We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap and handy!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pembury Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Pembury Hotel to your Saves list
Pembury Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   328 Seven Sisters Road | Finsbury Park, London N4 2AP, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #770 of 1,065 Hotels in London
Exmouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Cheap and handy!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

Stayed for 3 nights in a twin room. Hotel and room were modern and fine, if a little small, as was the bathroom. Continental breakfast was just enough, and for the price we paid this was excellent value! Tube station is about a 5 minute walk, but we discovered the Number 29 bus which took us straight to Trafalgar Square for all our sightseeing needs-result!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    47
    50
    24
    28
See reviews for
21
55
10
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Basingstoke
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

We stayed at the Pembury for a rave at Alexandra Palace which is 10 mins in a taxi so for us the location was perfect. It was pretty much a no frills hotel with very small rooms but since we only wanted somewhere to sleep it didnt really bother us. The beds were comfy and we slept right through. Check in was nice and quick and looks like they have spent a bit of money doing up the lobby and bar area so it looks fairly modern. They have BT Sport so had both the Arsenal and the Utd game on in the bar which is a bonus.

All in all, served our purpose well enough and for £70 in a great location for either Arsenal games or an event at Ally Pally, the price is very reasonable if you book early enough.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wirral, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

I stayed for 2 nights here as I was working in London and picked this hotel as it was close to The Emirates Stadium (I was attending a CL game).
The rooms are modern enough but very small and tight. There is a flat screen TV on the wall with free view TV, small bathroom and tea making facilities.The room was very hot due to the warm winter so far and it was noisy if you opened the window due to the close proximity of the main road.
Breakfast is continental style and is served in the cafe that shares the premises. There is free wifi available in the lobby area.
The nearest tube station is Finsbury Park (10 minutes walk).
In summary, this is a typical budget hotel for London. I would stay again if any didnt have better options available.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dordrecht, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

A budget stay close to Finsbury Park rail- and underground station.

Staff was friendly and the reception looked nice and modern.

The room was clean and good enough to stay for the night. Though we didn't slept to well, because of the noisy rooms. You could hear doors closing and people walking down the hall.

The bathroom looked very clean and was quite spacious. The toilet made a lot of noise and the shower didn't stay at temperature but turned from warm to cold all the time.

Breakfast was okay. Simple but good enough for us.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampere, Finland
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

I was at Pembury hotel with my girlfriend for 3 night in June 2013. We had a double room at the second floor. The room was very small, the bed taking up almost all the space in the room. There was a large pillar in the middle of the room making it hard to move around the small space left over by the bed. The bathroom was also very small and poorly designed. The sink in the toilet and the mirror on top of it were placed so that there was no way of fitting your head over the sink to wash your face or your teeth. The shower was also a tricky one to use, turning from warm to cold in unexpected intervals. The breakfast that was included was a joke. There were cornflakes,toast, tea, coffee, cheese and ham offered, IF you managed to be one of the first to be there. If you came an hour or so, after they started serving breakfast, you were lucky to have toast and tea. The location is far away from the city center, but this is not a major setback, because you can get to the center with the metro in 15 minutes and the metro station is located relatively close to the hotel. The neighbourhood seems safe and was not noise in the night, so I guess that would be the best point of this hotel. The price of the stay was not expensive, so I guess in a way you get what you pay for. Would not recommend this, unless you are on a tight budget.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South West England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Very basic small clean room except for dirty glass in bathroom which was promptly replaced when I took it to the manager. There was no way to control the heating, but I was in the back and could open the window for air. Thin walls, slamming doors, wood floors and very noisy lift made for poor sleeping. Staff were friendly, convenient to buses, tube, places to eat and Finsbury Park is across the street. I did talk to a couple who were in the back part and they said it was dirty etc and were going to ask to change rooms.

Room Tip: Not near the lift or on the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

I stay here every time I travel from Ireland for Arsenal games. I would say it's ideally located for Arsenal games just a minute walk to the emirates and near all the pubs. It is also just across the road from the tube station so its easy to get into central London. The staff are very friendly and very welcoming to the Irish. The rooms are small & clean but just adequate. However it is very noisy at night so getting a good nights sleep may be hard. The breakfast is poor only serves cereal, toast, ham, cheese, tea/coffee. Overall for the price and location I think this hotel is overall good and I intend on returning. It's nothing fancy but it's just what you need when staying for short periods.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pembury Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pembury Hotel

Address: 328 Seven Sisters Road | Finsbury Park, London N4 2AP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #770 of 1,065 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Pembury Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Its well known service and competitive prices combined with its location, 2 minutes walk from Finsbury Park Underground Station which connects directly to all major Central London's Underground Stations and also Heathrow Airport, makes this established hotel a firm favourite for regular business and leisure travellers, both locally and throughout Europe. The hotel is also only a 10-15 minute walk from Arsenal's Emirates Stadium. The rooms are decorated in a bright color scheme, the sizes of the rooms vary due to the nature of the building. All are comfortable and equipped with all the basic amenities to make your stay a memorable one. Single, Double and Triple Rooms are available. Guests can also kick-start their day with a continental breakfast served in the hotel's breakfast room ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your Pembury Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pembury Hotel London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pembury Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.