly not above average, had to suck my stomach in to get around the sink to the shower!! The sink had no plug fitting in it, just a hole.
Again though, to pick on the positives i can find, the bathroom was clean and the towel we were left was fresh.

Already uncomfortable, but not being on a large budget, my husband and i decided to give it a night before we said anything, so i tried to take a shower... tried... no hot water, and then boiling hot water, and then no water at all... I gave up.

We spent the night sleepless - kept awake by the noise from both inside the hotel and from outside our broken window. We were right by the stairs and the walls were paper thin, meaning we could hear EVERYTHING going on without.

The following morning, tired and grouchy, we went down to breakfast, a horrible canteen-like room right in the basement, where we were met with "basics" cornflakes or a hot buffet of overdone bacon, tinned tomatoes and scrambled egg (which was surprisingly nice actually). here, my husband was snapped at by a member of staff for asking for milk for the cup of instant coffee he was handed. At this point, we cut our losses and went back upstairs for our bags. Upon speaking to the woman at reception on our way across to the premmie over the road, we were told apologetically "no refunds" by the same nice lady who'd checked us in.

Worst waste of money I've ever encountered.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHESTERFIELD
Top Contributor
150 reviews 150 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

A small, but clean and comfortable hotel. We booked this for a budget night away, and for less than a £80 we got a central hotel, 3 minutes walk from Kings Cross/ St Pancras stations. Friendly helpful staff, a small but adequate bedroom and a tiny en-suite shower. Ok for one night, especially after walking upstairs as there is no lift.
Price included a buffet breakfast which was well presented and plenty of food.

Very good value for the low by central London standards price

Room Tip: No lift. Beware if the stairs may be a problem
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

We were down for a boozy night out for the football and just looked for somewhere to lay our heads. Not too bothered about living the high life we thought this should be ideal. On arrival our room wasn't ready, and the receptionist so kindly said we could leave our bags in the corridor; but she could not be held responsible if they got stolen by thieving filthy types. Our room was like a dungeon and I'm sure i heard the Dick Turpins haunted laugh. The toilets stank so much that I was hallucinating and thought I was walking through the Bog of Eternal Stench like in the film Labyrinth. My friend was desparate for a jobby but decided to walk 4 miles to my other friends hotel; rather than lay a badboy in the communal hell hole and risk blocking the dodgy plumbing. After that we just decided it after 6 whole seconds of discussion that we all would be better sleeping on the floor of Euston station but then after that again we just went and slept on our friends' floor even tho they had also been out drinking and eating kebabs the night before and were snoring and farting a lot. This was a price we WERE willing to pay. Won't be back in London ever.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

We booked this as it was close to St Pancras. What a shocker. Had to lug 2 suitcases up 5 storeys on a very narrow staircase as there is no lift. Got to the room with a bathroom and was it small. Lucky to be 3.5m x 3m with the bathroom to single beds, a desk and bedside table. The beds were uncomfortable, it was stuffy, as if you left the window open it was noisy and also the toilet cistern took a good 30 minutes to fill up. At 4am and 5am were woken up by other people having showers. Would not recommend this to others.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Belgrove Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belgrove Hotel

Address: 1 - 3 Belgrove St, London WC1H 8AB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury , Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #839 of 1,049 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Belgrove Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Belgrove Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belgrove Hotel London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Belgrove Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.