We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, value for money.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Troy Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Troy Hotel to your Saves list
Troy Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   68-70 Queensborough Terrace | Bayswater, London W2 3SH, England (Bayswater / Notting Hill / Lancaster Gate )   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #547 of 1,065 Hotels in London
Sentosa Island, Singapore
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Good location, value for money.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

Good and decent enough for my stay in London! Cheap (comparing how expensive hotels in London are). Receptionists were friendly. Gave us Room 306 which came with a bathtub. We were pleasantly surprised. Room was big enough that my husband and I could lay open our two huge luggages to pack and unpack without difficulties. Only con would be the slightly noisy floor which I guess is due to the building being old. Other than that, I was pleased and was value for money since I paid less than SGD$200/night. Room came with a flask and hair dryer (which i need!) and also a safe. Breakfast was simple but sufficient cause we had intended to eat out anyway. Real good location, walking distance to 2 tube stations. Made our way to many tourists attraction super convenient by choosing either to take Queensway or Bayswater station. Will stay with them again if I return to LDN.

Room Tip: Corner room is spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    165
    82
    24
    13
See reviews for
47
135
38
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gisborne, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

We have stayed in the Bayswater area of London on three ocassions now and find it really convenient to all the attractions as there are 3 tube stations in close proximity as well as the bus services along Bayswater road. We thought the Troy Hotel would be a good choice. Unfortunately we found it to be a bit of a contradiction. Some things about the hotel are really good, and others really bad. We booked 2 double rooms for 4 nights in June. Both rooms were on the 4th floor at each end of the short corridor and both overlooking the street. It was really disappointing to find that one of the rooms was only about 2/3 the size of the other. Serviceable for single occupancy, but really cramped for 2 people. The larger room was a good size and allowed for 2 suitcases to be left open during our stay. Both rooms were priced the same. While the sheets and pillowcases were clean and the bed really comfy (although very creaky) the bed spread was extremely old and looked in need of a good clean. Our bathroom was also not as clean as should be expected in any hotel. We found the rooms to be extremely warm even though we left the window open all night and the fan on. It was not really hot weather during our stay, so I hate to think what they would feel like at the height of Summer. There was also a lot of noise from the street below which didn't bother us too much, but if you are a light sleeper, it certainly would be annoying. Having said all that, the staff were friendly, the breakfast basic but plentiful and more than adequate. The public areas of the hotel were pleasant and clean, and the location fabulous. If I was to stay in London again, I would probably look elsewhere before staying at the Troy.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a bath as they seem to be bigger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

I love the location, walking distance to many places and restaurants. I did not love the appearance of the room much less the lack of soundproof, I could here everything going on upstairs. Wi-Fi is a plus and subway stations are very close.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

The location is perfect, and it's amazingly quiet. We had the windows open at night and hardly heard a sound. Room was nice and clean, and size above average for this type of London Hotel. Breakfast continental plus, only missed green tea. The reception staff were all friendly and helpful. Free wi-fi a big plus!
We recommend The Troy, and will definitely return.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

I stayed at the Troy hotel last weekend for two nights. The rooms was very nice, small but cozy and clean. The only defect was the breakfast where you coud have just basic things, it was ok, but I thought that for what I paid I could get more. Overall it's definitely a great place to stay, the location is optimal if you want to go around the "big smoke" :). It's very central and you're just a few tube stops away from the city and it's attractions. Recommended!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
İstanbul, Türkiye
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

-Troy hotel has large rooms when I compare with many others in same price level in London.
-Location is perfect as it is just across the Hyde Park, Queesway subway station, and 10-15 mins walking distance to the Marble Arch and Oxford Street. You can also find different kind of restaurants or cafes around this area.
-Breakfast is very good as it is a kind of Turkish style.
-Rooms, shower are clean.
-Might be a little bit cold for you during winter if you do not like cool chilly nights.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

Just spent 3 nights at the Troy hotel in Bayswater having stayed at hotels of varying levels of quality in the area we were very pleased with this hotel overall. Very clean good comfortable room, we upgraded to the executive room which is a bit bigger than standard, glad we did. Breakfast more than adequate even nice coffee (I am a bit of a coffee snob) the staff friendly which is a pleasant change from some of the monosyllabic staff we have encountered at other hotels
Bayswater is an excellent location and we highly recommend the Troy as a good quality and reasonably priced hotel.

Room Tip: Go for the executive, there is a lift but we stayed on the first floor at the back as front can be a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Troy Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Troy Hotel

Address: 68-70 Queensborough Terrace | Bayswater, London W2 3SH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bayswater / Notting Hill / Lancaster Gate 
Amenities:
Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #547 of 1,065 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Troy Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Troy Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Troy Hotel London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Troy Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.